Edinburghdon Posted January 20, 2012 Share Posted January 20, 2012 Right, just got myself a kindle. Does anyone have any recommendation on books to fill it with? Can't be arsed to trawl through all 30 pages of this thread Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dandy Posted January 20, 2012 Share Posted January 20, 2012 Ian Rankin- The Impossible Dead, not read it yet but its on my Kindle. Alan Sugars The Way I See it is supposed to be good. Sawbones by Stuart MacBride, its classed as a Novella ie its nae long! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edinburghdon Posted January 20, 2012 Share Posted January 20, 2012 Ian Rankin- The Impossible Dead, not read it yet but its on my Kindle. Alan Sugars The Way I See it is supposed to be good. Sawbones by Stuart MacBride, its classed as a Novella ie its nae long! Already read the impossible dead, expect a text giving away the ending any second... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted January 20, 2012 Share Posted January 20, 2012 Right, just got myself a kindle. Does anyone have any recommendation on books to fill it with? Can't be arsed to trawl through all 30 pages of this thread 11/22/63 Try this link also for free books http://www.ereaderiq.co.uk/free/ Most of them are shit, but the odd good one crops now and again Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edinburghdon Posted January 20, 2012 Share Posted January 20, 2012 11/22/63 Try this link also for free books http://www.ereaderiq.co.uk/free/ Most of them are shit, but the odd good one crops now and again Perfect cheers Al! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted January 20, 2012 Share Posted January 20, 2012 Perfect cheers Al! Meant to say, sign up to it and you get daily e mail about new free books. As I said, most of them crap, but some good crime thrillers from time to time Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madbadteacher Posted January 20, 2012 Share Posted January 20, 2012 Agree with 11/22/63 Also for easy reading (c 4 hours a book) try any James Patterson books! If ye're into fantasy (and as AFC fans looking to win something aren't we all) Stan Nicholl's "Orcs" book are pretty good too, also any of "The Black COmpany" series by Glenn Cook Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tlg1903 Posted January 20, 2012 Share Posted January 20, 2012 Ready player one by earnest cline, easily the best book i read last year Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldie03 Posted January 21, 2012 Share Posted January 21, 2012 Got two Scottish fitba related books for xmas. First was Stramash by a Middlesbrough fan who moved to Edinburgh. Fed up with travelling down to the NE of England every other week and of the anodyne corporate atmosphere of EPL/Championship football he decided to spend a year travelling around lower league Scotland. Some interesting insight, history and commentary on Scottish lower leagues and football in general - recommended The Second was Bloody Casuals Congratulations You Have Just Met The Casuals, about our very own ASC. Possibly the worse book I have ever read. Would probably fail as an essay in Standard Grade English. Even the material is rotten with almost every story starting "I wasn't there at the time but to the best of my knowledge this is what happened", cue the usual "there were 50 of us 100 of them and they shat it and ran". Never been interested in this genre of book and needless to say after reading this (well some of it, it having been relegated to toilet book) I won't be getting any more. I saw him at the book festival last August Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldie03 Posted January 21, 2012 Share Posted January 21, 2012 Right, just got myself a kindle. Does anyone have any recommendation on books to fill it with? Can't be arsed to trawl through all 30 pages of this thread If you like crime try Harlan Coben Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Harcus Posted January 23, 2012 Share Posted January 23, 2012 The Second was Bloody Casuals Congratulations You Have Just Met The Casuals, about our very own ASC. Possibly the worse book I have ever read. Would probably fail as an essay in Standard Grade English. WA-HEY! Will check out your other recommendation though. Just started Larry Lamb's autobiography. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RDU_64 Posted January 23, 2012 Share Posted January 23, 2012 I'm reading Yes Man by Danny Wallace at the minute, very enjoyable read and some particular Laugh Out Loud points. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
topcorner Posted January 23, 2012 Share Posted January 23, 2012 I'm reading Yes Man by Danny Wallace at the minute, very enjoyable read and some particular Laugh Out Loud points. I read that a few years ago. Definitely an easy book to read with a few funny stories throughout I also tried to say Yes to everything after I read it. Lasted about a week Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tlg1903 Posted January 23, 2012 Share Posted January 23, 2012 Excellent book, really enjoyed it. Join Me is phenomenal as well Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dave_min Posted January 23, 2012 Share Posted January 23, 2012 All of Danny Wallace's books are good except "Awkward Situations For Men". Don't read it. It's pish. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted January 24, 2012 Share Posted January 24, 2012 "Awkward Situations For Men". Don't read it. It's pish. Probably the worst book i've ever had the misfortune to pick up. Started reading it on holiday couple of years ago, perservered for about eighty pages and had to give up before I slit my wrists Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted February 2, 2012 Author Share Posted February 2, 2012 Currently reading Snuff by Terry Pratchett but have just downloaded this: Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted February 2, 2012 Share Posted February 2, 2012 Currently reading Snuff by Terry Pratchett but have just downloaded this: Have you read Barca - A People's Passion by Jimmy Burns ? If not strongly recommend it Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted February 2, 2012 Author Share Posted February 2, 2012 Have you read Barca - A People's Passion by Jimmy Burns ? If not strongly recommend it Yes, a truly fantastic read. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted February 2, 2012 Share Posted February 2, 2012 Also reading Snuff. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
glasgowdon Posted February 2, 2012 Share Posted February 2, 2012 A People's Passion is a horribly biased book. Morbo is a great book and everyone should read that if they are interested in la Liga. For an interesting book on Italian football: The Miracle of Castel di Sangro. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted February 2, 2012 Author Share Posted February 2, 2012 A People's Passion is a horribly biased book. I knew it Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldie03 Posted March 20, 2012 Share Posted March 20, 2012 Just finished The Hunger Games trilogy - great read, can't wait to see the first film on Friday Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted March 20, 2012 Share Posted March 20, 2012 Currently reading Catch 22, it's the second time i've tried to read it but i've found it much easier to read the second time round. Didn't get 1/2 way the first time. Recently finish the English Patient which was a good read. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Harcus Posted March 20, 2012 Share Posted March 20, 2012 Currently reading this. Quite interesting, although a bit too much guesswork for me. Recently finished this, was a fantastic piece of work - Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...