Elgindon Posted January 11, 2020 Share Posted January 11, 2020 Neil Peart,Rush drummer,Deid - brain cancer . Hero of mine as a young loon Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madbadteacher Posted January 13, 2020 Share Posted January 13, 2020 Devastated might be too far but I’m genuinely upset by this. Doubt there’ll be tears and snotters on fb though Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DuckLasers Posted January 15, 2020 Share Posted January 15, 2020 Someone should start a celeb death competition Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rocket_scientist Posted January 22, 2020 Share Posted January 22, 2020 Terry Jones 77, part of the funniest stuff I'd ever seen in my life... when I was 12. Monty Python appealed because it was infantile humour. It didn't stand the test of time but it was radically brilliant in the early 70's. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ten Caat Posted January 22, 2020 Share Posted January 22, 2020 Aye I was even younger when Python first aired so didn't really get it but watched the repeats in the mid 80s and realised just what geniuses they all were. Would never be allowed nowadays of course. Utterly un-PC, the snowflake generation would have a collective heart attack at some of the stuff they did. "He's not the Messiah, he's a very naughty boy"...………...RIP min Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tom_widdows Posted January 22, 2020 Share Posted January 22, 2020 Funnily enough it some of it 'wasn't allowed' back then The film you quoted was still actually banned from cinemas in certain parts of the UK until 2008. Theres alot being said about the snowflake generation in terms of being 'too pc' but a quick look at what is considered acceptable in films and TV now compared to the even the mid 90s and its alot more tolerant and open than reported especially when it comes to questioning religion. Have you seen any calls for the pythons etc to be banned by the snowflakes? What has (or was) been disappearing is the blatant racism, misogyny etc which was considered wholesome family entertainment however I suspect that will soon return to the screens given the current political climate. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ten Caat Posted January 22, 2020 Share Posted January 22, 2020 And yet if you were to watch Not the Nine O'Clock News which brought the nascent Alternative comedy scene (and supposedly bringing an end to the "offensive" dinosaurs of comedy) to a mainstream television audience, you would see countless sketches containing the blatant racism and misogyny that they purported to consign to the dustbin. Ah but it was all ironically...…… oh well that's all right then Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tom_widdows Posted January 22, 2020 Share Posted January 22, 2020 And yet if you were to watch Not the Nine O'Clock News which brought the nascent Alternative comedy scene (and supposedly bringing an end to the "offensive" dinosaurs of comedy) to a mainstream television audience, you would see countless sketches containing the blatant racism and misogyny that they purported to consign to the dustbin. Ah but it was all ironically...…… oh well that's all right then Not sure what you are getting at with the NTNOCN reference, a programme which is not exactly top of the list when it came to repears on the mainstream BBC perhaps for the reasons you suggest, whereas my first introduction to the Pythons was on Friday nights in the mid 1990s followed by borrowing videos of the films. I believe the first time I actually saw NTNOCN was on UKgold, a channel with a name that either breaches the Trades description act, or is sadly all too accurate. I'd say its more likely the snowflake generation would welcome the Pythons if they started now as the humour is surrealist. The Mighty Boosh is the only 'modern' programme I can think of that followed a similar premise. The Not the nine o clock news lot may claim credit for the alternative comedy malarky but there are plenty of comics from around about the same generation who will disagree. Mark Steel certainly has some things to say about the hypocracy of Ben Elton and co. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted January 22, 2020 Share Posted January 22, 2020 RIP. I agree Monty Python hasn’t really stood the test of time but Life of Brian is fantastic. One of the funniest films ever made. Brilliant from start to finish with so many quotable lines. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tom_widdows Posted January 26, 2020 Share Posted January 26, 2020 Kobe Bryant - 41 Helicopter crash Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
LA-Don Posted January 26, 2020 Share Posted January 26, 2020 Kobe Bryant - 41 Helicopter crash Absolutely gutted for this one having been in LA almost his entire career and being a lakers fan. Stunned. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CtS Posted January 28, 2020 Share Posted January 28, 2020 Starting now Cts Sir Geoffrey Howe Nicholas Parsons OBE Jimmy Young Christy O'Conner Snr Yaaaaaaas! Nicholas Parsons, potted heid. Back of the net. *Edit.... RIP Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted January 30, 2020 Share Posted January 30, 2020 Patience paid off, eh Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CtS Posted January 30, 2020 Share Posted January 30, 2020 Patience paid off, eh 2007 ffs sake! I was just a wee boy when I made those predictions. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted February 1, 2020 Share Posted February 1, 2020 RIP Andy Gill Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
minijc Posted February 3, 2020 Share Posted February 3, 2020 Entertainment is an incredible album, bit gutted when I seen he'd passed. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted February 6, 2020 Share Posted February 6, 2020 Kirk Douglas. A very good innings. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted February 15, 2020 Share Posted February 15, 2020 Caroline Flack. I’ve never watched Love Island in my life but I gather this is going to be a case of the same press who hounded her now leading the tributes. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted February 17, 2020 Share Posted February 17, 2020 Andrew Weatherall. Gutted. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted February 17, 2020 Share Posted February 17, 2020 Andrew Weatherall. Gutted. Absolute don of the music scene. Absolutely gutted Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheDeeDon Posted February 17, 2020 Share Posted February 17, 2020 Absolute don of the music scene. Absolutely gutted Very sad news and he was only 56. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheDeeDon Posted February 17, 2020 Share Posted February 17, 2020 Harry Gregg - Ex Man U goalie who went back into the wreckage of the aeroplane and rescued people on that tragic day in Munich back in 58, including a Woman and her baby. RIP Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted March 21, 2020 Share Posted March 21, 2020 Kenny Rogers Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted April 7, 2020 Share Posted April 7, 2020 Honor Blackman was a stunning actress, and by all accounts a decent person. For me the greatest Bond girl, if such a label exists, because she played such a feisty character brilliantly. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tom_widdows Posted April 12, 2020 Share Posted April 12, 2020 Stirling Moss - 90 Tim Brooke-Taylor - 79 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...