MálagaSheep Posted November 8, 2016 Author Share Posted November 8, 2016 Me and the mrs made a tofu satay stir fry tonight. Pretty damn tasty! Trying to cut down the amount of meat we eat (well, just on Mondays) Looks alright that min, only used tofu once and that was to make hot and sour soup, well added it to it Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rocket_scientist Posted November 8, 2016 Share Posted November 8, 2016 I've never eaten Tofu. Inspired by that pic, I just read about Tofu and think I would like it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MálagaSheep Posted November 8, 2016 Author Share Posted November 8, 2016 Yesterdays attempt to keep my visitors happy at supper time Rack of ribs Dry rub and coriander 8hours later Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted November 8, 2016 Share Posted November 8, 2016 Just had my breakfast and after seeing that I'm starving all over again, Málaga! You get differing types of tofu, Rocket. This one was more firm, if you go for the soft one (better for soups) it just crumbles and looks like scrambled eggs. Made that mistake many a time. We added cornflour to the outside of it and fried them in sesame oil. Tasty as! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gervaise_Brookhampster Posted November 8, 2016 Share Posted November 8, 2016 Tofu looked good (for tofu ) but I'd have Malagas Rack of Ribs any day. Good work by both of you though Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted November 8, 2016 Share Posted November 8, 2016 Tofu looked good (for tofu ) but I'd have Malagas Rack of Ribs any day. Good work by both of you though In fairness, so would I I wouldn't have put it up if I knew he was going to trump me like that Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MálagaSheep Posted November 8, 2016 Author Share Posted November 8, 2016 In fairness, so would I I wouldn't have put it up if I knew he was going to trump me like that Sorry min, tinypic is working again! Your dish is the healty option. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted November 8, 2016 Share Posted November 8, 2016 In fairness, so would I I wouldn't have put it up if I knew he was going to trump me like that If I was cooking it I'd go for the tofu personally and I'm nae a vegetarian (on a menu, I'd probably take Malaga's dish). More challenge in making the veg dishes I reckon. Like a bit of tofu masel too, interesting tip on the cornflour, will maybe make some tonight. Good work on the cutting down on meat, I've found it really easy and I've done it for years. Probably have meat once a fortnight, maybe red meat once a month. Makes it taste nicer when you have it, but cooking with just veg and pulses/rice etc gives you a far better understanding of flavours and herbs and spices in my opinion. I think everyone should do it. Or we should start making synthetic meat for those who still wish to partake in daily meat. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Three Crazz Posted November 8, 2016 Share Posted November 8, 2016 Fridge clear out Spanish. Omelette,miss mash Eggs , potatoes, onions, broccoli , leek, pancetta , mushrooms , cream Started off on the hob , finished off in my gob Sometimes the easy stuff can be delishhhhhh Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Three Crazz Posted November 9, 2016 Share Posted November 9, 2016 Slow cooked JD glazed boneless short rib Oh and roasted veg on the side Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elgindon Posted November 9, 2016 Share Posted November 9, 2016 Some affa fine looking dishes . Get a veg box delivered and normally don't have any problems finding recipes for them(ok,soup half the time). Occasionally get a cabbage,a veg i sometimes struggle with,and got one this week.Done a few online recipes eg polish cabbage rolls but a lot of the others a bit drab looking. This thread looks as good as any for a few hints,with or without meat .Would be app'd Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted November 9, 2016 Share Posted November 9, 2016 Some affa fine looking dishes . Get a veg box delivered and normally don't have any problems finding recipes for them(ok,soup half the time). Occasionally get a cabbage,a veg i sometimes struggle with,and got one this week.Done a few online recipes eg polish cabbage rolls but a lot of the others a bit drab looking. This thread looks as good as any for a few hints,with or without meat .Would be app'd I have that very same problem, and have it again today as they've delivered a reed een. The problem with them is that they're fuckin big for a veg that disnae need to be the main part of the dish. I also have cucumber that I dinna ever eat a lot of. I've bought a couple of pickling jars though and I think I might try a bit of fermenting this week. Maybe some kimchi or suauauauuauerkraut. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elgindon Posted November 9, 2016 Share Posted November 9, 2016 Tonight it was sausage tatties and cabbage.Looked good in the pictures Actually it was arite,but rather avoid sausages,and only used quarter a cabbage... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MálagaSheep Posted November 9, 2016 Author Share Posted November 9, 2016 Fish the night In spanish its called Pargo, which i think is red snapper Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Three Crazz Posted November 9, 2016 Share Posted November 9, 2016 How was it Malaga? I like a lot o fish but that reminds me to much of my first Gold fish (won at Cadonas) after my dad retrieved it from the toilet after my younger brother coupt it in there . I prefer my fish filleted Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rocket_scientist Posted November 10, 2016 Share Posted November 10, 2016 Just had my breakfast and after seeing that I'm starving all over again, Málaga! You get differing types of tofu, Rocket. This one was more firm, if you go for the soft one (better for soups) it just crumbles and looks like scrambled eggs. Made that mistake many a time. We added cornflour to the outside of it and fried them in sesame oil. Tasty as! Had Tofu Massaman tonight at Thai Khun, first time ever tried Tofu. We were sharing a couple of amazing starters (that we've had before) so I thought it was a good time to try a non-meat or fish main dish. It didn't really taste of anything. It was perfectly infused with the sauce, like a sponge might be but I'm not sure it's anything more than a tasteless protein substitute? Felt great afterwards and as it's healthy, I would eat it again. But I don't think I eat too much meat. A balance and being moderate and avoiding excess in everything is wise. The only things that are really bad for us is too many carbs and almost any sugar. High fat low carb diets the future. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MálagaSheep Posted November 11, 2016 Author Share Posted November 11, 2016 How was it Malaga? I like a lot o fish but that reminds me to much of my first Gold fish (won at Cadonas) after my dad retrieved it from the toilet after my younger brother coupt it in there . I prefer my fish filleted It was ok min, no as good as the ones they cook on the open fires, and have them covered in salt and garlic! Foods a bad subject the day as i have spent the night on the throne! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted November 11, 2016 Share Posted November 11, 2016 It was ok min, no as good as the ones they cook on the open fires, and have them covered in salt and garlic! Foods a bad subject the day as i have spent the night on the throne! We had something similar in Sarajevo I think it was. Piled high in salt. Tasty as fuck. Had Tofu Massaman tonight at Thai Khun, first time ever tried Tofu. We were sharing a couple of amazing starters (that we've had before) so I thought it was a good time to try a non-meat or fish main dish. It didn't really taste of anything. It was perfectly infused with the sauce, like a sponge might be but I'm not sure it's anything more than a tasteless protein substitute? Felt great afterwards and as it's healthy, I would eat it again. But I don't think I eat too much meat. A balance and being moderate and avoiding excess in everything is wise. The only things that are really bad for us is too many carbs and almost any sugar. High fat low carb diets the future. Glad you tried it, I like it for its texture but you're right, it does add taste to a dish unless you coat it in something which absorbs flavour. I've grown up with it so never found it strange, but I can see why a few folk think so. As I said, there are many forms of it, the ones used in miss soup for example are generally a lot softer. I love it with spring onions, ginger and some soy sauce. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Buc Posted November 11, 2016 Share Posted November 11, 2016 Malaga I can say this you can fair cook .. Not my type of meal of course . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elgindon Posted November 11, 2016 Share Posted November 11, 2016 I have that very same problem, and have it again today as they've delivered a reed een. The problem with them is that they're fuckin big for a veg that disnae need to be the main part of the dish. I also have cucumber that I dinna ever eat a lot of. I've bought a couple of pickling jars though and I think I might try a bit of fermenting this week. Maybe some kimchi or suauauauuauerkraut. Ach well,nae a popular veg it seems.Am going to scoop out the middle of my next one,roast the cabbage,and add something risotto-ish to the middle.Will report back.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
donsdaft Posted November 11, 2016 Share Posted November 11, 2016 "which i think is red snapper" Haven't they got their own supporters club now or something. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Three Crazz Posted November 13, 2016 Share Posted November 13, 2016 Sunday ,this week back on the rock cakes , large eens Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MálagaSheep Posted November 14, 2016 Author Share Posted November 14, 2016 Sunday ,this week back on the rock cakes , large eens Rock cakes, god i haven't had them since i was a bairn, mam used to make them all the time. Loved them fan they were no lang out the oven, Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted November 14, 2016 Share Posted November 14, 2016 Some people have taken to putting chocolate chips in their rock buns in place of the raisin/sultana. Fucking disgusting if you ask me. A sign of societal weakness or some shite. Chocolate in fucking everything. Doesn't even go. Like chocolate cheesecake. For cunts. Love a raisined rock bun like, and those eens look good TC Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted November 14, 2016 Share Posted November 14, 2016 Sunday ,this week back on the rock cakes , large eens Puts me in mind of my youth and my mum's home baking Rock cakes and treacle scones were my favourites but also used to bake a mean "Dundee Cake" Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...