Kowalski Posted October 26, 2009 Author Share Posted October 26, 2009 Incredible to think what went on in the USA during my lifetime Aye, the Boston Tea Party for one, I'm sure there's some good books about it out there. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
amp Posted October 26, 2009 Share Posted October 26, 2009 Currently reading 'Loonyology' by Charles Bronson (nutter widely known as 'Britain's most dangerous prisoner') Bit of a weird book. Jumps all over the place as he seems to recall stories from his 34 years in Prison completely at random. Thought he would have more intersting stories than 'beating up narks' and fighting against the system etc etc Thinks himself to be a bit of a comedian, and beleives that he is very intelligent by throwing in random facts throughout. I'm nearly finished and it's got a bit tedious. Guy is obsessed with becoming a celebrity. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted October 28, 2009 Share Posted October 28, 2009 Just started reading Arctic Chill by Arnaldur Indridtasson. Not a bad start to the book so far. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted November 1, 2009 Author Share Posted November 1, 2009 I have been working my way through the Red Riding books. I've finished the first three, and thought 1980 was the best. Just started 1983 last night. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted November 2, 2009 Share Posted November 2, 2009 Away on holiday on Wed, and just started my holiday read yesterday. "Shantaram" by Gregory David Roberts described by the Daily Telegragh as a "literay masterpiece" and early impressions are they're not wrong. Tells the story of a convicted Australian armed robber and heroin addicts escape to India, where he lived in a Bombay slum. where he established a free health clinic and joined the Mafia, working as a money launderer, forger and street solidier. He found time to learn Hindi & Marathi, act in Bollywood and fought with the Mujahadeen in Afghanistan. Book runs to over 900 pages and ought to keep me entertained lying in the sun. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mentorred Posted November 3, 2009 Share Posted November 3, 2009 Just finished reading The Shack. Very thought provoking. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted November 4, 2009 Share Posted November 4, 2009 Just finished "The Ice Man" by Philip Carlo, a biography of Richard Kuklinski a mafia hitman and all round serial killer. A good read but one of his others, about a similar kind of dude, Tommy Pitera was very disappointing. Just started "The Brother-hoods" by Guy Lawson and William Oldham about 2 polis who were mafia hitmen. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted December 10, 2009 Author Share Posted December 10, 2009 Currently reading Peter Hook - "Hacienda - How Not To Run a Club". Reasonably interesting and entertaining so far. Good to hear he hates The Smiths! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
minijc Posted December 10, 2009 Share Posted December 10, 2009 The Smiths are alright. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted December 12, 2009 Share Posted December 12, 2009 One of my mates did their dissertation on how the hacienda influenced bar and club design. Met peter hook, nice guy apparently. And the smiths are Shite. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BobbyBiscuit Posted December 12, 2009 Share Posted December 12, 2009 aye, The Smiths are shite. How Soon Is Now? is a good song but generally they're dirge. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted December 12, 2009 Share Posted December 12, 2009 Saw the Smiths at the Capitol in mid eighties, seem to mind Morrisey storming off stage in a huff after an hour, but nae really sure because I might have been intoxicated Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BobbyBiscuit Posted December 12, 2009 Share Posted December 12, 2009 Johnny Marr is alright but Morrisey's a prized tit. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bilbobaggins Posted January 8, 2010 Share Posted January 8, 2010 I love The Smiths. I read Lustrum from the ever excellent Robert Harris. His stories of Roman politics are wonderful. I'm on to Shout by Philip Norman. Updated version. Magic so far. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted January 8, 2010 Share Posted January 8, 2010 Anyone get any paperbacks for Xmas that they can recommend ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Azteca1903 Posted January 8, 2010 Share Posted January 8, 2010 I love The Smiths. I read Lustrum from the ever excellent Robert Harris. His stories of Roman politics are wonderful. I'm on to Shout by Philip Norman. Updated version. Magic so far. Is that a new een? Recently read The Ghost and was quite impressed. Nae sure which one of his to try next, as he seems to have a vast number of novels on a similar theme. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bilbobaggins Posted January 8, 2010 Share Posted January 8, 2010 Yep, I've loved al lhis books. He had an earler one about Cicero called Imperium. These only two which envoke the same story/people although some have similar settings in time. Start at the start with him, - Fatherland - Enigma - Archangel - Pompeii - Ipmerium - The Ghost - Lustrum Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Azteca1903 Posted January 8, 2010 Share Posted January 8, 2010 Yep, I've loved al lhis books. He had an earler one about Cicero called Imperium. These only two which envoke the same story/people although some have similar settings in time. Start at the start with him, - Fatherland - Enigma - Archangel - Pompeii - Ipmerium - The Ghost - Lustrum Cheers min Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted January 8, 2010 Author Share Posted January 8, 2010 Erm I'm reading Keith Floyd's autobiography. Cooked. Got drunk. Got married. Got divorced. Cooked. Got drunk. Got married. Got divorced. etc... Reasonably entertaining though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Azteca1903 Posted January 8, 2010 Share Posted January 8, 2010 Erm I'm reading Keith Floyd's autobiography. Cooked. Got drunk. Got married. Got divorced. Cooked. Got drunk. Got married. Got divorced. etc... Reasonably entertaining though. Sounds like Pele's. Except there's no cooking, of course. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted January 8, 2010 Share Posted January 8, 2010 Sounds like Pele's. Except there's no cooking, of course. Or shagging, until recently. Before viagra he was playing snooker wi a length of rope. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted January 8, 2010 Share Posted January 8, 2010 Currently reading Stephen King - The Stand, Frankie Boyle's autobiography and another book about mafia cops in the NYPD. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
baggy89 Posted January 8, 2010 Share Posted January 8, 2010 Is that a new een? Recently read The Ghost and was quite impressed. Nae sure which one of his to try next, as he seems to have a vast number of novels on a similar theme. Fatherland and Imperium are his best IMO. Think I read that Lustrum is the second book in his Cicero trilogy?? I thought Ghost was probably his weakest effort so if you enjoyed that you'll love the rest of his books. Just finished the Frankie Boyle autobiography, quite enjoyable post Christmas fayre with a few laugh out loud bits. Comes across as a very honest and intelligent guy, which I don't suppose is all that surprising. Just started Sleepy Head by Mark Billingham. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BrownyBrown Posted January 9, 2010 Share Posted January 9, 2010 In to fiction just now and currently reading Robert Ludlum's Bourne series. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted January 9, 2010 Share Posted January 9, 2010 Just started Sleepy Head by Mark Billingham. Have you read the others as well Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...