scotfree Posted February 5, 2013 Share Posted February 5, 2013 Anyone on here ever went through a divorce? And if so any tips? Cue the smart arse comments. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyrant Posted February 5, 2013 Share Posted February 5, 2013 Aye. Don't get married. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
scotfree Posted February 5, 2013 Author Share Posted February 5, 2013 Aye your advice is only 18 years late Tyrant. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyrant Posted February 5, 2013 Share Posted February 5, 2013 Sorry, mate. All I can do is wish you all the best and hope you get through to the other end of it with your will to live intact! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
scotfree Posted February 5, 2013 Author Share Posted February 5, 2013 Cheers mate. Just turned 40 this year and they say life starts at 40. Fingers crossed. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatjim Posted February 5, 2013 Share Posted February 5, 2013 Say bye bye to your pension if you have one. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted February 5, 2013 Share Posted February 5, 2013 Say bye bye to your pension if you have one. nail on head, I'm afraid...however make a pre emptive strike and empty any joint bank accounts or any other savings as soon as possible, unless of course she has already beaten you to it mate. P.S Sorry to hear the news, but just remember the darkest hour is always just before the dawn (unless we're refering to the Dons when the darkest hour is immediately before the next darkest hour) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyrant Posted February 5, 2013 Share Posted February 5, 2013 nail on head, I'm afraid...however make a pre emptive strike and empty any joint bank accounts or any other savings as soon as possible, unless of course she has already beaten you to it mate. P.S Sorry to hear the news, but just remember the darkest hour is always just before the dawn (unless we're refering to the Dons when the darkest hour is immediately before the next darkest hour) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
scunnered999 Posted February 5, 2013 Share Posted February 5, 2013 Say bye bye to your pension if you have one. The best bit of advice I would give you is to get a solicitor and let him sort out the details. Worst mistake I made was trying to sort things out between us. I ended up keeping my pension, but had to give up claim to my share of matrimonial home - you just have to decide what's in your best interests. Hope things work out OK for you. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
maverick sheep Posted February 5, 2013 Share Posted February 5, 2013 You'll be fine...just so long as you never forced her to take 3 points on her driving licence for you. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted February 5, 2013 Share Posted February 5, 2013 Good solicitor mate. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatjim Posted February 5, 2013 Share Posted February 5, 2013 Madbad might have some advice on avoiding a messy divorce. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted February 5, 2013 Share Posted February 5, 2013 Madbad might have some advice on avoiding a messy divorce. Categorically the best piece of advice so far. And you get to hide the body! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CtS Posted February 5, 2013 Share Posted February 5, 2013 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrew Posted February 6, 2013 Share Posted February 6, 2013 Fucking hell, a bit risque. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted February 6, 2013 Share Posted February 6, 2013 Not if you do it right. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madbadteacher Posted February 6, 2013 Share Posted February 6, 2013 Madbad might have some advice on avoiding a messy divorce. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
scotfree Posted February 6, 2013 Author Share Posted February 6, 2013 Thanks guy's. Been in Oz 18 years so i don't think the pension thing really matters. I'm off to Canada in a year anyway so won't be back home again more than likely. I told her she can keep everything but my cds' and my CD player. Don't want this to get messy. Thank fuck we have no kids. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted February 6, 2013 Share Posted February 6, 2013 Thanks guy's. Been in Oz 18 years so i don't think the pension thing really matters. I'm off to Canada in a year anyway so won't be back home again more than likely. I told her she can keep everything but my cds' and my CD player. Don't want this to get messy. Thank fuck we have no kids. Not good mate, just wanted to wish you all the best. Sure you shouldn't be giving her some of your CDs? I've heard you own some right pish. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mentorred Posted February 7, 2013 Share Posted February 7, 2013 Your not letting her keep your AFC top are you??? Seriously though good luck on your new adventure sorry things did not work out for you guys. As you say least you don't have kids stuck in the middle of it all. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatjim Posted February 7, 2013 Share Posted February 7, 2013 Your not letting her keep your AFC top are you??? Seriously though good luck on your new adventure sorry things did not work out for you guys. As you say least you don't have kids stuck in the middle of it all. conjoined twins? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...