Saturday 9th November 2024 - kick-off 5.30pm

Scottish Premiership - Aberdeen v Dundee

Under 20s

Stewart

Unsurprisingly it was SHankland that scored for us

I went along to this yesterday; Shankland's goal was an absolute cracker, superb first time hit on the volley from just outside the box.  Shankland looks a good few levels above his team mates and looks more than ready for the first team; great first touch, good strength and movement.

It's the first time i've seen this group together and obviously caught them on an off day. Hamilton were streets ahead of us and I was extremely impressed with them - a lot of nice one touch passing at pace, our lads were chasing shadows, frankly. Their two centre backs were superb and their striker, Brophy, was excellent.

The only other Don who got pass marks (just) was Gibbons. He looked to switch the play a lot and has a good range of passing. He was also very vocal and led the team like a captain, but unfortunately he was pissing against the wind as his colleagues were not up to his standard on the day.

• Replies 139

I went along to this yesterday; Shankland's goal was an absolute cracker, superb first time hit on the volley from just outside the box.  Shankland looks a good few levels above his team mates and looks more than ready for the first team; great first touch, good strength and movement.

It's the first time i've seen this group together and obviously caught them on an off day. Hamilton were streets ahead of us and I was extremely impressed with them - a lot of nice one touch passing at pace, our lads were chasing shadows, frankly. Their two centre backs were superb and their striker, Brophy, was excellent.

The only other Don who got pass marks (just) was Gibbons. He looked to switch the play a lot and has a good range of passing. He was also very vocal and led the team like a captain, but unfortunately he was pissing against the wind as his colleagues were not up to his standard on the day.

Cheers min, do you think the pitch had anything to do with it?

Hard to say. The pitch doesn't look great even as far as these artificial pitches go, looks very dry and I thought in the 1st team game it had a negative influence on us so there is maybe something in that. We were so poor though that it can't just be down to the pitch.

As I said, I must have caught them on an off day but both me and my mate were actually taken aback at the gulf between the sides. The Hamilton side may have been a wee bit older within the age bracket, but we really didn't look like a team who had started the day as league leaders.

I saw the under 20's defeat county 0-2 in the cup a few months back. I thought we looked alright but it was hard to really judge as the opposition made little attempt to try and win the game.  Gibbons was a player that stood out a little, though ironically, that  said, it was done so in a less than noticeable capacity. He didn't give the ball away, really understood his position in the team and was always available for a pass.  I think he would need to bulk up a wee bit as he looked very slight but defo a player of promise I thought. 

• 5 weeks later...

Very straightforward win. Eased off in the second half but the better team by miles. Hearts were utter pish and really don't have a great deal of decent youngsters coming through.

Shankland was excellent as was Driver. Clark Robertson also had a very good game. To be fair if I had played today I would have had a good game and I'm 35 and nae played in donkey's such was how pish the Hearts team was.

Good all round team performance though with some excellent build up play, good communication between the players and their movement off the ball and ability to pick out a pass to a team mate was first class. Hearts were a bit pish though, did I mention that?

Sounds like a good performance, how were hearts though?  ;)

Very straightforward win. Eased off in the second half but the better team by miles. Hearts were utter pish and really don't have a great deal of decent youngsters coming through.

Shankland was excellent as was Driver. Clark Robertson also had a very good game. To be fair if I had played today I would have had a good game and I'm 35 and nae played in donkey's such was how pish the Hearts team was.

Good all round team performance though with some excellent build up play, good communication between the players and their movement off the ball and ability to pick out a pass to a team mate was first class. Hearts were a bit pish though, did I mention that?

Give me a shout if you are heading U20 game against Hibs as thinking of heading along.