BigAl Posted February 8, 2008 Report Posted February 8, 2008 You're not wrong. Totally agree, £250k plus the wages down the drain, nae re-sale value Quote
Superstar Tradesman Posted February 8, 2008 Report Posted February 8, 2008 Been looking for a reason to drop him all season. The constant shunning of him and name calling in the papers has probably lead to this. Very playground related stuff. All parties concerned should grow the fuck up and get on with the jobs they are paid to do. Quote
bilbobaggins Posted February 8, 2008 Report Posted February 8, 2008 Been looking for a reason to drop him all season. The constant shunning of him and name calling in the papers has probably lead to this. Very playground related stuff. All parties concerned should grow the fuck up and get on with the jobs they are paid to do. That's the AFC shop window your talking about Quote
El Padre™ Posted February 8, 2008 Report Posted February 8, 2008 Remember this is The Sun. Hardly reliable in any way. Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted February 8, 2008 Report Posted February 8, 2008 About binning him for nothing? I agree completely pending who he replaces Lovell with. About punishing him for having a boot at someone in training, that depends on the circumstances. Bit of both. The circumstances won't ever really be known but if it goes the way described in the "paper" then it is a disgraceful bit of management by Calderwood. Lovell is better than what we can hope to replace him with. I dread to think who WILL replace him. Quote
Remember1983 Posted February 8, 2008 Report Posted February 8, 2008 Hi there first time poster long time lurker.......If what has happened is true then surely Sandy Clark should be on his way out of the dons too not just Stevie Lovell....Another Calderplank masterstroke!!! Quote
Superstar Tradesman Posted February 8, 2008 Report Posted February 8, 2008 Would you expect your boss to walk if you called him a cunt? Quote
El Padre™ Posted February 8, 2008 Report Posted February 8, 2008 Bit of both. The circumstances won't ever really be known but if it goes the way described in the "paper" then it is a disgraceful bit of management by Calderwood. Lovell is better than what we can hope to replace him with. I dread to think who WILL replace him. Theres plenty of lazy non-scoring strikers out there, not a huge problem. Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted February 8, 2008 Report Posted February 8, 2008 Theres plenty of lazy non-scoring strikers out there, not a huge problem. He's my mate though. This is constantly lost in this discussion. Quote
Guest BTR Posted February 8, 2008 Report Posted February 8, 2008 Theres plenty of lazy non-scoring strikers out there, not a huge problem. With a better than 1 in 3 goalscoring ratio (including sub appearances), he's already better than anyone we have. I don't think he's played more than 3 games in succession this season. He was certainly up for it against Falkirk (away), and no less so than any of our other strikers have shown this season. Stuff like this happens in training all the time. It probably should've been kept in house but because it is an out-of-favour striker then all of a sudden he's "played his last game". Just smacks of sensationalism. A good manager would try to take advantage of the fire he's got in him just now and tell him he's got one more chance to save himself. Quote
BigAl Posted February 8, 2008 Report Posted February 8, 2008 He's my mate though. This is constantly lost in this discussion. Ok pretty bored today, so I'll bite.... pray do explain Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted February 8, 2008 Report Posted February 8, 2008 Ok pretty bored today, so I'll bite.... pray do explain Well . . . . . . him and Lee Miller bought me and Glasgowdon drinks and a good time was had by us all, in Dublin. I can confirm that Steve Lovell is a quiet guy. Nice enough but quiet. Quote
El Padre™ Posted February 8, 2008 Report Posted February 8, 2008 With a better than 1 in 3 goalscoring ratio (including sub appearances), he's already better than anyone we have. I don't think he's played more than 3 games in succession this season. He was certainly up for it against Falkirk (away), and no less so than any of our other strikers have shown this season. Stuff like this happens in training all the time. It probably should've been kept in house but because it is an out-of-favour striker then all of a sudden he's "played his last game". Just smacks of sensationalism. A good manager would try to take advantage of the fire he's got in him just now and tell him he's got one more chance to save himself. Since his wee run at the end of his first season he's done nothing at all to convince me he's worthy of playing for a top 6 club, the only player who is less effective over 90 minutes is Maguire, who should never be in a dons top again till he actually learns how to play football. Quote
topcorner Posted February 8, 2008 Report Posted February 8, 2008 the only player who is less effective over 90 minutes is Maguire, who should never be in a dons top again till he actually learns how to play football. oh, but he has "potential"... Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted February 8, 2008 Author Report Posted February 8, 2008 oh, but he has "potential"... ...and a silly haircut. Quote
BigAl Posted February 8, 2008 Report Posted February 8, 2008 Well . . . . . . him and Lee Miller bought me and Glasgowdon drinks and a good time was had by us all, in Dublin. I can confirm that Steve Lovell is a quiet guy. Nice enough but quiet. WTF were they doing in Dublin ? Quote
stubo72 Posted February 8, 2008 Report Posted February 8, 2008 Won't be missed. Jimmy has a whole string of nearly men in his little black book... We will get someone equally as useless in the summer nae probs. On the other hand, if he scores 10 goals between now and then all this will be forgotten and he'll be signed as, 'Just the kind of determined character we are looking for in the squad'... Fitba is a bit like a primary school playground in that respect. Quote
Slim Posted February 8, 2008 Report Posted February 8, 2008 Since his wee run at the end of his first season he's done nothing at all to convince me he's worthy of playing for a top 6 club That's about the only run he's ever been allowed to have though, he hasn't had a run of games in the first team since. I'm convinced that if you were to give Lovell 10 consecutive starts, he'd get 5 goals. Quote
bilbobaggins Posted February 8, 2008 Report Posted February 8, 2008 That's about the only run he's ever been allowed to have though, he hasn't had a run of games in the first team since. I'm convinced that if you were to give Lovell 10 consecutive starts, he'd get 5 goals. ' I'm convinced he'd get 2 goals in 5 games then be "injured" for 6 weeks. Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted February 8, 2008 Author Report Posted February 8, 2008 ' I'm convinced he'd get 2 goals in 5 games then be "injured" for 6 weeks. It'd be 2 more goals than the rest of the useless fuckers would get in those games... and the subsequent 6 weeks. Quote
stonefish100 Posted February 8, 2008 Report Posted February 8, 2008 Problem with Lovell is that his family is rich enough that he doesnt even have to play fitba. He plays for enjoyment and not for the wage. It is going to take a special kind of motivator to get the best out of his undoubted talent. Unfortunatlely, Calderwoods idea of motivation is to endlessly berate a player in the vain hope of getting a positive repsones. Oor Stevie isnt going to react well to this. If JC is staying, the Lovell was always going to leave I'm afraid. Quote
brownie Posted February 8, 2008 Report Posted February 8, 2008 My one hope with the whole scenario is that people realise that all is not well in the Pittodrie dressing room. Its an old boys club at the moment with players being continually selected even if their performances do not merit it. Quote
manc_don Posted February 8, 2008 Report Posted February 8, 2008 My one hope with whole scenario is that people realise that all is not well in the Pittodrie dressing room. Its an old boys club at the moment with players being continually selected even if their performances do not merit it. It is a sad state of affairs. Quote
Guest ally s Posted February 8, 2008 Report Posted February 8, 2008 It's all a bit OTT. Jimmy clearly doesn't rate him anymore so it looks as though he'll be on his way out at the end of the season anyway. I'd expect Lovell (if fit) to be back in the squad on Sunday at the expense of Maguire. Quote