1903_Redz Posted October 14, 2016 Share Posted October 14, 2016 As the title says, anyone got any weird superstitions or even just long held customs they have to do before attending the fitba? Me, i like to put a coupon on for the weekend but i will never ever pick the Dons, i'm sure to jinx them if i do. Another thing i make a habit of doing is to take a screen grab of the Dons line up when announced at 2pm and share it among my group of mates on whatsapp, that's my job, naeb'dy elses. Also used to have 'unlucky trainers' which were never worn on match days once i sussed them out! Canna just be me surely? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
cupidstunt Posted October 14, 2016 Share Posted October 14, 2016 Not so much customs but a very set routine. Meet mates at 12 Move pubs at 1.30 Arrive at Pittodrie at 2.45 A steak pie and Bovril before getting to seat I used to have a 'lucky top' but then we put McGhee in charge, that put the end to that. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted October 14, 2016 Share Posted October 14, 2016 Used to have a pair of red asics and Adidas top which were lucky for a while. Then went to ibrox and we lost so that was that. I know chimp had a lucky hat that worked for a while too! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted October 14, 2016 Share Posted October 14, 2016 Was certain we'd done this sometime in the past. Quick search threw up this thread. http://www.donstalk.co.uk/index.php/topic,3287.20.html Worth a look, if only for Nespa's avatar Christ there was some number of one time regulars on there that no longer are around here. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sheepcrooky Posted October 14, 2016 Share Posted October 14, 2016 Cup of tea or coffee from my AFC mug on game day is essential. Don't know why. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stupie82 Posted October 14, 2016 Share Posted October 14, 2016 I only have superstitions on cup days. I have about 10 Aberdeen scarves, but I wear my traditional red and white striped one on cup days and any semi or cup final, I where my Dr Seuss looking top hat. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted October 14, 2016 Share Posted October 14, 2016 I wear red socks and shave my pubics. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HyndlandRed Posted October 14, 2016 Share Posted October 14, 2016 Went through a phase where every time I bought a scarf outside whatever stadium we were playing at, we'd get pumped, I just walk on by now, even if it's blowing a gale. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted October 15, 2016 Share Posted October 15, 2016 Went through a phase where every time I bought a scarf outside whatever stadium we were playing at, we'd get pumped, I just walk on by now, even if it's blowing a gale. Looks like "Super Ally" is having a heart attack in your avatar Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted October 15, 2016 Share Posted October 15, 2016 Looks like "Super Ally" is having a heart attack in your avatar We live in hope Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted October 15, 2016 Share Posted October 15, 2016 We live in hope Get your drift and if only for his attack on Theo I would agree., however The Sevco boys would probably celebrate it so for that reason only I hope he is ok and still getting sloppy seconds from Sue Barker Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheDeeDon Posted October 15, 2016 Share Posted October 15, 2016 Too many to mention, but the latest one is buy ehe young one a badge before the game. He has five now and we are unbeaten and will get one at the next game as well. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flyfishing Posted October 16, 2016 Share Posted October 16, 2016 I never shave on the morning of a match. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ewebasher Posted October 17, 2016 Share Posted October 17, 2016 Latest one which I am going to start using for big games on a regular basis is to ensure my 13 year old daughter leaves the house in a stinking bad mood. Happened twice so far - Dons 2 Celtic 1 (Quinn 90th minute winner) and Dons 2 The Rangers 1 (thanks Maddison). Only problem is the length of the journey to the semi-final - don't fancy putting up with her on the train (easier to ignore the mood when walking) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
simarooskimoose Posted October 17, 2016 Share Posted October 17, 2016 Was it last year when that International Sausage stand appeared up the back of the Souther, or the year before? Whenever it was, I got one the first game I went to. It wasn't that good, but we won. So I had to get one the next time, and we won again. Repeat for a few weeks. Eventually I thought, this is daft, I don't even like these sausages. So I didn't bother. That week we went behind to Dundee and only secured a draw thanks to a last second Jack goal (I think). That sealed it. I had to get one of those bloody sausages every week. And every week my folks would joke about it being the same one I'd got the week before. Worked, though. I don't know if anyone was quite as happy as me when International Sausage disappeared. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elgindon Posted October 17, 2016 Share Posted October 17, 2016 Only go to home games after 5 wins on the trot. Other than that,none Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ritchie Posted October 21, 2016 Share Posted October 21, 2016 I used to have so many of these growing up through the late 90's right through till calderwood From changing socks, drawers, jackets, Scarfs, badges, breakfast, mornig routine, coupins, walkin route to bus, seat n i bus, aisle,window, who with, what was said, spoke about, programmes bought, pre-match routine, drink, food, you name it, i prob thot it n tried it! finally grew up n realised none of it was my fault! We were jist shite! Now in a slightly (un)supersticiously way i do my damnest to nae start any supersticions cause fan i do, we get beat..... And i blame masel.......again! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...