Kowalski Posted November 22, 2008 Author Share Posted November 22, 2008 How many chapters are dedicated to Oasis? Only mention of Oasis is Drummond saying that the most popular bands are not necessarily the best... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tom_widdows Posted November 22, 2008 Share Posted November 22, 2008 Finished Macbrides latest 'Flesh House' last week and beginning to see Bazig's point of view It was OK and I do like the fact I know most of the places he mentions in his books but it just didnt flow. it also reminded me of the style of story writing that i was coming up with in Standard grade english, but Ill probably read his next one anyway (so long as I only pay £5max). Felt a bit cheated at the end too and I reckon he was 'encouraged' to change it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Superstar Tradesman Posted November 22, 2008 Share Posted November 22, 2008 Only mention of Oasis is Drummond saying that the most popular bands are not necessarily the best... Genius. Surely he must be up for some literary award? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted November 22, 2008 Author Share Posted November 22, 2008 That's nay really what the book's about, it was the only mention of Oasis. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted November 23, 2008 Share Posted November 23, 2008 Just started on "Human Traces" by Sebastian Faulks Anyone else on here read it ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
KGB Posted November 23, 2008 Share Posted November 23, 2008 Haven't read it Al but if it's even half as good as 'Birdsong' by Faulks it will be worth reading. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted November 23, 2008 Share Posted November 23, 2008 Haven't read it Al but if it's even half as good as 'Birdsong' by Faulks it will be worth reading. I've heard that thats a really good read and intend giving it a read if this one is any good. Faulks seems to be a really highly rated author at present. Only one of his I've read to date is Engelby Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted December 9, 2008 Share Posted December 9, 2008 Just started on "Human Traces" by Sebastian Faulks Anyone else on here read it ? This boy Faulks writes a fair book. Bit on the long side and a little heavy going in terms of detail, but he does tell a good story Have got "Birdsong" and also "On Green Dolhpin Street" by him to read as well. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldie03 Posted December 9, 2008 Share Posted December 9, 2008 This boy Faulks writes a fair book. Bit on the long side and a little heavy going in terms of detail, but he does tell a good story Have got "Birdsong" and also "On Green Dolhpin Street" by him to read as well. I loved that book Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldie03 Posted December 9, 2008 Share Posted December 9, 2008 I finished "CHOPPER 5" when I was offshore... already read the first 4... number 6 to go... and apparently number 7 too according to Amazon! It's aboot my level though... fitba bams and ozzie crims. Now my realtime favourite list (off ma shelf that I can see oot of hundreds as mates who've seen my book collection will confirm): Hells Angels - Hunter S Thomsom Porno - Irvine Welsh Glue - Irvine Welsh(fuck that "Bedroom Secrets" shite he wrote) A Short History Of Almost Everything - Bill Bryson (fit a trip thru time) On The Road - Jack Kerouac Bloody Casuals: Diary of a Fitba Hooligan - Jay Allan (if ye canna sleep before a huns game this is the one) 1984 - George Orwell Mein Kampf - Adolf Hitler How To Catch Bigger Pike - Paul Gustafson The Wasp Factory - Ian Banks Island - Aldous Huxley Brave New World - Aldous Huxley The Motorcycle Diaries - Che Guevara A Chancer - James Kelman How Late It Was, How Late - James Kelman Jaws - Peter Benchley (alot dirtier than the film - dirty cheatin wife in the diner!) Sunset Song - Lewis Grassic Gibbon (Just cos I'm fae Stoney and am curious aboot incest!) That is a fab film - I might just have to add the book to my santa list Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mentorred Posted December 9, 2008 Share Posted December 9, 2008 Just finished the Dean Windas Book, a good read by a class guy. Just starting Willie Millers book now Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edinburghdon Posted December 9, 2008 Share Posted December 9, 2008 I finished "CHOPPER 5" when I was offshore... already read the first 4... number 6 to go... and apparently number 7 too according to Amazon! It's aboot my level though... fitba bams and ozzie crims. Now my realtime favourite list (off ma shelf that I can see oot of hundreds as mates who've seen my book collection will confirm): Hells Angels - Hunter S Thomsom Porno - Irvine Welsh Glue - Irvine Welsh(fuck that "Bedroom Secrets" shite he wrote) A Short History Of Almost Everything - Bill Bryson (fit a trip thru time) On The Road - Jack Kerouac Bloody Casuals: Diary of a Fitba Hooligan - Jay Allan (if ye canna sleep before a huns game this is the one) 1984 - George Orwell Mein Kampf - Adolf Hitler How To Catch Bigger Pike - Paul Gustafson The Wasp Factory - Ian Banks Island - Aldous Huxley Brave New World - Aldous Huxley The Motorcycle Diaries - Che Guevara A Chancer - James Kelman How Late It Was, How Late - James Kelman Jaws - Peter Benchley (alot dirtier than the film - dirty cheatin wife in the diner!) Sunset Song - Lewis Grassic Gibbon (Just cos I'm fae Stoney and am curious aboot incest!) Last two books i read. Enjoyed the motorcycle diaries, wish i had read the book before seeing the film though. Only just finished Porno the other night, really good read and i heard rumours that the movie may be back on Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edinburghdon Posted December 9, 2008 Share Posted December 9, 2008 I always try to read the book before watching the film - I like to have the scenes in ma heid before a highly paid director tells me what to think. I tend to try and do the same, had my arm twisted into watching the motorcycle diaries before i could read the book though! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RDU_64 Posted December 9, 2008 Share Posted December 9, 2008 Just finished reading 'Broken Skin' by Stuart Macbride. Not usually into the old crime thriller much but enjoyed this one. Enjoyed it more as I could actually picture the places because I knew where they were! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Superstar Tradesman Posted December 10, 2008 Share Posted December 10, 2008 Just finished reading 'Broken Skin' by Stuart Macbride. Not usually into the old crime thriller much but enjoyed this one. Enjoyed it more as I could actually picture the places because I knew where they were! http://www.touchlocal.com/nat/c-558-Dermatologist Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RDU_64 Posted December 10, 2008 Share Posted December 10, 2008 http://www.touchlocal.com/nat/c-558-Dermatologist Ironic, given that I occasionally suffer from really bad dry skin on my hands! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
??? Posted December 10, 2008 Share Posted December 10, 2008 Ironic, given that I occasionally suffer from really bad dry skin on my hands! Cat Aids. http://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/Article.aspx/963649?UserKey= Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted January 17, 2009 Author Share Posted January 17, 2009 Just finished Kevin Stirling's latest book "Aberdeen FC On This Day". I didn't realise Hibs were once sniffing around AFC with a view to taking them over and relocating up north. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted January 17, 2009 Share Posted January 17, 2009 I didn't realise Hibs were once sniffing around AFC with a view to taking them over and relocating up north. WTF Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted January 17, 2009 Author Share Posted January 17, 2009 WTF This was about 1902(ish) before the amalgamation of the three teams in Aberdeen to form the current AFC. Hibs wanted to come up and take over. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted January 17, 2009 Share Posted January 17, 2009 This was about 1902(ish) before the amalgamation of the three teams in Aberdeen to form the current AFC. Hibs wanted to come up and take over. and if they had succeeded then they wouldn't have had to wait for over a century for success in the Scottish Cup Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrew Posted January 18, 2009 Share Posted January 18, 2009 Just finished reading the Count of Monte Cristo. Took me like two years to read after having read several books while reading it. In parts its really good but lots of it is really quite boring and quite complicated because minor details at the start of the book turn into major events at the end so you really have to pay attention. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted January 18, 2009 Share Posted January 18, 2009 Just finished reading the Count of Monte Cristo. Took me like two years to read after having read several books while reading it. In parts its really good but lots of it is really quite boring and quite complicated because minor details at the start of the book turn into major events at the end so you really have to pay attention. You obviously didn't if it took you two years to read Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
??? Posted January 19, 2009 Share Posted January 19, 2009 Just finished reading the Count of Monte Cristo. Took me like two years to read after having read several books while reading it. In parts its really good but lots of it is really quite boring and quite complicated because minor details at the start of the book turn into major events at the end so you really have to pay attention. :lolabove: Andrew's advice on how to get through life... Part 1 - How to read a book and truly understand it. Next week, Part 2 - How to open doors and walk through them Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
glasgowdon Posted January 19, 2009 Share Posted January 19, 2009 :lolabove: Andrew's advice on how to get through life... Part 1 - How to read a book and truly understand it. Next week, Part 2 - How to open doors and walk through them Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...