KennyFuckinPowers Posted October 16, 2016 Report Posted October 16, 2016 First Topic, so be gentle Don't think we have absolutely any chance of keeping Maddison beyond his initial loan agreement of up until January, so got me wondering, do we dip again in to the loan market, or do we just do like for like with Pawlett coming in, or McLean moving back up when Jack is fully fit? I'm sure I am not alone in noticing some of our goals of late have involved some really nice build up play, one-two passes etc... and it all goes through Maddison, he will be a great player and probably end up in the Premier League, whether with Norwich or some other club comes calling. He's definitley given everyone around him a lift, as everyone is playing very well at the moment. Basically, do we go with Pawlett or McLean when he inevitably leaves, or do we try and find another of his ability? Quote
CarlukeRed69 Posted October 16, 2016 Report Posted October 16, 2016 Maddison's not even close to being third or fourth choice at Norwich so we should be doing everything we can to extend his loan. Neither Pawlett or McLean are capable of playing his role anywhere near as effectively so we either look for a replacement or go back to playing everything out wide again. Looking for a replacement could end up with another Monakana type signing which would be unthinkable! Quote
KennyFuckinPowers Posted October 16, 2016 Author Report Posted October 16, 2016 I disagree regarding his standing at Norwich, yes they loaned us to him, but in this short time, he's already shown he's capable of playing for them, I think, I could be wrong, but I think, he played 90 minutes when they beat Coventry 6-1, and he'd be competing with Wes Hoolahan & Steven Naismith. I honestly believe he'll go back in January and immediately be involved in their match-day squad, where he starts though, is obviously debatable, on the pitch or on the bench. Quote
CarlukeRed69 Posted October 16, 2016 Report Posted October 16, 2016 I disagree regarding his standing at Norwich, yes they loaned us to him, but in this short time, he's already shown he's capable of playing for them, I think, I could be wrong, but I think, he played 90 minutes when they beat Coventry 6-1, and he'd be competing with Wes Hoolahan & Steven Naismith. I honestly believe he'll go back in January and immediately be involved in their match-day squad, where he starts though, is obviously debatable, on the pitch or on the bench. Fairy nuff, I just think he's there for us if we push it. The Bythemin team had an interview with a Coventry fan who explained a bit more about him and he seemed to lose interest in Coventry after Norwich signed him and loaned him back, so much so he was booed by the Coventry fans during the game he played against them for Norwich, but apart from that he hadn't made an impact at Norwich. Quote
Elgindon Posted October 16, 2016 Report Posted October 16, 2016 whether he stays or goes,I hope the players have taken on board his attitude,confidence and creativity which was a big part of our problem before he arrived,ie heads going down,running out of ideas after 40 mins Kenny seems to be coming onto a game,hopefully coinciding with a potential Maddison departure in Jan,though Id allow reasonable hope of keeping him on longer Quote
tlg1903 Posted October 16, 2016 Report Posted October 16, 2016 I suspect Maddison himself would probably like to see out the season with us and I'm hoping that might swing it in our favour. Time will tell on this one but let's hope Hoolahan and Naismith don't get injured. Quote
cupidstunt Posted October 16, 2016 Report Posted October 16, 2016 I don't think we can rely on him being here after January. I base that on Norwich City's initial reluctance to send him out on loan and his interview after the hun game where he was asked directly if he would consider staying and completely dodged the question. He's here to prove a point to Alex Neil I think and if he carries on playing the way he is then he'll have more than proved that point. However, if we are battling for the league at Christmas and Norwich are still top of the Championship that might change. Neil may see leaving him with us as a better option than disrupting a winning formula which would see him on the bench at best and Maddison may see battling for the SPL trophy, the League Cup and going on to have a go at the Scottish Cup as a good opportunity to win some medals. I'd say its 70/30 him going back at the end of his current loan. We have to be looking for someone to fill his shoes now which isn't going to be easy to find. We're not going to find another player with his vision and touch but we can look for someone to fill that hole behind the striker. Its more likely to be another loan signing so we don't have to spend money in January and then a free in July once we release a couple of players. Who, no idea. But then thats what McInnes is paid for Quote
A llad insane Posted October 16, 2016 Report Posted October 16, 2016 Aye, hopefully Alex Neil does us a big favour & allows him to stay till season end, the longer he is here the more beneficial it will be for bringing the best out of others. The young lad is different class. Quote
KincorthDon Posted October 18, 2016 Report Posted October 18, 2016 First post on Donstalk, long time lurker on mad with only a few posts on there. Don't think we will be able to keep Madison beyond January, but I hope Derek is getting him to work with Scott Wright. Remember watching Wright against Brighton in clangers testimonial playing behind main striker and he caused havoc. He has fast feet, loves to be on the ball. Key thing for me would be decision making, when to run with it or when to pass. Dropping off and finding space when not on the ball can be coached also. The last few games when he has had a sniff he has played out wide, which may end up being his position, but feel he is too easily brushed off the ball. We have Hayes, McGinn, Burns, Storey that will all play out wide before Wright, just think he may provide a different option through the middle once Madison's loan spell ends. Quote
DollyLongstaffe Posted October 18, 2016 Report Posted October 18, 2016 When Maddison's loan finishes - and I think it's far more likely to be January than later, although one can hope and pray - I will probably go and find a dark corner and weep. He is a reminder of how the Aberdeen sides I watched as a kid played the game - before the kind of player who was good enough to unlock defences through the middle using ball skills and intelligence started to command the kind of wages we couldn't even look at. He's turned a team that wasn't very hard to defend against - cut off the supply to Hayes and McGinn, if they do get the ball minimise their chances of getting in a decent cross and keep tight on Rooney - into a nightmare for defenders, because there's now even more threat through the middle than down the flanks. He can create from nothing and sucks defenders away from the guys they usually try to double up on. He's also a reminder, in the current era's obsession with coaching and fitness, that there's no substitute for inborn talent. You can't coach what Maddison has, and sadly the hopes that I've seen expressed that his magic will somehow have rubbed off on players already at the club by the time he goes seem wildly optimistic. Quote
neilthedon Posted October 18, 2016 Report Posted October 18, 2016 I would think that McGinn could play in the " Maddison" role ? Stick someone else out on the wing . ( No !! Not Rooney Deek !!! ) Quote
KincorthDon Posted October 18, 2016 Report Posted October 18, 2016 When Maddison's loan finishes - and I think it's far more likely to be January than later, although one can hope and pray - I will probably go and find a dark corner and weep. He is a reminder of how the Aberdeen sides I watched as a kid played the game - before the kind of player who was good enough to unlock defences through the middle using ball skills and intelligence started to command the kind of wages we couldn't even look at. He's turned a team that wasn't very hard to defend against - cut off the supply to Hayes and McGinn, if they do get the ball minimise their chances of getting in a decent cross and keep tight on Rooney - into a nightmare for defenders, because there's now even more threat through the middle than down the flanks. He can create from nothing and sucks defenders away from the guys they usually try to double up on. He's also a reminder, in the current era's obsession with coaching and fitness, that there's no substitute for inborn talent. You can't coach what Maddison has, and sadly the hopes that I've seen expressed that his magic will somehow have rubbed off on players already at the club by the time he goes seem wildly optimistic. Agree that you can't coach intuition, but you can coach players to be more effective. Maddison doesn't need to be here to do that, but can only help if he is involved with some of the younger players who are around the same age as him. My comment on Wright was based on the fact he has the ball skills, but admitted he may be lacking on the decision making side. Physically not strong enough, but could be a player to unlock defences if given a chance. Those that have watched the young team may have more insight than me, but McLennan may also be a prospect. Unless we start playing these guys, for more than the last 5 minutes, we won't know how good they are Quote
RicoS321 Posted October 18, 2016 Report Posted October 18, 2016 Agree that you can't coach intuition, but you can coach players to be more effective. Maddison doesn't need to be here to do that, but can only help if he is involved with some of the younger players who are around the same age as him. My comment on Wright was based on the fact he has the ball skills, but admitted he may be lacking on the decision making side. Physically not strong enough, but could be a player to unlock defences if given a chance. Those that have watched the young team may have more insight than me, but McLennan may also be a prospect. Unless we start playing these guys, for more than the last 5 minutes, we won't know how good they are Wright's pretty much the same age as Maddison, I doubt he's going to learn much of the built-in talent that Maddison has. Agreed he needs game time though. Stockley and Pawlett on at 3-0 means we're unlikely to ever see Wright in a dons top (he'll be gone before the opportunity arises). Storie could easily have been on for Shinnie (who was having a great game, but had made 3-4 fouls already and he's already halfway to suspension; lucky not to be booked at the weekend). McLean upped his game again at the weekend, and I do believe that Maddison's position is McLean's best too. He's a very capable player that with a bit of confidence could cause a lot of problems for defenders. Maddison is getting a lot of leeway for errors too, which is great as it means he's trying lots of different things. He plays as if the pressure is off him, which it is to an extent (he secured that in his first few games), which must be great for him. When McLean joined, there was a different level of pressure on him. That's not to say that McLean is as good a player just that he has a lot of the attributes to play that role (if he could learn to turn like Maddison does on a six pince that'd be ace) and I hope he's given that opportunity again when Maddison leaves us (hopefully at the end of the season). Quote
KincorthDon Posted October 18, 2016 Report Posted October 18, 2016 Maddison is getting a lot of leeway for errors too, which is great as it means he's trying lots of different things. He plays as if the pressure is off him, which it is to an extent (he secured that in his first few games) Reminds me of Jess, Zero and Strachan- players that were given more leeway than others to make mistakes, as they could create things out of nothing. Can't see McLean getting the same leeway unfortunately, shame as still rate the guy as being a very clever player, just needs a couple of big performances to win over a section of the support after a fairly indifferent start to the season Quote
manc_don Posted October 18, 2016 Report Posted October 18, 2016 Maddison is getting a lot of leeway for errors too, which is great as it means he's trying lots of different things. He plays as if the pressure is off him, which it is to an extent (he secured that in his first few games) Reminds me of Jess, Zero and Strachan- players that were given more leeway than others to make mistakes, as they could create things out of nothing. Can't see McLean getting the same leeway unfortunately, shame as still rate the guy as being a very clever player, just needs a couple of big performances to win over a section of the support after a fairly indifferent start to the season Seems to be playing much better of late. Don't want to detract away from the topic but bar his silly mistake which nearly cost us, he played well. Seems to be a confidence player and hopefully it's improving. Quote
RicoS321 Posted October 18, 2016 Report Posted October 18, 2016 Reminds me of Jess, Zero and Strachan- players that were given more leeway than others to make mistakes, as they could create things out of nothing. Can't see McLean getting the same leeway unfortunately, shame as still rate the guy as being a very clever player, just needs a couple of big performances to win over a section of the support after a fairly indifferent start to the season Aye, totally. To argue with myself and you though, I suppose he probably did get leeway at the start, but he just didn't give the early performances that would have seen him through. A second leeway wind is what's called for! Quote
Gregors10 Posted October 18, 2016 Report Posted October 18, 2016 I think Maddison's style is already having an effect on our players. Quite a few were doing flicks (McGinn's in defence wasn't cool) and controlling the ball with a better first touch into space. Part of me thinks that this is probably also because they (especially Hayes and McGinn) are being less closely marked than before - and we also had an extra man against RC remember - which is probably caused by defenders having to pay extra attention to Maddison. He will be missed when he goes, that is without question. Best we can do is keep him off our highlights reel and tell his boss how shite he is doing... Quote
rocket_scientist Posted October 18, 2016 Report Posted October 18, 2016 Within 10 minutes at Dens, we knew we had a player. In the talent v. work debate, I would be very interested to learn of his background, his specifics since the age of 12 or so. Was he "hot-housed" in one of those academies or was he late on the scene? I saw an interesting documentary recently about the kids club in Middlesborough who had developed some great footballers and are still doing it. Why can't we develop talents like that, not just at Aberdeen but in Scotland generally? Back in the day, Kenny Miller was a tremendously exciting teenage talent. As was Charlie Nicholas. We had Jess, Booth, Neale Cooper, John Hewitt etc., even Andy Dornan was a very promising footballer aged 17/18. Is it as simple as less kids playing the game thus a much reduced pool to pull from? Quote
RicoS321 Posted October 20, 2016 Report Posted October 20, 2016 I'd say that's the case, yes, but it's entirely anecdotal I don't have any figures. What I do know is that when I grew up in the 80s (so nae that long ago) we had several places to go and play football. They were all free and didn't require any organised event, you just turned up and had a kick about whether there were 2 or 10 of you. My home village/town now has about 500-1000 extra houses. They've all been designed in classic UK housing estate style (except I don't think they call them estates - but they are). Self contained areas where the only way in or out is by car, and the streets - and often the pavements - are lined with parked cars as the driveways are only suitable for 1.5 cars or you can't open your doors. Kids are confined to their back gardens, where their parents get pissed off because they keep kicking the ball into the neighbours' gardens. There is originally a green space where kids can play, but it's then run down deliberately or situated in a ridiculous spot so the developer eventually comes back and build more houses on it. Even in the small village I grew up, the new houses will be a drive away from the park for a lot of kids who's parents won't let them go out on their bikes because of the paedophiles. You then get a couple of evenings of highly organised fitba at the local pitches with a game on a Saturday, with the option to send yer kids to the fully-commoditised fitba schools if you can afford it. What used to be free, readily available fun, now has to be paid for. We've taken our spaces and said: "how can this make someone money", rather than design our new town add-ons with a view to integration, enhancing and adding to the existing infrastructure. The irony is that the chairman of the north east's biggest fitba team is responsible for a portion of it. Quote
Reidzer 1314 Posted October 20, 2016 Report Posted October 20, 2016 I would love Maddison to stay but I very much doubt that we will be able to keep him. You never know though, if he was to be going back to Norwich to warm the bench or not even break into the first team then surely it would be more beneficial to have him stay with us until the end of the season. Quote
tlg1903 Posted October 20, 2016 Report Posted October 20, 2016 All of which Alex Neil knows. The likes of Naismith and hoolahan stay fit we have a chance of keeping him for the season assuming Maddison himself wants to stay. Quote
manc_don Posted January 27, 2017 Report Posted January 27, 2017 Officially finished now, Norwich have confirmed he will not be coming back (at his own request). https://www.eveningexpress.co.uk/fp/aberdeen-fc/norwich-confirm-james-maddison-will-not-return-aberdeen/ Quote
Edinburghdon Posted January 27, 2017 Report Posted January 27, 2017 Officially finished now, Norwich have confirmed he will not be coming back (at his own request). https://www.eveningexpress.co.uk/fp/aberdeen-fc/norwich-confirm-james-maddison-will-not-return-aberdeen/ Ungrateful wee prick, fuck him Quote
manc_don Posted January 27, 2017 Report Posted January 27, 2017 Ungrateful wee prick, fuck him Maddy who? No, not that one Quote