thestooge Posted August 2, 2015 Share Posted August 2, 2015 A very pleasing win that as I've been hurting from the 0-3 on opening day last season all year. I think today's result has not only shown how far we've come, in that we could have guys like Jack and McGinn resting following thousands of miles of travel and some very competitive games, but also how far they've fallen. I think they'll struggle to get top six. They still have some quality in the squad but not near enough to replace those that have departed in the last two windows. Same for ICT. I think Dundee and Hearts will be more likely to challenge for third. I don't think Smith grabbed his start with both hands, but neither did he let us down. He showed an ability to change the pace of play and increase the tempo as we transitioned into attack. I still think a loan would be best for him but even now he's got a lot to offer, especially when we've such a congested schedule. Flood was quite fortunate to get motm in my opinion, though he deserved it as much as any other too I guess. Again his inclusion really shows a strength in depth. I like the look of Ward and was really pleased he got the clean sheet. He seems to already be something of a fan favourite. I think he's brilliant at making himself big when under close range threat. He had another great save from a chance in the box today. That said, I do think he looks susceptible to long range efforts. I don't know if it's positional or just being flat footed but he's been beaten by a few speculative drives already and he spilled one today too. I see him as very much a work in progress. He does look like a very solid keeper in the making but he's clearly here for experience and to iron out some of the little glitches in his game. Really hope it goes to plan on Thursday. I just feel we'll need to beat them by two clear goals to progress so I hope Rooney finds a scoring touch. Exciting season ahead, that's for sure. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted August 2, 2015 Share Posted August 2, 2015 A very pleasing win that as I've been hurting from the 0-3 on opening day last season all year. I think today's result has not only shown how far we've come, in that we could have guys like Jack and McGinn resting following thousands of miles of travel and some very competitive games, but also how far they've fallen. I think they'll struggle to get top six. They still have some quality in the squad but not near enough to replace those that have departed in the last two windows. Same for ICT. I think Dundee and Hearts will be more likely to challenge for third. I don't think Smith grabbed his start with both hands, but neither did he let us down. He showed an ability to change the pace of play and increase the tempo as we transitioned into attack. I still think a loan would be best for him but even now he's got a lot to offer, especially when we've such a congested schedule. Flood was quite fortunate to get motm in my opinion, though he deserved it as much as any other too I guess. Again his inclusion really shows a strength in depth. I like the look of Ward and was really pleased he got the clean sheet. He seems to already be something of a fan favourite. I think he's brilliant at making himself big when under close range threat. He had another great save from a chance in the box today. That said, I do think he looks susceptible to long range efforts. I don't know if it's positional or just being flat footed but he's been beaten by a few speculative drives already and he spilled one today too. I see him as very much a work in progress. He does look like a very solid keeper in the making but he's clearly here for experience and to iron out some of the little glitches in his game. Really hope it goes to plan on Thursday. I just feel we'll need to beat them by two clear goals to progress so I hope Rooney finds a scoring touch. Exciting season ahead, that's for sure. Great post, couldn't have put it better myself. Thought Smith grew into the game and was a little unlucky to be taken off when he was, however the introduction of our three subs saw us step up a level. Delighted that McLean is coming good, never any doubt in my mind, and currently top scorer in Scottish football unless I am mistaken. On Ushited, I would honestly say the only player I would possibly take from them would be Soutar, and even then would be buying potential rather than the finished article. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
thestooge Posted August 2, 2015 Author Share Posted August 2, 2015 Aye, they really look to have lost the guys with quality. The new boys are either journeymen or children. Forgot to mention Shinnie above. That in itself shows how quickly he's settled in. He's a seriously good player. Pundits often talk about the value of the consistent 7 out of 10 player. I just get the feeling Shinnie, in both midfield or left back, will be a consistent 8 out of 10 by the end of the season. Tremendous signing. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hilton Posted August 2, 2015 Share Posted August 2, 2015 I thought Smith put great shift in , Mcinnies was well pleased with his performance and I would not put him out on loan as we will not get someone now before end august that is better. great squad player to have. As for game amazing result considering the changes, Taylor and Quinn were solid , Flood run about done some great things but the tempo and style fitba of our game gets slowed right down when he is on the ball. I prefer when he is on the bench. Logan nae his usual energy going up park especially first half which did not help Smith at times . if we played Jack and Mcginn fae the start I reckon game would have been over by half time , jutes are in for long season. Loved the way we shut the game out after we scored , that showed our class. .Great win and on to Thursday . exciting times and loving Mclean get in Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheDeeDon Posted August 2, 2015 Share Posted August 2, 2015 Hoped for a draw today, after the Thursday game I thought we may toil a little, but no, we dug deep and got a win. A superb start and this current squad has the makings of a team which will grind out results when required and will have a bit of nous about them when it comes to the big game. A big pat on the back to our manager who was tactically spot on today and looks to be learning from mistakes made in previous games. Only one game down, but still grounds for a bit of optimism again this season. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...