Saturday 23rd November 2024 - kick-off 3pm

Scottish Premiership - St Mirren v Aberdeen

Ian Rankin- The Impossible Dead, not read it yet but its on my Kindle. Alan Sugars The Way I See it is supposed to be good. Sawbones by Stuart MacBride, its classed as a Novella ie its nae long!

Already read the impossible dead, expect a text giving away the ending any second...

;D

Perfect cheers Al!

Meant to say, sign up to it and you get daily e mail about new free books.

As I said, most of them crap, but some good crime thrillers from time to time

Agree with 11/22/63

Also for easy reading (c 4 hours a book) try any James Patterson books!

If ye're into fantasy (and as AFC fans looking to win something aren't we all) Stan Nicholl's "Orcs" book are pretty good too, also any of "The Black COmpany" series by Glenn Cook

Got two Scottish fitba related books for xmas.

First was Stramash by a Middlesbrough fan who moved to Edinburgh.  Fed up with travelling down to the NE of England every other week and of the anodyne corporate atmosphere of EPL/Championship football he decided to spend a year travelling around lower league Scotland.  Some interesting insight, history and commentary on Scottish lower leagues and football in general - recommended

The Second was Bloody Casuals Congratulations You Have Just Met The Casuals, about our very own ASC.  Possibly the worse book I have ever read.  Would probably fail as an essay in Standard Grade English. Even the material is rotten with almost every story starting "I wasn't there at the time but to the best of my knowledge this is what happened", cue the usual "there were 50 of us 100 of them and they shat it and ran".  Never been interested in this genre of book and needless to say after reading this (well some of it, it having been relegated to toilet book) I won't be getting any more.

I saw him at the book festival last August  :thumbsup:

Right, just got myself a kindle. Does anyone have any recommendation on books to fill it with?

Can't be arsed to trawl through all 30 pages of this thread  ;)

If you like crime try Harlan Coben  :thumbsup:

The Second was Bloody Casuals Congratulations You Have Just Met The Casuals, about our very own ASC.  Possibly the worse book I have ever read.  Would probably fail as an essay in Standard Grade English.

WA-HEY!  :P

Will check out your other recommendation though.

Just started Larry Lamb's autobiography.

I'm reading Yes Man by Danny Wallace at the minute, very enjoyable read and some particular Laugh Out Loud points.

I read that a few years ago. Definitely an easy book to read with a few funny stories throughout  :thumbsup:

I also tried to say Yes to everything after I read it. Lasted about a week  :-\

"Awkward Situations For Men".

Don't read it.

It's pish.

Probably the worst book i've ever had the misfortune to pick up.

Started reading it on holiday couple of years ago, perservered for about eighty pages and had to give up before I slit my wrists ::)

A People's Passion is a horribly biased book. Morbo is a great book and everyone should read that if they are interested in la Liga.

For an interesting book on Italian football: The Miracle of Castel di Sangro.

Currently reading Catch 22, it's the second time i've tried to read it but i've found it much easier to read the second time round. Didn't get 1/2 way the first time. Recently finish the English Patient which was a good read.