Tyrant Posted January 27, 2017 Report Posted January 27, 2017 Onions are fucking magic. Try whacking them in a soup and cook them less and less each time (feel free to blend the soup). That'll wean you onto them. It's mushrooms for me. I always try and like them, and I'll eat them if there on my plate (as I've never not finished a meal in living memory), but I just think they're cunts. I have no problem with onions in a blended soup (although I still prefer not to know they're there). Mushrooms were a food that I disliked but I really like them now. Love them sauteed or grilled. More or less in any form. Cheers for the vote of confidence, Al. But I'm a couple of years into my 30s now and still no real progress on the onion front! I love tomatoes in an Italian sauce or a pizza sauce. But not in their natural from or in ketchup. Gads. Quote
OxfordDon Posted January 27, 2017 Report Posted January 27, 2017 I have no problem with onions in a blended soup (although I still prefer not to know they're there). Mushrooms were a food that I disliked but I really like them now. Love them sauteed or grilled. More or less in any form. Cheers for the vote of confidence, Al. But I'm a couple of years into my 30s now and still no real progress on the onion front! I love tomatoes in an Italian sauce or a pizza sauce. But not in their natural from or in ketchup. Gads. Red onions caramelised in coriander and balsamic vinegar, immense. Roast them in chunks in the oven for 30 minutes with fennel bulbs, ground coriander seeds, balsamic and some olive oil, caramelise some sugar in a frying pan, dump the onion/fennel in the sugar, chuck in a ton of grana padano or parmesan cheese, stuck some puff pastry on top, give it another 20 minutes in the oven, and it will turn into this: Tarte tatin, mitherfecker. Quote
MálagaSheep Posted January 27, 2017 Author Report Posted January 27, 2017 That looks good min Oxford, u make that? Hamemade steak pie the night, ( sorry no photos) Quote
OxfordDon Posted January 27, 2017 Report Posted January 27, 2017 Ach no, that was a quick pic nabbed from the BBC Food site for illustration. Mine looks much better Quote
manc_don Posted January 28, 2017 Report Posted January 28, 2017 Ach no, that was a quick pic nabbed from the BBC Food site for illustration. Mine looks much better Was gonna say, someone's upped the ante on this site! Quote
Elgindon Posted January 28, 2017 Report Posted January 28, 2017 Changed the veg box* this week,and made a surprisingly nice Celeriac,Squash and fennel soup with what they supplied. *They still managed to chuck in a cabbage though Quote
manc_don Posted January 28, 2017 Report Posted January 28, 2017 Changed the veg box* this week,and made a surprisingly nice Celeriac,Squash and fennel soup with what they supplied. *They still managed to chuck in a cabbage though Cabbage is brilliant, so diverse! Stir fry, Okonomiyaki, Bubble and squeak to name but a few dishes! Unless you're complaining as it is a fruit, which I think you may be* *allegedly Quote
Elgindon Posted January 28, 2017 Report Posted January 28, 2017 Like cabbage too,I'm never sure what to do with it,because of the quantity.Polish golubka? is about the best recipe Ive found but theres usually enough cabbage for almost a weeks worth(and possibly another to deal with in the next delivery) Quote
manc_don Posted January 28, 2017 Report Posted January 28, 2017 I'd recommend Okonomiyaki if you haven't had it. Very easy to make and you put whatever you want into it, although you will need some additional sauces to make it. You do use plenty of it, I get your pain anyway! Quote
Elgindon Posted January 28, 2017 Report Posted January 28, 2017 Cheers,will look that one up,and bubble and squeak Quote
BigAl Posted January 28, 2017 Report Posted January 28, 2017 Cabbage, like onions is a food that I never liked until my early thirties. Absolutely love it now though Quote
OxfordDon Posted January 28, 2017 Report Posted January 28, 2017 I'm affy suspicious of cabbage. Broccoli and cauliflower dinnae get much love fae me either. Quote
OxfordDon Posted January 28, 2017 Report Posted January 28, 2017 Was gonna say, someone's upped the ante on this site! I'll stick a photie up next time i make it Quote
donsdaft Posted January 28, 2017 Report Posted January 28, 2017 Thai curry night tonight. About 15 mins prep and that's it done. Off the beer though so a couple of pints of diluting orange and fizzy water will have to fit the bill. Quote
Three Crazz Posted February 3, 2017 Report Posted February 3, 2017 Honey roast Salmon , rice, and beans , so it's almost finished but it was good ,, honest Quote
rocket_scientist Posted February 3, 2017 Report Posted February 3, 2017 Honey roast Salmon , rice, and beans , so it's almost finished but it was good ,, honest The visual is important. Don't underestimate that. Yours looks like sick on a plate. Quote
Elgindon Posted February 3, 2017 Report Posted February 3, 2017 Haha. Not long in the door,and just downed some home made polish golubka(cabbage rolls).Wasna pretty,but it was tasty Quote
Three Crazz Posted February 3, 2017 Report Posted February 3, 2017 Rocket is that better un eaten?? I bet not , still jubley Cheers Quote
MálagaSheep Posted February 4, 2017 Author Report Posted February 4, 2017 Cheap Spanish steak, wild mushrooms, Spanish peppers and hand picked asparagus. White wine Quote
Three Crazz Posted February 4, 2017 Report Posted February 4, 2017 Adds up to about 10 grams of Carbs the lot I'm in :thumbsup: Quote
donsdaft Posted February 4, 2017 Report Posted February 4, 2017 You picking asparagus already Malaga min? Quote
donsdaft Posted February 4, 2017 Report Posted February 4, 2017 Home made curry tonight was a masterpiece. My pakora was pretty good too. Modesty is my best feature Quote
MálagaSheep Posted February 4, 2017 Author Report Posted February 4, 2017 You picking asparagus already Malaga min? The wife picked it, with all the wet weather we have had its growing like wildfire in the campo just now! Thought u were getting a takeaway from the Indian on john street min? Quote
donsdaft Posted February 4, 2017 Report Posted February 4, 2017 No no, I went to the asian shop on John Street for some ginger and coriander. Quote
donsdaft Posted February 4, 2017 Report Posted February 4, 2017 Difficult to beat the first asparagus of the season though. Bloody early, I'm jealous. Mind you, you'll have stinky pish Quote