donsdaft Posted April 14, 2015 Report Posted April 14, 2015 I thank you for your introduction to Hannah Reid, I listen to her often. Now, I realise that you are listening to her sober and I am not, but when I hear her voice I am always reminded of David Crosby. This worries me because Hannah is a bit of stuff and I really don't want my fantacy's invaded by an image of a great big hairy bloke. In particular " All along the lee shore" is a problem. Perhaps I should have titled this " Dear Phoenix" We could start a problem page. Quote
phoenix Posted April 14, 2015 Report Posted April 14, 2015 's Truth min...cannae see where the Crosby thing comes in but I'll 'listen again'...mair tae dee wi' alcohol I'll be bound. Watching Athletics v Real iv noo. Fit a game ! Quote
donsdaft Posted April 14, 2015 Author Report Posted April 14, 2015 Ach, I was going to watch that but got involved with Hannah and beer, and F'uckin David Crosby. Quote
donsdaft Posted April 14, 2015 Author Report Posted April 14, 2015 Anyway, you're only on here because you can be under 21 Quote
phoenix Posted April 14, 2015 Report Posted April 14, 2015 I like Crosby but mair a Stephen Stills man. Quote
donsdaft Posted April 14, 2015 Author Report Posted April 14, 2015 Of course, if I was really truthful, I'm really a Neil Young fan www.youtube.com/watch?v=1e3m_T-NMOs Quote
phoenix Posted April 16, 2015 Report Posted April 16, 2015 Aye...a lot of talent locked up in CSN&Y...an affa lorra in-fechtin' too. Nash! Quote
donsdaft Posted October 6, 2016 Author Report Posted October 6, 2016 Going back to the first post Quote
donsdaft Posted April 26, 2018 Author Report Posted April 26, 2018 Nobody left now to accurately tell me when I'm speaking shite regarding music history. RIP min, you'll be a miss. Quote
rocket_scientist Posted April 26, 2018 Report Posted April 26, 2018 You obviously have news that he's passed away. Met him at Pittodrie once. Good cunt. A gentle soul. RIP. Quote
donsdaft Posted April 26, 2018 Author Report Posted April 26, 2018 I only met him twice in the real world. First time was in 6 degrees north. Stooge has issued a "sort of" open invitation to meet up before a game at Pittodrie. Of course I was the only one who turned up and found myself welcome but gatecrashing father and 2 sons in the pub. Feeling slightly awkward and fearing the dreaded silences, I did what I always do on these occasions. Completely dominate the conversation Yes, been there done it twice. What a twat. Second time was for a coffee with Buc in the Spital I recounted my memory of the previous meeting which Phoenixx found hilarious but he had the good grace to say that he hadn't noticed. A mine of information of the music business and a guaranteed balanced but informed view on politics new and old. Aye, he'll be a miss Quote
RicoS321 Posted April 26, 2018 Report Posted April 26, 2018 Shame, seemed like a nice sort. If online discussions are anything to go by. Stooge ina. Quote
Elgindon Posted April 26, 2018 Report Posted April 26, 2018 Sad to hear.Often the voice of reason on Abmad Quote
BigAl Posted April 26, 2018 Report Posted April 26, 2018 Has a text first thing this morning informing me of his passing. Has had a really hard time of it in the lead up to this and now at peace. Had the good fortune to be in Phoenix's company on a few occasions and an absolute gent with many a story to tell. Thoughts as ever with those he leaves behind. RIP Phoenix Quote
InversneckieDob Posted April 26, 2018 Report Posted April 26, 2018 Sad news indeed. Hung out with Pete many times, semi regularly back in the day, but our paths hadn't crossed in a while. Top bloke, chilled, funny, glass-half-full, music freak. I recall many a meeting ended with me leaving with a CD he'd burned, he seemed to carry a stash of such CDs to hand out as he felt appropriate. Original amongst the "hoors and radges" from the days of the auld, official AFC chat. I'm sure he's out there someplace nursing a nice Merlot, musing on the vagaries of it all. Dunno if Stooge looks in here at all but if he is/does, thoughts are with you and yours pal. RIP Pete. Quote
KennyFuckinPowers Posted April 27, 2018 Report Posted April 27, 2018 RIP Phoenixx Never had the pleasure of meeting him personally, but you knew from here and other forums the man was a gentleman and very well liked & thought of everyone the same. Thoughts with his family. Quote
BigAl Posted May 1, 2018 Report Posted May 1, 2018 Banner in remembrance of Pete on Saturday's game and a minutes applause to be held in the 71st minute. Quote
Garlogie_Granite Posted May 3, 2018 Report Posted May 3, 2018 Banner in remembrance of Pete on Saturday's game and a minutes applause to be held in the 71st minute. I'm on record as being against this fad of late for every tom dick or harry that nobody has previously heard of, Phoenixx however is another matter, a guy known not just to his band of real-life pals, but across the Dons social media pages as well. Quote
BigAl Posted May 3, 2018 Report Posted May 3, 2018 I'm on record as being against this fad of late for every tom dick or harry that nobody has previously heard of, Phoenixx however is another matter, a guy known not just to his band of real-life pals, but across the Dons social media pages as well. 100% agree. Quote