scotfree Posted October 8, 2016 Share Posted October 8, 2016 Welcome to the site, guys. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mondo Posted October 8, 2016 Share Posted October 8, 2016 I only clicked into Mad on rare occasions but even now I don't seem to be having any issues with Adverts. Is my Adblock software really that effective or is it only something that takes hold if you post regularly? At home I am using the lap top through google chrome with adblock and I never have a problem with the adverts. If I am at work and try and look in on AbMad I use my phone which hasn't any adblock software and is indeed a nightmare. It takes ages to load, jumps about all over the place and at the very worst those "you have won an Iphone" intrusive adds pop up and vibrates the phone. Every time you try and close it, it pops up again. Just not worth the hassle. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
OxfordDon Posted October 8, 2016 Share Posted October 8, 2016 I only clicked into Mad on rare occasions but even now I don't seem to be having any issues with Adverts. Is my Adblock software really that effective or is it only something that takes hold if you post regularly? Adblock Plus is indeed effective for 90% of the adverts/banners, but only if it is installed. That raises a few issues. The first is if you are using a machine where you don't have administrative rights to install extensions (eg. work, public terminal, someone else's machine), or a device for which it is not or only partially effective (some phones, tablets), then the ads are a nightmare. Most regular users tend to have installed an adblocker as they know how crap the site is without one. The second problem is not the regulars though, its the first time visitors or occasional browsers who are put off from joining, you can't assume they have all got ABP and so the site gains a poor reputation and atrophies as a result. Thirdly, the basic principle of covering a community fan site in adverts to line one person's pockets is fairly dubious in itself. I doubt anyone would object to sponsorship or donation-based funding to cover a site's costs, but AbMad is clearly out to make money for one individual. Even then that would be fine (in a free market kind of way) if it provided a service above and beyond the "free" options, but it doesn't. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
donsdaft Posted October 8, 2016 Author Share Posted October 8, 2016 Aye, adblock of the laptop and pc at work gets rid of most of them. The ipad is not so bad most of the time because you learn to slalom your war around them, althoughthe jumping around making you click on the wrong thing drives you nuts. The phone however is almost unusable which is useless if you find yourself on your own in a pub etc. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
irnbru1903 Posted October 8, 2016 Share Posted October 8, 2016 I must say it is hard to see abmad dying like it appears to be as it is more a habit of login and straight there to see what news there is but now it is just a few posters trying to keep it alive swimming against the tide. A big shame for no apparent reason other than greed. One huge positive is the excellent welcome we have received on this site which makes it all a lot easier. Thanks guys .... and gals? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
donsdaft Posted October 8, 2016 Author Share Posted October 8, 2016 Yes it is difficult. Some great times on Abmad. I suppose some of the lads just feel the need to be loyal, but loyal to who? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CvB Posted October 8, 2016 Share Posted October 8, 2016 Yes it is difficult. Some great times on Abmad. I suppose some of the lads just feel the need to be loyal, but loyal to who? aye, loyalty is a 2 way thing and with Ed gone then there's mo reason to stick round. Shame, but so be it. when the original afc chat site died then everyone regrouped and life went on. Abmad was great, used to be the place to get your info and gossip and everything else as well. Maybe I just need to get more of a life and do shit instead on sitting in the computer. The death of Abmad will please my boss. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gervaise_Brookhampster Posted October 8, 2016 Share Posted October 8, 2016 Pity we cant get Pacman and Buc and a few of the others that are left to come over and try Donstalk out. Once you jump in and get settled it's as good if not better with none of the drawbacks. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mondo Posted October 8, 2016 Share Posted October 8, 2016 Pity we cant get Pacman and Buc and a few of the others that are left to come over and try Donstalk out. Once you jump in and get settled it's as good if not better with none of the drawbacks. I'll be happy enough if mad keeps on going, it's a descent enough site. Pac has an account here, not sure about buc. Is Kkong on here? He is a walking, breathing statistic machine and is brilliant with all the complicated europa stuff that I don't understand. What about the stooge? His posts were usually bang on the money. We having a Saturday night WYOWYN GB? EDIT: Note to self - check in off-topic for Saturdays WYOWYN before asking for a Saturday WYOWYN Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gervaise_Brookhampster Posted October 8, 2016 Share Posted October 8, 2016 I'll be happy enough if mad keeps on going, it's a descent enough site. Pac has an account here, not sure about buc. Is Kkong on here? He is a walking, breathing statistic machine and is brilliant with all the complicated europa stuff that I don't understand. What about the stooge? His posts were usually bang on the money. We having a Saturday night WYOWYN GB? EDIT: Note to self - check in off-topic for Saturdays WYOWYN before asking for a Saturday WYOWYN Haha I was going to say I think one a day is enough! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted October 8, 2016 Share Posted October 8, 2016 Pity we cant get Pacman and Buc and a few of the others that are left to come over and try Donstalk out. Once you jump in and get settled it's as good if not better with none of the drawbacks. Pleased you're enjoying the site mate Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AberdeenArnold Posted October 9, 2016 Share Posted October 9, 2016 This looks fun again. Aberdeen Mad used to be a brilliant read. I'm hoping for lots of arguments and Wyowyn. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
KennyFuckinPowers Posted October 10, 2016 Share Posted October 10, 2016 This looks fun again. Aberdeen Mad used to be a brilliant read. I'm hoping for lots of arguments and Wyowyn. Fa ye spikkin tae ye cockwomble? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Obanred Posted October 12, 2016 Share Posted October 12, 2016 <<< Another AbMad refugee. Fit like abdy? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elgindon Posted October 12, 2016 Share Posted October 12, 2016 Welcome over min. Maybe need to keep bumping a redirect thread on Mad for folks to know where abdys gone to Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stupie82 Posted October 12, 2016 Share Posted October 12, 2016 <<< Another AbMad refugee. Fit like abdy? <========= Cracking whisky that min!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Obanred Posted October 12, 2016 Share Posted October 12, 2016 Sure is Stupie. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mondo Posted October 12, 2016 Share Posted October 12, 2016 Welcome over min. Maybe need to keep bumping a redirect thread on Mad for folks to know where abdys gone to Did somebody remember to leave a note for Gospel of Thomas? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ten Caat Posted October 12, 2016 Share Posted October 12, 2016 A note for Gospel of Thomas? Attach it to a credit line for Haddows and it might just come off. With his lack of posts in Abmad recently I honestly thought he had been sectioned..... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
OxfordDon Posted October 13, 2016 Share Posted October 13, 2016 Did somebody remember to leave a note for Gospel of Thomas? I thought he'd left one for himself. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted October 17, 2016 Share Posted October 17, 2016 Aww man, wtf the fuck is going on here? Same old faces! Christ. Some real blasts from the past are back. How's the missus? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted October 17, 2016 Share Posted October 17, 2016 Christ. Some real blasts from the past are back. How's the missus? You been creeping round there again Kow Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ewebasher Posted October 20, 2016 Share Posted October 20, 2016 I canna see this , am I going blind? Another regular lurker from Abmad here... I'm obviously as blind as G_B - can't see any Simmies under anyone's' avatars... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stupie82 Posted October 20, 2016 Share Posted October 20, 2016 Another regular lurker from Abmad here... I'm obviously as blind as G_B - can't see any Simmies under anyone's' avatars... They start to appear after a certain amount of posts!! just keep posting and they will eventually come. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ewebasher Posted October 21, 2016 Share Posted October 21, 2016 They start to appear after a certain amount of posts!! just keep posting and they will eventually come. Thanks Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...