manc_don Posted October 29, 2016 Share Posted October 29, 2016 Made some incredible saves so far, what a keeper. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheDeeDon Posted October 29, 2016 Share Posted October 29, 2016 WOuld have been a hammering today if not for some superb goal keeping from Lewis this afternoon. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
A llad insane Posted October 29, 2016 Share Posted October 29, 2016 Class act, can see this fella becoming a real fans favourite. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted October 29, 2016 Share Posted October 29, 2016 Class act, can see this fella becoming a real fans favourite. Agreed, see my comments in match thread Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted December 31, 2016 Share Posted December 31, 2016 Last night, imo, he showed what we've been missing for decades, in particular at tynecastle. Coming out for balls that previous keepers would have been too scared or incompetent to collect, and most importantly, winning them. That save from the farts guy, at the near post yes, but he needed to get down quick and boy did he. What a guy. Deservedly getting his name sung, extend his deal! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edinburghdon Posted December 31, 2016 Share Posted December 31, 2016 Last night, imo, he showed what we've been missing for decades, in particular at tynecastle. Coming out for balls that previous keepers would have been too scared or incompetent to collect, and most importantly, winning them. That save from the farts guy, at the near post yes, but he needed to get down quick and boy did he. What a guy. Deservedly getting his name sung, extend his deal! That save at the end was far from straightforward too, came trough a crowd and he did well to spot it and get down early... sign him up. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted December 31, 2016 Share Posted December 31, 2016 Aye, he's fucking ace. Not quite sure how we've got him. Best keeper in the league in my opinion. That free kick in the first half by Walker (I think) was straight at him, but it was similar to the pish that Scott Brown spilled last year in the equivalent fixture. Alexander is actually a better keeper than we've had in a decade too, I feel a bit sorry for him sitting on the bench. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheDeeDon Posted December 31, 2016 Share Posted December 31, 2016 I cannot believe we picked him up on a free. Really rate the guy as a goalie and seems to be a decent guy also and as posted above it is reassuring having him between the sticks after some of the outright garbage we have had in that position over the years. Our previous custodian, Scott Brown left us and went to Wycombe Wanderers and is now currently on loan at Eastleigh. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
flooter Posted January 1, 2017 Share Posted January 1, 2017 Him and O'Connor have both been great finds this season, Most consistent keeper in the league this season. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted January 5, 2017 Share Posted January 5, 2017 http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/aberdeen-goalkeeper-joe-lewis-praises-9564692 Apologies for the source lads This is a deal that appears to have worked for both parties. Time to get a sneaky wee contract extension on the table for him Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Reidzer 1314 Posted January 5, 2017 Share Posted January 5, 2017 I agree, I would love to see Joe Tied up on a long term deal. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted January 5, 2017 Share Posted January 5, 2017 http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/aberdeen-goalkeeper-joe-lewis-praises-9564692 Apologies for the source lads This is a deal that appears to have worked for both parties. Time to get a sneaky wee contract extension on the table for him As I said after the hearts game, get him tied up asap. We've waited so long for a decent one, I want him to stay as long as possible! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyrant Posted January 5, 2017 Share Posted January 5, 2017 I like him but I don't think I like him as much as the rest of you seem to. I still think Ward was the better of the pair but I do agree he's substantially better than anything we had for the decade prior to Ward. I'd be very happy for him to sign a contract extension. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
LA-Don Posted February 11, 2017 Share Posted February 11, 2017 Well, based on the season to date I'd say Lewis should be the next one after Hayes and Shinnie to have his contract extended. Have to think he'd be happy to do so and show some gratitude to the dons for helping revive his career. Worth doing now before the attention to him increases and championship clubs come sniffing. Given the keepers we've had definitely worth the club investing. Best in Scotland in my biased eyes. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheDeeDon Posted February 11, 2017 Share Posted February 11, 2017 I think he is a class act and will be very surprised if no bids for him in the summer. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted February 11, 2017 Share Posted February 11, 2017 Said the same in the chat, need to sign him up! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
A llad insane Posted February 11, 2017 Share Posted February 11, 2017 The last proper keeper we had, who wasn't a loanee was Kjaerr, get Joe signed on a longer deal , no brainer Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted February 28, 2017 Share Posted February 28, 2017 http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/aberdeen/goalkeeper-joe-lewis-keen-to-extend-stay-at-aberdeen-1-4378309 Looks like both parties up for this. Let's get it done with minimum of fuss please. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted February 28, 2017 Share Posted February 28, 2017 As I've said many a time, I really wanted him to get a new deal, fantastic news that this could happen. Thoroughly deserves it. As you say, heres hoping achieved with minimum fuss Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elgindon Posted February 28, 2017 Share Posted February 28, 2017 Great to hear,did well to find him in the first place.Keeps us a good core for the next couple of years. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stewart Posted February 28, 2017 Share Posted February 28, 2017 Said a few times to mates that I thought he'd be one who might show some loyalty as we do seem have pretty saved his career. Really hope he's here for years to come. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
1903_Redz Posted February 28, 2017 Share Posted February 28, 2017 Great news! I know it goes without saying (i'm going to say it anyway) but a good keeper is so vital to a good team. If they defence don't have trust in the keeper it really unsettles them and restricts them from venturing up field which in turn hampers the attacking side of them team. Get that contract signed Joe! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Reidzer 1314 Posted June 26, 2017 Share Posted June 26, 2017 Joe has signed a new deal. Will remain at Aberdeen until 2020. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted June 26, 2017 Share Posted June 26, 2017 Joe has signed a new deal. Will remain at Aberdeen until 2020. Just seen that, excellent news Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ten Caat Posted June 26, 2017 Share Posted June 26, 2017 Fantastic news Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...