scotfree Posted September 24, 2012 Share Posted September 24, 2012 OK. I turn 40 soon. I know i will never get the chance to play for the Dons or Scotland or what ever. It's all down hill now. I have gray hair and a body that's no as good as when I was 20 which feels like last week. Do you think about Death? And yes I know I still have hopefully at least 40 years to go. But I'm sure no the best years. But it's been since i have got in my late 30's that i have thought this way. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
scotfree Posted September 24, 2012 Author Share Posted September 24, 2012 I will take you out first. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatjim Posted September 24, 2012 Share Posted September 24, 2012 Don't make it too elaborate so it is easier to clean up and identify you. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
scotfree Posted September 24, 2012 Author Share Posted September 24, 2012 I have it all worked out for Jager....... BOOM! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyrant Posted September 24, 2012 Share Posted September 24, 2012 I feel the same way and I'm only 27. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CtS Posted September 24, 2012 Share Posted September 24, 2012 Spare a thought for BigAl. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatjim Posted September 24, 2012 Share Posted September 24, 2012 Don't worry scotfree I turned 40 in february and it really isn't all that bad. I waited a lifetime for my life to start and it turned out it is just the same than the previous 40 years. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dave_min Posted September 24, 2012 Share Posted September 24, 2012 I feel as young as my teenage girlfriend. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatjim Posted September 24, 2012 Share Posted September 24, 2012 I feel as young as my teenage girlfriend. 13? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted September 25, 2012 Share Posted September 25, 2012 Spare a thought for BigAl. Scotfree, forty is the new thirty....fifty is the new forty etc etc... Earlier this year as I approached my big five oh, it was kind of freaking me out, but you know what it is only a number. As long as you have your health and facilties, it matters not one jot. Take it from one that knows, and always remember there really is no substitute for experience mate. Anyway many happy returns when it comes Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madbadteacher Posted September 25, 2012 Share Posted September 25, 2012 Always remember, no matter how old you are, in two days time tomorrow will be yesterday! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted September 25, 2012 Share Posted September 25, 2012 OK. I turn 40 soon. I know i will never get the chance to play for the Dons or Scotland or what ever. It's all down hill now. I have gray hair and a body that's no as good as when I was 20 which feels like last week. Do you think about Death? And yes I know I still have hopefully at least 40 years to go. But I'm sure no the best years. But it's been since i have got in my late 30's that i have thought this way. Nae different to being 39. Gradual rather than catastrophic decline. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyrant Posted September 25, 2012 Share Posted September 25, 2012 I find it best to not know how old ye are in the first place. I'm crap with calculating ages from birth years - I know to within 3 years how old I am and that does me fine. Nae point worrying aboot getting old - it might nae even happen. Instead of moping - have a fuckin mid-life crisis like most other middle aged cunts - get a motorbike, a convertible, a wife half yer age - that'll liven things up for a while. 40 is hardly fuckin auld anyway - unless yer a kid and ye think yer 40 year auld parents are fuckin ancient. What fuckin decline anyway? There shouldn't be decline - winding doon to relax, aye - nae a fuckin decline - sort yer fuckin heids oot That's the advice that I'll be following as soon as I'm old enough to quality for a mid-life crisis. What's the qualification age btw the way? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dave_min Posted September 25, 2012 Share Posted September 25, 2012 That's the advice that I'll be following as soon as I'm old enough to quality for a mid-life crisis. What's the qualification age btw the way? Dunno, but i'm about 15 years short of it still Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted September 25, 2012 Share Posted September 25, 2012 It is a decline that means you do things differently. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madbadteacher Posted September 25, 2012 Share Posted September 25, 2012 My first reaction when anyone, apropos of nothing, asks my age is "28"! I guess that will always be my mindset, and bugger "midlife crisis" it's just spending the money you've worked for before some government takes it off you! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldie03 Posted September 25, 2012 Share Posted September 25, 2012 The only advice I can give you is.............................don't dye your hair if you have any, it is not becoming on a man I've decided that I am sticking at 44 cause it's my favourite number twice and it's even Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mentorred Posted September 25, 2012 Share Posted September 25, 2012 I will be 39 in January, I keep thinking geez I remember when my parents were this age. Not really thought about death, I could get hit by a bus tomorrow or live till im 100 who knows, but I do look at younger people in the family and think wow when they leave school I will be almost 60, or I will almost 70 when they get to my age and it feels like yesterday I was their age. What does make me sad is I think I was not much older than like my wife's younger cousins when I last saw Aberdeen win a trophy. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CtS Posted September 26, 2012 Share Posted September 26, 2012 Luckily I'm still a sprightly mid twenties sex machine, but I do sympathise with all you old fuckers. I also worry about death though. If I was killed tomorrow, none of you would know. I'd just appear in the 'Whatever happened to...?' thread six months from now, with everyone speculating about why I hadn't posted for ages. And that saddens me, because you're my only real friends. 40 though scotfree, y'auld cunt. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyrant Posted September 26, 2012 Share Posted September 26, 2012 Luckily I'm still a sprightly mid twenties sex machine, but I do sympathise with all you old fuckers. I also worry about death though. If I was killed tomorrow, none of you would know. I'd just appear in the 'Whatever happened to...?' thread six months from now, with everyone speculating about why I hadn't posted for ages. And that saddens me, because you're my only real friends. 40 though scotfree, y'auld cunt. I was going to say I could give your wife my phone number so she can let me know when if you're hit by the proverbial bus but having thought about it for a few seconds longer I don't think I want your wife to have my phone number. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CtS Posted September 26, 2012 Share Posted September 26, 2012 Not the first time my wife's been mentioned in the same sentence as 'bus'. All Aboard! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Reekie_Red Posted September 26, 2012 Share Posted September 26, 2012 My way of figuring out my age when i was young was "take my brother's age and subtract 4". Problem now is I dinnae ken my brother's age. I know I'm in my 30s, but really not sure where. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madbadteacher Posted September 26, 2012 Share Posted September 26, 2012 I don't worry so much about my age, I'll be 48 in December, what does get me thinking is that I getting close to the age my mother was when she died. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
scotfree Posted September 27, 2012 Author Share Posted September 27, 2012 So most on here are at least in their 40's. No wonder we are a miserable bunch of Cunts. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted September 27, 2012 Share Posted September 27, 2012 I'll start worrying about my age when im 30, not many, but a few years left! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...