BobbyBiscuit Posted September 19, 2010 Report Posted September 19, 2010 Reading "My Shit Life So Far" by Frankie Boyle. "My shit book so far" is my review. ACTUAL LOL!! Best book review ever. Quote
Goldie03 Posted September 19, 2010 Report Posted September 19, 2010 Just finished " The Angels Game" by Carlos Ruiz Zafon. Really enjoyed it, already read "The Shadow Of The Wind" hope his others are translated from Spanish also Perfect I just bought that last weekend so I may read it next after I finish the last Millennium book tonight. I loved The Shadow of the Wind Went to see The Girl Who Played With Fire at the pics this afternoon - pretty good adaptation of the book tho not nearly as exciting as the first one Quote
BigAl Posted September 29, 2010 Report Posted September 29, 2010 Anyone read "Alone in Berlin" by Hans Fallada ? Currently about a hundred pages into it, rather slow and wondering if it is worth sticking with it ? Quote
dave_min Posted September 29, 2010 Report Posted September 29, 2010 Anyone read "Alone in Berlin" by Hans Fallada ? Currently about a hundred pages into it, rather slow and wondering if it is worth sticking with it ? Nope, but i've been to Berlin by myself if that helps? It was good. Quote
Kowalski Posted September 29, 2010 Author Report Posted September 29, 2010 David Peace. I've read the Red Riding books, and The Damned United. Are any of his other books any good? Quote
BigAl Posted September 29, 2010 Report Posted September 29, 2010 Nope, but i've been to Berlin by myself if that helps? It was good. you could of written it then and earned some money instead of being a student Quote
bloo_toon_red Posted September 30, 2010 Report Posted September 30, 2010 David Peace. I've read the Red Riding books, and The Damned United. Are any of his other books any good? I read the four of them earlier this year, I found them pretty compulsive. 1980 in my opinion being the best of the four. They only made three of them for the TV adaptation which was strange. Casting was very good for it though. I then went on to read Peace's GB84 which is a good read but the narrative a little bit cumbersome in places. Story surrounds three characters during the most intense time of the miner's strike. One is a hitman, one is an MI5 agent masquerading as a govt chauffeur and one is the treasurer for the NUM. I considered getting his Tokyo: Year Zero, but I decided not to bother. Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted October 6, 2010 Report Posted October 6, 2010 Sky 1 showing a TV adaptation of one of the Mark Billingham D.I. Thorne series of books "Sleepyhead" this week. The books are excellent so here's hoping the TV series as good. Quote
BigAl Posted October 7, 2010 Report Posted October 7, 2010 Sky 1 showing a TV adaptation of one of the Mark Billingham D.I. Thorne series of books "Sleepyhead" this week. The books are excellent so here's hoping the TV series as good. i've read them all TF. Was saying to the missus on holiday this year that they could make good tv. Looks like I was right then Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted October 7, 2010 Report Posted October 7, 2010 i've read them all TF. Was saying to the missus on holiday this year that they could make good tv. Looks like I was right then Pity Sky's doing it then. Quote
Aberdeen_Ladette Posted October 10, 2010 Report Posted October 10, 2010 Sadly only find the time to read books when I'm away on holiday, when in 2 weeks I read 6 to 7 books. Love Dan Brown, read all his previous 4 books and have bought 'Lost Symbol' for next holiday in January. What would you all recommend? Love psychological thrillers/crime type books. Quote
Mentorred Posted October 10, 2010 Report Posted October 10, 2010 Sadly only find the time to read books when I'm away on holiday, when in 2 weeks I read 6 to 7 books. Love Dan Brown, read all his previous 4 books and have bought 'Lost Symbol' for next holiday in January. What would you all recommend? Love psychological thrillers/crime type books. Lost Symbol is a good book. I like the Ian Rankin Rebus books. Quote
manc_don Posted October 10, 2010 Report Posted October 10, 2010 Started reading Catch 22 by Joseph Heller recently. Quite a bizarre read so far, but I'm about 1/2 through and getting into it. Anyone else read it? Quote
Harcus Posted October 11, 2010 Report Posted October 11, 2010 I tried to read it manc, but really struggled to enjoy and gave up halfway through. Odd book! Currently reading a couple books by Luke Sutherland, he lived in Orkney briefly. Quote
Goldie03 Posted October 11, 2010 Report Posted October 11, 2010 I have just started The Snowman by Jo Nesbo - set in Norway and being compared to The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo I'll let you Stieg Larsson fans know if it is any good Quote
glasgow sheep Posted October 11, 2010 Report Posted October 11, 2010 Started reading Catch 22 by Joseph Heller recently. Quite a bizarre read so far, but I'm about 1/2 through and getting into it. Anyone else read it? One of my favourite books. Superb, hilarious read, although I can understand it may take a bit of getting into. Currently readin Stewart Lee's book which is essentially the transcriptions of three of his shows that were recorded for DVD release annotated to give added context and comment along with added background on the time in the 90s where he disappeared from view. Interesting read so far, especially the insight into the Alternative comedy scene in the 90s. One of my favourite comedians so I'm biased but already found my self laughing out loud on several occassions and really interesting read. Also working my way through a William Boyd book, "Ordinary Thunderstorms" I'd picked up randomly in Waterstones which so far is quite intriguing. Quote
manc_don Posted October 11, 2010 Report Posted October 11, 2010 One of my favourite books. Superb, hilarious read, although I can understand it may take a bit of getting into. Currently readin Stewart Lee's book which is essentially the transcriptions of three of his shows that were recorded for DVD release annotated to give added context and comment along with added background on the time in the 90s where he disappeared from view. Interesting read so far, especially the insight into the Alternative comedy scene in the 90s. One of my favourite comedians so I'm biased but already found my self laughing out loud on several occassions and really interesting read. Also working my way through a William Boyd book, "Ordinary Thunderstorms" I'd picked up randomly in Waterstones which so far is quite intriguing. I'm determined to stick at it. Everyone I know that has actually finished it said it was a great book. I finished Ordinary Thunderstorms a while back. Very good read and quite amusing in what levels Adam Kindred goes to to survive. Quote
Madbadteacher Posted October 11, 2010 Report Posted October 11, 2010 Just started "The Pillars of the Earth" by Ken Follet, brought back from the US to read on the plane and just never did. Now I see there's a TV adaptation of it on next Saturday, so, do I read the book first, or do I wait and hope I might actually have TV by then? Anyone read the book, seen the TV version elsewhere? Quote
BigAl Posted October 11, 2010 Report Posted October 11, 2010 Also working my way through a William Boyd book, "Ordinary Thunderstorms" I'd picked up randomly in Waterstones which so far is quite intriguing. Good read, stick with it. Going to try some of his others as well Quote
Rebus30 Posted October 13, 2010 Report Posted October 13, 2010 Lost Symbol is a good book. I like the Ian Rankin Rebus books. If you've read the Ian Rankin Rebus books have you tried Stuart MacBride's books? Quote
Goldie03 Posted October 24, 2010 Report Posted October 24, 2010 I have just started The Snowman by Jo Nesbo - set in Norway and being compared to The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo I'll let you Stieg Larsson fans know if it is any good Nothing like the Millennium trilogy other than being set in a Scandinavian country - found the characters and plot hard to follow at times Gonna reread Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows again now - just in time for the film Quote
Harcus Posted October 25, 2010 Report Posted October 25, 2010 Reading "Stamping Grounds" by Charlie Connolly. He follows Liechenstein through the 2002 World Cup qualification campaign. I like this type of book, so anticipating good things. Quote
Azteca1903 Posted October 25, 2010 Report Posted October 25, 2010 Reading "Stamping Grounds" by Charlie Connolly. He follows Liechenstein through the 2002 World Cup qualification campaign. I like this type of book, so anticipating good things. Sounds a wee bit like Pointless by Jeff Connor, where East Stirlingshire are followed for a season. I found that quite enjoyable. Quote
baggy89 Posted October 25, 2010 Report Posted October 25, 2010 Sky 1 showing a TV adaptation of one of the Mark Billingham D.I. Thorne series of books "Sleepyhead" this week. The books are excellent so here's hoping the TV series as good. It's probably less than a year since I read the book but am I wrong in thinking that it was altered completely for the telly?? Five minutes in to the final part last night and the wife pipes up "I think I know who did it" only then did I think "I'm not even sure we've been introduced to the character that did do it." Quote
BigAl Posted October 25, 2010 Report Posted October 25, 2010 It's probably less than a year since I read the book but am I wrong in thinking that it was altered completely for the telly?? Five minutes in to the final part last night and the wife pipes up "I think I know who did it" only then did I think "I'm not even sure we've been introduced to the character that did do it." Nae sure Baggy, I read it when it first came out about five/six year ago and frankly couldn't remember most of it Quote