TheDeeDon Posted January 29, 2017 Share Posted January 29, 2017 I'm a bit disappointed he chose not to come back, but the risk you take when you take on players in this way, don't think he will be that great a loss overall, but we will never forget his free kick against THEM. Thanks for that James. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted January 29, 2017 Share Posted January 29, 2017 I'm a bit disappointed he chose not to come back, but the risk you take when you take on players in this way, don't think he will be that great a loss overall, but we will never forget his free kick against THEM. Thanks for that James. I don't blame him at all. He's a Norwich player first and foremost, sees an opportunity to make it at his club and wants to try and take it. Fair play to him I say and good luck. Yes, it's sad for us but we played quite well without him. As you said, that goal against them will forever bind us. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
1903_Redz Posted January 29, 2017 Share Posted January 29, 2017 I enjoyed watching him play and i'll follow his career with interest. I'm not surprised he didn't come back, he maybe thought he was going to be a sub a lot more after the break. I noticed he wasn't even on the bench for Norwich yesterday and he made no mention of us on his Twitter at the weekend, the wee shite! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyrant Posted January 30, 2017 Share Posted January 30, 2017 If he canna break into our team he probably won't break into their team. But good luck to him. He's nae as good as he thinks he is though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ten Caat Posted January 30, 2017 Share Posted January 30, 2017 I get the feeling he will always be just too lightweight to ever be a Premiership or even Championship level regular. He is unlikely to fill out a whole lot more maybe an extra half a stone but the top level defenders down south are 6'3" plus and 14 stone with the speed of an SPFL striker. I honestly can see him ending up at the Dhims perhaps in the summer, more likely this time next year if Norwich aren't in the promotion hunt next season. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
1903_Redz Posted February 24, 2017 Share Posted February 24, 2017 I see he's been bumping his gums again to the papers about our game.... https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/633200/former-aberdeen-star-james-maddison-claims-englands-third-tier-is-just-as-good-as-the-scottish-premiership/ I seen a lot of gnashing of teeth about his comments on facebook but personally i think it's a bit of a non story. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted February 24, 2017 Share Posted February 24, 2017 Typical journalistic crap....make a story out of a non story. However young Maddison possibly thinks he is a little bit better than he really is, and dare I say it a lot of Dons fans swallowed the hype. Will however always fondly remember him because of that goal. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rocket_scientist Posted February 24, 2017 Share Posted February 24, 2017 Typical journalistic spin but he's probably right. Also agree that he's got too big an opinion of himself. Much as his talent and skills are obvious, I've always said he's too physically lightweight to go all the way. Strachan was even slighter than him but he had essential qualities that Maddison will never have. Heart. You can't beat Desire. Desire to work harder than the rest. Desire to work smarter than the rest. It ALWAYS pays. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CvB Posted February 24, 2017 Share Posted February 24, 2017 Typical journalistic spin but he's probably right. Also agree that he's got too big an opinion of himself. Much as his talent and skills are obvious, I've always said he's too physically lightweight to go all the way. Strachan was even slighter than him but he had essential qualities that Maddison will never have. Heart. You can't beat Desire. Desire to work harder than the rest. Desire to work smarter than the rest. It ALWAYS pays. correct. Had a lot of skill and could see a pass that unfortunately a lot of our other players couldn't. He went down easily, but in fairness to him he was clobbered a lot, quite often due to him being mentally and physically quicker than the opponents he was up against. However, our decent run of results and our consistent team selection started after McInnes benched him after the defeat away to Ross County and I don't recall him starting another game for us. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
OxfordDon Posted February 24, 2017 Share Posted February 24, 2017 I see he's been bumping his gums again to the papers about our game.... https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/633200/former-aberdeen-star-james-maddison-claims-englands-third-tier-is-just-as-good-as-the-scottish-premiership/ I seen a lot of gnashing of teeth about his comments on facebook but personally i think it's a bit of a non story. That entire story is spun out of one throwaway line in his interview: “With no disrespect to the Scottish Premiership' date=' but it’s very similar to League One – the style is alike but there are some fantastic players in both divisions.”[/quote'] We already know the Championship clubs are wee girl's blouses when it comes to physicality, which is why they send players up here to get knocked about by our hammer-throwing bottom six clubs*, who are similar to top-half EL1 clubs. I presume that's the "style" he's talking about. *Oh, and to get some European experience, which there's not a lot of in the Championship. Bit hysterical of the Scun to turn that on its head and suggest EL1 in its entirety is "just as good as" the SPFL in its entirety. Non-story. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...