Dandy_Don Posted December 13, 2007 Share Posted December 13, 2007 Looking at the current squad and don't think there are many 'cult heroes' at the moment... I remember in the 90s we had Rico, Shearer, and then we had the likes of Deano... Then there were, to a lesser extent, Andy Dow, Rachid Belabed and Paul Sheerin... Who's your all-time Aberdeen 'cult-hero'? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted December 13, 2007 Share Posted December 13, 2007 Good post DD I'd pick Rougvie, closely followed by Cooper, but of course he blotted his copy book by going to the filth. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
baggy89 Posted December 13, 2007 Share Posted December 13, 2007 Gillhaus or Bett. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sharpie Posted December 13, 2007 Share Posted December 13, 2007 Cult hero has to be big Willem. He looked ungainly and even shite at times but you could never fault the fecker for effort. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
vanderark14 Posted December 13, 2007 Share Posted December 13, 2007 Cult hero has to be big Willem. He looked ungainly and even shite at times but you could never fault the fecker for effort. agreed Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Nellie The Don Posted December 13, 2007 Share Posted December 13, 2007 Belabed, for no other reason than his attempts to do at least one overhead kick every match, whether it was appropriate or not. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Robo Posted December 13, 2007 Share Posted December 13, 2007 Tzanko Tzvetanov! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BobbyBiscuit Posted December 13, 2007 Share Posted December 13, 2007 Duncan Shearer, Hans Gillhaus, Jim Bett, Charlie Nick are not cult heroes. They're just heroes. A cult hero would be more someone who wasn't really recognised as a hero outwith those who followed the club. Lee Richardson and Doug Rougvie are good shouts, though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
phil-stellaartois-mcguire Posted December 13, 2007 Share Posted December 13, 2007 Toni Kumbouare Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dandy_Don Posted December 13, 2007 Author Share Posted December 13, 2007 Aye, forgot to answer my own question... would have to be Rico for me! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madbadteacher Posted December 13, 2007 Share Posted December 13, 2007 Big Doug. Joey Harper. Stuart Kennedy. Frank MacDougal. Bobby Clark. Bumper Graham. Drew Jarvie. Hmm, am I getting old? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sharpie Posted December 13, 2007 Share Posted December 13, 2007 Aye but as the biscuit man says; surely they are all bona fide heros'? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
baggy89 Posted December 13, 2007 Share Posted December 13, 2007 Duncan Shearer, Hans Gillhaus, Jim Bett, Charlie Nick are not cult heroes. They're just heroes. A cult hero would be more someone who wasn't really recognised as a hero outwith those who followed the club. Lee Richardson and Doug Rougvie are good shouts, though. I did kinda think that after I jumped in but then surely neither is Deano or Shearer? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted December 13, 2007 Share Posted December 13, 2007 Big Doug. Joey Harper. Stuart Kennedy. Frank MacDougal. Bobby Clark. Bumper Graham. Drew Jarvie. Hmm, am I getting old? No just old Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madbadteacher Posted December 13, 2007 Share Posted December 13, 2007 Hemin. I'll ONLY be 43 this year! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted December 13, 2007 Share Posted December 13, 2007 Hemin. I'll ONLY be 43 this year! Ah fuck ,I can gie you a couple of years on that you have a hard milk round or something Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BobbyBiscuit Posted December 13, 2007 Share Posted December 13, 2007 I did kinda think that after I jumped in but then surely neither is Deano or Shearer? Sorry, but what Shearer did for us and what Windass did for us is entirely different. People seem to think Windass was some amazing player. He wasn't. He was a good player. Nothing more. Nothing less. Shearer was the best penalty box striker we'd had since Frankie Mac. I'd say Windass was a cult hero. Shearer? nope. Bona fide hero? absolutely. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted December 13, 2007 Share Posted December 13, 2007 Sorry, but what Shearer did for us and what Windass did for us is entirely different. People seem to think Windass was some amazing player. He wasn't. He was a good player. Nothing more. Nothing less. Shearer was the best penalty box striker we'd had since Frankie Mac. I'd say Windass was a cult hero. Shearer? nope. Bona fide hero? absolutely. Totally agree, two entirely different things in my opinion Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
baggy89 Posted December 13, 2007 Share Posted December 13, 2007 Eh? Where did I say they were the same type of player? Shearer you've said is a bona fide hero, but Windass isn't? I never claimed he was a "great" either but lets face it he's done more since leaving, than any other of our players, over the last fifteen years, did in their entire career. I'm sure he was a hero at Hull, Bradford, Oxford, and Boro so to say he's not a hero to anyone outwith this club is also a bit wide of the mark. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted December 13, 2007 Share Posted December 13, 2007 think you're mis-reading that Baggy. Shearer is a hero, but not a cult hero, whereas Deano was a cult hero, if you get what i mean. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madbadteacher Posted December 13, 2007 Share Posted December 13, 2007 Ah fuck ,I can gie you a couple of years on that you have a hard milk round or something Naw. Married twice! (so far) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted December 13, 2007 Share Posted December 13, 2007 Absolutely Lee Richardson. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BobbyBiscuit Posted December 14, 2007 Share Posted December 14, 2007 Eh? Where did I say they were the same type of player? Shearer you've said is a bona fide hero, but Windass isn't? I never claimed he was a "great" either but lets face it he's done more since leaving, than any other of our players, over the last fifteen years, did in their entire career. I'm sure he was a hero at Hull, Bradford, Oxford, and Boro so to say he's not a hero to anyone outwith this club is also a bit wide of the mark. What? So now we have to praise our ex players on what they did at other clubs?? I don't fucking think so. Read my post again. I think you have the wrong end of the stick. You possibly have the wrong stick altogether. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Reekie_Red Posted December 14, 2007 Share Posted December 14, 2007 Deano, Zero, Rico, all cult heroes. And all end in "o". Therefore, does that allow "Cato" into the cult hero list? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Reekie_Red Posted December 14, 2007 Share Posted December 14, 2007 I cannae believe my ma threw oot that teamsheet fae Farum She threw it oot cos yer name wasnae on the teamsheet ... despite you being the Dons top scorer on the day! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...