Tyrant Posted April 6, 2015 Report Posted April 6, 2015 News has broken today that the additional segregation fence (that housed the Old Firm when they were up here in the additional away section) is to be removed for the start of next season. Obviously this means that the club don't intend on ever giving Celtic or Sevco any more of an allocation than any other team. I think this is great news. The loud support they have undoubtedly gave them a lift. And it also means my view will no longer be impaired by the monstrosity. Well done AFC football club. :thumbsup: Quote
donsdaft Posted April 6, 2015 Report Posted April 6, 2015 Well, it's good news in itself, there is no doubt about that. There are a few other circumstances attached to the move which are not quite so noble. However, the past is the past Onwards and upwards. Quote
manc_don Posted April 6, 2015 Report Posted April 6, 2015 What are the other circumstances donsdaft? Very pleased with this news, shows how far we've come in that the club are confident that they don't need to rely on the filths attendance. Definitely was a benefit to them. Quote
donsdaft Posted April 6, 2015 Report Posted April 6, 2015 Looks like they are trying to quash any supporter led (for want of a better phrase) singing section. Of course, the South Stand would be a better place anyway. Don't hold out much hope but still good to see the filth get less tickets. Quote
manc_don Posted April 6, 2015 Report Posted April 6, 2015 Looks like they are trying to quash any supporter led (for want of a better phrase) singing section. Of course, the South Stand would be a better place anyway. Don't hold out much hope but still good to see the filth get less tickets. Aha, yes I had heard about that. South stand is definitely better for acoustics, whole stadium hears it unlike the RDU imo Quote
tlg1903 Posted April 6, 2015 Report Posted April 6, 2015 I wonder if this is in preparation for a safe standing section Quote
Tyrant Posted April 7, 2015 Author Report Posted April 7, 2015 Well, it's good news in itself, there is no doubt about that. There are a few other circumstances attached to the move which are not quite so noble. However, the past is the past Onwards and upwards. Aye? like what? Quote
capitalred Posted April 7, 2015 Report Posted April 7, 2015 Slightly off the OP topic and a sore point with some, but does anyone have a link to the plans that were submitted for the new stadium. Spent an hour looking on line for them last night, plenty of pics of the exterior, but I wanted to see what they had proposed inside. Quote
manc_don Posted April 7, 2015 Report Posted April 7, 2015 Slightly off the OP topic and a sore point with some, but does anyone have a link to the plans that were submitted for the new stadium. Spent an hour looking on line for them last night, plenty of pics of the exterior, but I wanted to see what they had proposed inside. Were plans ever released? I don't recall them, but if there are any, they will be on the planning portal. Will have wee dig around and see what I can find. Have already looked on the architects (Holmes Miller Partnership) and they only have the visuals up. Edit: Hadn't realised that the Planning Portal didn't cover Scotland http://www.aberdeencity.gov.uk/nmsruntime/saveasdialog.asp?lID=50452&sID=14394 - on Page 16 of this ACC document you can see the ground floor plan. Tom, what is the Scottish equivalent? Quote
capitalred Posted April 7, 2015 Report Posted April 7, 2015 Aye min, ive had a good dig through them before, I thought it was in the cooncil site (and on the AFC site I think) but I cant find them now, thought id saved them, seemingly not... They were really detailed and I wanted to have a look at the proposed steepness of the stands again Quote
manc_don Posted April 7, 2015 Report Posted April 7, 2015 Aye min, ive had a good dig through them before, I thought it was in the cooncil site (and on the AFC site I think) but I cant find them now, thought id saved them, seemingly not... They were really detailed and I wanted to have a look at the proposed steepness of the stands again Bingo, so in Scotland you still go to the local council's website, so here you are: http://planning.aberdeencity.gov.uk/docs/planningdocuments.asp?appnumber=101299 - contains all the drawings, just scroll down the page a wee bit. Quote
capitalred Posted April 7, 2015 Report Posted April 7, 2015 Eventually came across this http://www.afc.co.uk...4~152177,00.pdf Nae as steep as I thought/hoped Quote
manc_don Posted April 8, 2015 Report Posted April 8, 2015 The design of it is another debate all together. Wasn't happy with it the first time round and having looked at it again, I realise how bog standard it actually is. Quote