MálagaSheep Posted January 5, 2017 Author Report Posted January 5, 2017 Jist cheddar and mozzarella manc! Quote
manc_don Posted January 5, 2017 Report Posted January 5, 2017 Jist cheddar and mozzarella manc! Ah, the colour of it I thought it was a red Leicester or some fancy Spanish one! Quote
RicoS321 Posted January 5, 2017 Report Posted January 5, 2017 Ah, the colour of it I thought it was a red Leicester or some fancy Spanish one! I think it was a Leithethter rojo. I made chips, cheese and curry sauce/gravy for tea tonight. Sublime. Best meal of the year. Quote
Tyrant Posted January 6, 2017 Report Posted January 6, 2017 Currently enjoying some slow cooked tatties and beef that cooked overnight. I definitely prefer cheaper cuts cooked for longer than more expensive cuts cooked quickly. Quote
Tyrant Posted January 6, 2017 Report Posted January 6, 2017 Cheaper cuts of tatties? When it comes to tatties only Russets will do. They can withstand 12 hours in a slow cooker and retain their texture and shape. Others will turn to mush. Quote
Three Crazz Posted January 6, 2017 Report Posted January 6, 2017 Homemade fish pie , haddock, salmon , mashed tatties, topped with cheddar in oven for 35 min Quote
mondo Posted January 6, 2017 Report Posted January 6, 2017 Homemade fish pie , haddock, salmon , mashed tatties, topped with cheddar in oven for 35 min Funcy fork. Hope you caught the fish yourself? I've only ever managed 1 decent dish and it was fish pie with fresh cod and ling that I had caught on the boat out from macduff. Fit fine it was Quote
Three Crazz Posted January 8, 2017 Report Posted January 8, 2017 Tonight , pork loin , (pork fillet) apple , cinnamon , cover in honey. & onion, Slow cook in oven for 5 hr,s 120 fan oven Keep it simple cheese mash and peas n carrots Oh and a couple of glasses of Pinot Quote
RicoS321 Posted January 8, 2017 Report Posted January 8, 2017 Slow cooking a loin is controversial. How did it turn out? Quote
Three Crazz Posted January 8, 2017 Report Posted January 8, 2017 Slow cooking a loin is controversial. How did it turn out? Correct come out ok , next time in slow cooker as opposed to oven which dried it out a bit even adding liquid every 20 min Quote
MálagaSheep Posted January 14, 2017 Author Report Posted January 14, 2017 Back on the bbq, Pork loin, marinaded in soy sauce, honey and ginger, and a lemon one paprika chicken breast. Some grilled asparagus Quote
Three Crazz Posted January 18, 2017 Report Posted January 18, 2017 Simplicity itself , braised sausages, ingings in gravy on cheesy mash K Quote
Gervaise_Brookhampster Posted January 18, 2017 Report Posted January 18, 2017 Looks good Crazz, real comfort food. Quote
manc_don Posted January 18, 2017 Report Posted January 18, 2017 Oh man crazz, that looks delicious! On the bus home from work, haven't eaten yet, that's not helping! Quote
donsdaft Posted January 19, 2017 Report Posted January 19, 2017 I'm sure I'll be in a minority of one here but that's got me cowking. My old man worked for Herds the butcher when I was a kid, he was allowed to take home sausages. I didn't mind the rest of the week but stewed sausages were Wednesday dennertime. Just chappit tatties then pudding for me that day Quote
Three Crazz Posted January 20, 2017 Report Posted January 20, 2017 Voodoo, to all you bastards who dislike my cooking Quote
MálagaSheep Posted January 21, 2017 Author Report Posted January 21, 2017 I could go some o that bangers and mash just noo min crazz Quote
Tyrant Posted January 23, 2017 Report Posted January 23, 2017 Onions.. a food that I wish I liked (because they're in just about everything) but I don't think I ever will! Quote
BigAl Posted January 23, 2017 Report Posted January 23, 2017 Onions.. a food that I wish I liked (because they're in just about everything) but I don't think I ever will! Keep the faith min. They're one of these things that I never really liked until I was in my thirties Quote
RicoS321 Posted January 23, 2017 Report Posted January 23, 2017 Onions.. a food that I wish I liked (because they're in just about everything) but I don't think I ever will! Onions are fucking magic. Try whacking them in a soup and cook them less and less each time (feel free to blend the soup). That'll wean you onto them. It's mushrooms for me. I always try and like them, and I'll eat them if there on my plate (as I've never not finished a meal in living memory), but I just think they're cunts. Quote
manc_don Posted January 23, 2017 Report Posted January 23, 2017 Onions are fucking magic. Try whacking them in a soup and cook them less and less each time (feel free to blend the soup). That'll wean you onto them. It's mushrooms for me. I always try and like them, and I'll eat them if there on my plate (as I've never not finished a meal in living memory), but I just think they're cunts. Tomatoes or dried fruit. Especially raisins, the root of all evil! Occasionally disguised in such kindness as chocolate Quote
RicoS321 Posted January 23, 2017 Report Posted January 23, 2017 Tomatoes or dried fruit. Especially raisins, the root of all evil! Occasionally disguised in such kindness as chocolate I'm the opposite. See if some fucker puts chocolate in my fruit scone or rock cake, they get a punch in the dick. As an aside, I ken it wasn't the point you were making, but the whole chocolate thing has got out of hand these days. Chocolate on athin, it's rank. Chocolate is unacceptable on the following, it just doesn't go: The above scone or rock cake flapjacks cheesecake Thon yoghurt bar things Any form of energy bar thing Any fruit (apart from maybe cherries, which I don't like anyway) Quote
Elgindon Posted January 23, 2017 Report Posted January 23, 2017 Onions are fucking magic. Try whacking them in a soup and cook them less and less each time (feel free to blend the soup). That'll wean you onto them. It's mushrooms for me. I always try and like them, and I'll eat them if there on my plate (as I've never not finished a meal in living memory), but I just think they're cunts. Similar to Al,lots of veg I couldna look at for years.Very few i dont like these days. Re - veg delivery cabbages - scooped the core out of a cabbage,and tried a couple of fillings.Not bad,as long as you dont over cook the cabbage.Comes off in clumps when you start to cut it if too soft. Also tried making a soup with a red cabbage.Had it 2 days in a row.A weird purple colour the first day,turned blue the next This is about the best recipe Ive found so far http://allrecipes.com/recipe/234975/golabki-stuffed-cabbage-rolls/ Quote
RicoS321 Posted January 23, 2017 Report Posted January 23, 2017 This is about the best recipe Ive found so far http://allrecipes.com/recipe/234975/golabki-stuffed-cabbage-rolls/ Thon looks fine like. Would have to replace the beef with something different for the wife like. Perhaps Turkey or some such. Or nuts. Quote