manc_don Posted January 3, 2013 Share Posted January 3, 2013 I think he's done a cracking job at Caley. As scunnered said, he has a clean slate I'd like to hope that the fans would give him a chance but i doubt it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyrant Posted January 3, 2013 Share Posted January 3, 2013 Well if that is based purely on his connections to Scotland's most recently defunct club, then put simply I'd say fuck them. Don't need that sort of support, and attitudes like that are one step short of the sort of shite that those that followed that mob from Govan thrived upon. Any colour, creed, sexuality, previous clubs etc......being good enough is the only thing that matters. Agree 100%. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tlg1903 Posted January 3, 2013 Share Posted January 3, 2013 Nah I wouldn't want Butcher, reckon ICT are flash in the pan this season and will likely fade before its 3/4 done. Butcher is at his level Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madbadteacher Posted January 3, 2013 Share Posted January 3, 2013 Is Stuart Baxter still alive? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madbadteacher Posted January 3, 2013 Share Posted January 3, 2013 Am I the only one that doesn't want Adams? I'd prefer the likes of Billy Reid, Jim McInally or Billy Stark before Adams Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted January 3, 2013 Share Posted January 3, 2013 Jesus Christ MBT, you could have said you'd have ANYONE instead, that's some rogues gallery. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
maverick sheep Posted January 3, 2013 Share Posted January 3, 2013 Jesus Christ MBT, you could have said you'd have ANYONE instead, that's some rogues gallery. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RedTilIDie1903 Posted January 3, 2013 Share Posted January 3, 2013 Get Jess and Anderson trained up as replacements for a couple of years down the line and move Knox and Brown up to the directors box Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sheepheid Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 Unless Butcher's going to pay for the door that he took off the hinges at Pittodrie, he can get fecked. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 Unless Butcher's going to pay for the door that he took off the hinges at Pittodrie, he can get fecked. That's a fair point. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mizer Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 Get Jess and Anderson trained up as replacements for a couple of years down the line and move Knox and Brown up to the directors box That idea of placing a young assistant manager with Brown was scoffed at by Willie Miller - but he's oot the door now. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyrant Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 That idea of placing a young assistant manager with Brown was scoffed at by Willie Miller - but he's oot the door now. Aye. I was thinking about this. Didn't he laugh it off because it's never done by football clubs? Guys like CB and AK are experienced and probably set in their ways. They probably have no interest in mentoring younger coaches. Also these younger coaches may not want to work under anyone. I'm not saying it's a bad idea. Just that it's a lot more complicated than it looks at first glance. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edinburghdon Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 That idea of placing a young assistant manager with Brown was scoffed at by Willie Miller - but he's oot the door now. I don't know about anyone else but I've no interest in seeing Aberdeen spend all that time training up ex players to take over that may still turn out to be shite. Not least because we've just had a disastrous experience with ex players managing the team. All I'm interested in is Browns sucessor being the best person available. In my eyes that'd mean having a proven track record, being able to set his teams up to play attractive football and most importantly win trophies. Don't care who it is, provided he brings the previously mentioned things I'll be delighted. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stewart Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 I don't know about anyone else but I've no interest in seeing Aberdeen spend all that time training up ex players to take over that may still turn out to be shite. Not least because we've just had a disastrous experience with ex players managing the team. All I'm interested in is Browns sucessor being the best person available. In my eyes that'd mean having a proven track record, being able to set his teams up to play attractive football and most importantly win trophies. Don't care who it is, provided he brings the previously mentioned things I'll be delighted. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nellie The Don Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 I don't think that any of this talk of replacing Brown is particularly helpful. He's doing a good job and moving us in the right direction. As long as this is the case it should be his job as long as he wants it. His age is totally irrelevant. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyrant Posted January 7, 2013 Share Posted January 7, 2013 I don't think that any of this talk of replacing Brown is particularly helpful. He's doing a good job and moving us in the right direction. As long as this is the case it should be his job as long as he wants it. His age is totally irrelevant. I disagree. His age is the issue. If he was 10-15 years younger there'd be absolutely zero talk of replacing him but a manager of his age is going to need to be replaced sooner rather than later. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nellie The Don Posted January 7, 2013 Share Posted January 7, 2013 I disagree. His age is the issue. If he was 10-15 years younger there'd be absolutely zero talk of replacing him but a manager of his age is going to need to be replaced sooner rather than later. Are you suggesting that his age makes him unable to do the job? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted January 7, 2013 Share Posted January 7, 2013 Agree with Nellie here. Managers have a very limited shelf life anyway so even if he was remotely successful he'd be replaced in 3-4 years at best. Age is not a particular issue here. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CtS Posted January 7, 2013 Share Posted January 7, 2013 If age isn't an issue I want BigAl to be our next boss. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyrant Posted January 8, 2013 Share Posted January 8, 2013 Are you suggesting that his age makes him unable to do the job? It makes him unable to do the job for a whole lot longer, aye. But as of this moment he's still the best man for the job. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted January 21, 2013 Share Posted January 21, 2013 http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/4755025/Dons-eye-move-for-boss-Del.html According to the Hun though there are zero quotes as per. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyrant Posted January 21, 2013 Share Posted January 21, 2013 http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/4755025/Dons-eye-move-for-boss-Del.html According to the Hun though there are zero quotes as per. Saw that earlier. I didn't even deem it worthy of mentioning TBH be honest. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sandaldinho Posted January 21, 2013 Share Posted January 21, 2013 instead of messing about with managers they should be looking at ways to stop all our promising youngsters leaving for next to f#@k all Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mizer Posted January 24, 2013 Share Posted January 24, 2013 CRAIG BROWN has insisted he is NOT getting kicked upstairs to make way for new blood at Aberdeen. Pittodrie gaffer Brown, 72, is out of contract at the end of the season and has not been offered a new deal yet by the Dons. Tough talking Reds vice-chairman George Yule recently claimed he wants Brown to remain at Dons — but not on the trackside. That has fuelled rumours ex-Ross County director Yule is lining up Staggies boss Derek Adams to take over in his bid make the Dons a top three club who can challenge for major honours once again. But ex-Scotland gaffer Brown — who along with No2 Archie Knox saved Aberdeen from relegation two seasons ago — is determined to keep control of the reins at Dons. Brown claimed: “The chairman has said Brown and Knox are going nowhere, they are staying. “I would suspect he is a bit disdainful about the speculation — I am, but I’m doing my job and I’m happy. “I don’t think it is true that Aberdeen are looking at Derek Adams. I’ve heard that, but there’s been no indication to me. “We are in contention at the top of the league, we are still in the Scottish Cup and we have sold six players in 18 months. “I’m not saying things are great, but they are pretty stable. Read more: http://www.thesun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/4760071/Brown-I-wont-go.html#ixzz2It4yvqIC Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RDU_64 Posted January 24, 2013 Share Posted January 24, 2013 I would agree with Broon there. Things are stable, which is no bad thing after the shambles he took over. He always said that it would take him four or five transfer windows to get the team sorted and I think we're finally being able to see that. Give him another years contract and let's see where we're at. If we've not kicked on and progressed from this season then depart ways amicably. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...