TheChimp Posted February 12, 2008 Report Posted February 12, 2008 .....photos from the Bayern game 25 years ago. http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/scotland/7239716.stm Quote
Aberdeen_Ladette Posted February 13, 2008 Report Posted February 13, 2008 worryingly like this pic , u been on the skittle mizer Hewitt scores! When men were men and wore short shorts! Quote
Superstar Tradesman Posted February 13, 2008 Report Posted February 13, 2008 Hewitt was just a lad (a tiny wee lad) and his thighs still look about the same size as Maguire/Zander/Aloko/Miller's waist. Quote
Dons_1903 Posted February 13, 2008 Report Posted February 13, 2008 Some awesome photos on there Just wish i was old enough to have lived during that Quote
Guest fatshaft Posted February 13, 2008 Report Posted February 13, 2008 Look at this pic, and compare the quality with what we have now. Very very sad. Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted February 13, 2008 Report Posted February 13, 2008 Look at this pic, and compare the quality with what we have now. Very very sad. True, that strip is a classic. Quote
Dons_1903 Posted February 13, 2008 Report Posted February 13, 2008 Look at this pic, and compare the quality with what we have now. Very very sad. It's depressing, isn't it. We had some team back then. Remarkable, really. But to be honest, we should just be glad that we actually have had a team like that... Something which many teams these days can never lay claim to. Quote
CtS Posted February 13, 2008 Report Posted February 13, 2008 Jesus, you wouldn't fuck with those boys eh? Rougvie and Leighton are toothless, their performances however, were not. We had it all back then, hard men, hard runners, bags of skill, lethal finishers, and an unbelievable will to win. Happy days. Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted February 13, 2008 Report Posted February 13, 2008 Jesus, you wouldn't fuck with those boys eh? We don't have that at all. Our biggest problem in my humble opinion. Quote
CtS Posted February 13, 2008 Report Posted February 13, 2008 How did teams get through a whole season using so few players back then? I know Kennedy got injured that season, but most those boys were almost ever-present. Are players just a bunch of fanny's these days? Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted February 13, 2008 Report Posted February 13, 2008 How did teams get through a whole season using so few players back then? I know Kennedy got injured that season, but most those boys were almost ever-present. Are players just a bunch of fanny's these days? I think there's a bit of that but there is also more physio/medical attention which seems to have contributed to longer careers. These dudes played thru pain a lot of the time but todays advice is absolutely not to do that. Quote
CtS Posted February 13, 2008 Report Posted February 13, 2008 Well these pictures have warmed me up nicely for tomorrow, I've got that pre-match tingling feeling now. Bring it on. The outrageous optimism starts here. I fancy a battling nil nil draw. Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted February 13, 2008 Report Posted February 13, 2008 Well these pictures have warmed me up nicely for tomorrow, I've got that pre-match tingling feeling now. Bring it on. The outrageous optimism starts here. I fancy a battling nil nil draw. It's pish isn't it, outrageous optimism extends as far as a scud all draw. True though it is and probably was even before our recent doings, it's pish. Quote
manc_don Posted February 13, 2008 Report Posted February 13, 2008 I'd take that anyday against Bayern. At least it means the boys have something to play for in Munich. Though the likelihood of that happening are slim to none. Quote
Stewart Posted February 13, 2008 Report Posted February 13, 2008 I think we're going to take the lead. Quote
Guest BTR Posted February 13, 2008 Report Posted February 13, 2008 .....photos from the Bayern game 25 years ago. http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/scotland/7239716.stm PITTODRIE GOES BERSERK! Oh for Jock Brown's dulcet tones. Guess what video is going on tonight!!! Quote
Guest BTR Posted February 13, 2008 Report Posted February 13, 2008 Schindler's Fist? I'm not into camp movies. Quote
SS RED Posted February 13, 2008 Report Posted February 13, 2008 Might go and watch Team of the Decade myself. Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted February 13, 2008 Report Posted February 13, 2008 I'm not into camp movies. OK, Raiders of the Lost Arse. Quote
Ajja Posted February 13, 2008 Report Posted February 13, 2008 It's pish isn't it, outrageous optimism extends as far as a scud all draw. True though it is and probably was even before our recent doings, it's pish. When we played Bayern in '83 I would suspect that most Dons fans were saying exactly the same thing, not much has really changed. I also don't think that there was a huge gulf in skill level between that side and our current one. There was however a chasm in terms of grit, determination, belief and a will to win at all costs. That is the glaring miss from the glory days of 1983. Quote
Madbadteacher Posted February 13, 2008 Report Posted February 13, 2008 Having just seen John Hewit's winner from 83 a shiver just went up my spine. I believe we're gonna win! Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted February 13, 2008 Report Posted February 13, 2008 When we played Bayern in '83 I would suspect that most Dons fans were saying exactly the same thing, not much has really changed. I also don't think that there was a huge gulf in skill level between that side and our current one. There was however a chasm in terms of grit, determination, belief and a will to win at all costs. That is the glaring miss from the glory days of 1983. Can't agree at all with that Ajja. Our centre half and captain probably had more skill in him than our "creative" players now. And that's not to mention the difference in skill between Weir, Strachan, McGhee, Black and Hewitt and our wide players and forwards now. I think it's fair to say that perhaps at that time our team was not necessarily renowned for it's skill outwith Strachan, Weir and Bell, and that it was perhaps more recognised for it's grit, determination etc as you say, but to be honest, their skill levels were still vastly superior to the guys nowadays. Quote
Millers Tache Posted February 13, 2008 Report Posted February 13, 2008 Thought this thread was going to be highlighting the quite brilliant program clash in the BBC1 regional programming. On BBC1 Scotland just now, we have Panathinaikos against the odious Huns. On BBC1 England, they're getting a program called Attila The Hun. Quote