manc_don Posted April 20, 2016 Share Posted April 20, 2016 You ken fit I mean though Rocket It's nae exactly vintage, and I reckon we're both approaching Feeling generous about your age Al? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nellie The Don Posted April 21, 2016 Share Posted April 21, 2016 Prince - 57 http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3552300/Fatality-Prince-s-estate-Minnesota-days-musician-rushed-hospital.html Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rocket_scientist Posted April 21, 2016 Share Posted April 21, 2016 Prince - 57 Shame. Sign O the times one of my favourite albums back in the day. Gifted genius. But flu? Da hink so. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted April 21, 2016 Share Posted April 21, 2016 Complete shock, doubt it could have been flu mind Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted April 21, 2016 Share Posted April 21, 2016 Prince - 57 http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3552300/Fatality-Prince-s-estate-Minnesota-days-musician-rushed-hospital.html Purple Rain is a classic Sheena Easton will be fair gutted Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted April 21, 2016 Share Posted April 21, 2016 fuck, just clicked on the link without spotting it was Daily Mail (fuck knows how, it's pretty obvious). Is is standard to tell us the value of his house in the story? Anyway, shame, like his music. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rocket_scientist Posted April 22, 2016 Share Posted April 22, 2016 His genius wasn't just fantastic tunes in his own inimitable style, his lyrics were pretty fantastic. Example: - "Sign O' The Times" Oh yeah In France a skinny man Died of a big disease with a little name By chance his girlfriend came across a needle And soon she did the same At home there are seventeen-year-old boys And their idea of fun Is being in a gang called The Disciples High on crack, totin' a machine gun Time, time Hurricane Annie ripped the ceiling of a church And killed everyone inside U turn on the telly and every other story Is tellin' U somebody died Sister killed her baby cuz she could afford 2 feed it And we're sending people 2 the moon In September my cousin tried reefer 4 the very first time Now he's doing horse, it's June Times, times It's silly, no? When a rocket ship explodes And everybody still wants 2 fly Some say a man ain't happy Unless a man truly dies Oh why Time, time Baby make a speech, Star Wars fly Neighbors just shine it on But if a night falls and a bomb falls Will anybody see the dawn Time, times It's silly, no? When a rocket blows And everybody still wants 2 fly Some say a man ain't happy, truly Until a man truly dies Oh why, oh why, Sign O the Times Time, time Sign O the Times mess with your mind Hurry before it's 2 late Let's fall in love, get married, have a baby We'll call him Nate... if it's a boy Time, time Time, time This was from one of my favourite albums of all time. This title track, plus Cream, my favourite Prince singles. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rocket_scientist Posted April 22, 2016 Share Posted April 22, 2016 Another fine example, some of the lyrics from another genius tune: - U're so good Baby there ain't nobody better (Ain't nobody better) So u should Never, ever go by the letter (Never ever) U're so cool (Cool) Everything u do is success Make the rules (Rules) Then break them all cuz u are the best Yes u are Cream Get on top Cream U will cop Cream Don't u stop Cream Sh-boogie bop Look up in the air, it's your guitar Do your dance Why should u wait any longer? Take a chance It could only make u stronger It's your time (It's your time) U got the horn so why don't u blow it (Go on and blow it) U're so fine (U're so fine) U're filthy cute and baby u know it (U know it) RIP Prince Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rocket_scientist Posted April 22, 2016 Share Posted April 22, 2016 Unbelievable example of his technical genius: - He could play almost every musical instrument. As he demonstrated here, he was an incredibly gifted guitarist. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyrant Posted April 22, 2016 Share Posted April 22, 2016 Enjoyed that performance, Rocket. Cheers. I can't say I was ever a huge fan of the guy but undoubtedly a talented showman to say the least and I do like a lot of his music. Might give some of it a listen as I'm stuck in the office until 6 FFS sake. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted April 22, 2016 Share Posted April 22, 2016 Might give some of it a listen as I'm stuck in the office until 6 FFS sake. Standard working day... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyrant Posted April 22, 2016 Share Posted April 22, 2016 I'm usually gone by 16:30 but nae today. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rocket_scientist Posted April 23, 2016 Share Posted April 23, 2016 Can't believe I omitted the opening words to Cream. How's this for class: - This is it It's time for u to go to the wire U will hit Cuz u got the burnin' desire It's your time (Time) U got the horn so why don't u blow it U are fine (Fine) U're filthy cute and baby u know it The mark of a genius musician is you read his lyrics and you hear his voice. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rocket_scientist Posted April 24, 2016 Share Posted April 24, 2016 so its not a suicide so is it another MJ case here, where a staff member has killed him My first thought was a staff member, if indeed the foul play suspected is proved. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tom_widdows Posted April 25, 2016 Share Posted April 25, 2016 Billy Paul - 81 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mentorred Posted May 5, 2016 Share Posted May 5, 2016 Unbelievable example of his technical genius: - He could play almost every musical instrument. As he demonstrated here, he was an incredibly gifted guitarist. WOW Amazing Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nellie The Don Posted May 24, 2016 Share Posted May 24, 2016 Not now Cato! http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-36370997 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tom_widdows Posted May 31, 2016 Share Posted May 31, 2016 Carla Lane - 87 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted June 3, 2016 Share Posted June 3, 2016 Muhammad Ali next? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stewart Posted June 4, 2016 Share Posted June 4, 2016 Muhammad Ali next? Aye that's him died. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted June 4, 2016 Share Posted June 4, 2016 Very sad news, he didn't look well at all on the images I'd seen yesterday. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted July 2, 2016 Share Posted July 2, 2016 Caroline Aherne Loved Mrs Merton & the Royale Family. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted July 2, 2016 Share Posted July 2, 2016 Caroline Aherne Loved Mrs Merton & the Royale Family. Sad news. Really The Royle Family Another one gone that is younger than me Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
scotfree Posted August 8, 2016 Share Posted August 8, 2016 Sad news. Really The Royle Family Another one gone that is younger than me That's not fucking hard. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madbadteacher Posted August 8, 2016 Share Posted August 8, 2016 ^ Oi! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...