manc_don Posted November 4, 2014 Share Posted November 4, 2014 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted November 4, 2014 Share Posted November 4, 2014 The squads always look very disappointing but it's difficult to argue with the improvement shown under Strachan. Steadied the ship. I'm far more likely to watch a Scotland game these days. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
scunnered999 Posted November 4, 2014 Share Posted November 4, 2014 4.... Only 4 Scottish based players! Surely to fuck we have more than 4 players in the SPL who could do a job for Scotland? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted November 4, 2014 Author Share Posted November 4, 2014 Lewis MacLeod. ...WTF Same old story Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jute Posted November 4, 2014 Share Posted November 4, 2014 4.... Only 4 Scottish based players! Surely to fuck we have more than 4 players in the SPL who could do a job for Scotland? An one of the 4 from a 1st division side. Cannot tell me there are not ay better midfielders in the Premier than McLeod. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jute Posted November 4, 2014 Share Posted November 4, 2014 Lewis MacLeod. ...WTF Same old story Agreed Al. I find myself less and less interested in the national team. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
scunnered999 Posted November 4, 2014 Share Posted November 4, 2014 On a slight aside - nice phone handling technique to take the picture of the squad... manc_don it must be awfy sunny where you are Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted November 4, 2014 Author Share Posted November 4, 2014 Agreed Al. I find myself less and less interested in the national team. It's a tough one Jute No doubt that Chesney has got the national team going in the right direction but I struggle to accept some of his thinking. In recent times Reynolds, Jack & Pee Paw have all been called up but have not bvern given a chance. The way that two of them were treated at the end of season friendly against Nigeria was particularly harsh given they gave up their very short break to turn up and not see action. Appreciate that as a professional footballer to appear for your country must be up there as a highlight but if I was any of the three and given a late call up as a result of call offs personally I would be seriously tempted to tell Strachan to ram it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted November 4, 2014 Author Share Posted November 4, 2014 On a slight aside - nice phone handling technique to take the picture of the squad... manc_don it must be awfy sunny where you are Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ally s Posted November 4, 2014 Share Posted November 4, 2014 Lewis MacLeod. ...WTF Same old story Indeed. Ryan Jack and Ryan Gauld (there are more) are far superior players to McLeod. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted November 4, 2014 Author Share Posted November 4, 2014 Saw Chesney's interview on SSN. Admits he saw MacLeod in first game of the season and hasn't seem him since. Depends upon reports from the rest of his backroom staff. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tlg1903 Posted November 4, 2014 Share Posted November 4, 2014 Macleod in ahead of Jack is a fucking disgrace, end off. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted November 5, 2014 Share Posted November 5, 2014 On a slight aside - nice phone handling technique to take the picture of the squad... manc_don it must be awfy sunny where you are Haha it was very sunny down here in London yesterday morning but I can't claim that photo. Gutted Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ally s Posted November 5, 2014 Share Posted November 5, 2014 Also surprised Arfield hasn't been given a call up. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted November 6, 2014 Share Posted November 6, 2014 Also surprised Arfield hasn't been given a call up. Was chatting to someone about him the other day. Amazed he hasn't been included given he has actually played very well for Burnley. An rare example of someone who has left Scotland and actually bettered their career. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madbadteacher Posted November 6, 2014 Share Posted November 6, 2014 But obviously ability and talent dinna get you picked for Scotland these days, one of the reasons I don't give a fuck about the national team, and haven't for several years Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted November 10, 2014 Author Share Posted November 10, 2014 Bardsley withdraws Callum Paterson replaces him Dear God.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ally s Posted November 10, 2014 Share Posted November 10, 2014 There must be a better full back than Paterson available?? McNaughton? Paterson undoubtedly has potential but I don't hink he's ready for international football. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted November 10, 2014 Share Posted November 10, 2014 There must be a better full back than Paterson available?? McNaughton? Paterson undoubtedly has potential but I don't hink he's ready for international football. He's past it unfortunately. Looked completely off the pace when I saw him last. I'd also like to add, I retract my statement about Reynolds. Sadly I think he seems to have lost a bit of form at the moment. Doesn't mean I rate those in front of him higher either mind. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ally s Posted November 10, 2014 Share Posted November 10, 2014 He's past it unfortunately. Looked completely off the pace when I saw him last. I'd also like to add, I retract my statement about Reynolds. Sadly I think he seems to have lost a bit of form at the moment. Doesn't mean I rate those in front of him higher either mind. Shame, how old is he now? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted November 10, 2014 Share Posted November 10, 2014 Shame, how old is he now? He's only 32, and playing at Bolton (I think). Not sure how much game time he's getting there at the moment. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madbadteacher Posted November 12, 2014 Share Posted November 12, 2014 http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/30021677 Aye and I shit pure gold! Once a hun........... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted November 14, 2014 Share Posted November 14, 2014 Scotland captain Scott Brown has labelled the Republic match "as big a game as I've ever played in" and reckons the qualifier will be "like an Old Firm-type game". (Scottish Sun) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted November 14, 2014 Author Share Posted November 14, 2014 Scotland captain Scott Brown has labelled the Republic match "as big a game as I've ever played in" and reckons the qualifier will be "like an Old Firm-type game". (Scottish Sun) No such thing Mr Brown, and to think they accuse us of living in the past. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madbadteacher Posted November 14, 2014 Share Posted November 14, 2014 http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/30057249 So why not pick Jac, or Gauld, or, FFS me? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...