Stupie82 Posted October 19, 2016 Report Posted October 19, 2016 As the title suggests! Mine is the fear of flying. I used to be a great flyer and loved every second. That was until I was on a flight back from Florida to New York in 1998 and we were landing in thick fog. The pilot told us there would be a little turbulence, but that we would be landing in 10 minutes time. Except, what he actually said was 2 minutes time and i had misheard. So in my head, ten minutes was the expected ETA... then while I was casually looking out the window at the fog, I suddenly see the nose of another plane and its flashing wing lights right next to my own plane and i completely shat it! Our plane then landed with a thud on the runway about a second later, and i realised that the plane i had just saw, was actually taxiing to the runway. For that split second though, i thought it was going into side of us mid-air and all because i had misheard the ETA and the fact the fog was thick at ground level... I almost didnt get on the next flight home and have been terrified of flying ever since, though i do still do it!! So whats your's? Quote
Gervaise_Brookhampster Posted October 19, 2016 Report Posted October 19, 2016 I'm not great with heights, I can lean on the railing of a cruise ship 16 decks up and look over no problem but If I'm somewhere that's vaguely high that you can see through or that moves I get all scared and want to hold on to something. Hard to describe but I think in my head it's got something to do with the control I have? Quote
donsdaft Posted October 19, 2016 Report Posted October 19, 2016 It's edges do it for me. Heights are not really a problem if I have something to hold on to but even seeing someone else near an edge ( at height) then I am about spewing Quote
Stupie82 Posted October 19, 2016 Author Report Posted October 19, 2016 It's edges do it for me. Heights are not really a problem if I have something to hold on to but even seeing someone else near an edge ( at height) then I am about spewing Aye edges do it for me too, though like you, i wouldn't say i'm afraid of heights as such. Quote
donsdaft Posted October 19, 2016 Report Posted October 19, 2016 Regarding foggy landings, I was flying into old Kai tak airport coming from Korea and the fog was dreadful. I was in and out of Hong Kong a fair bit so was used to flying through the skyscrapers. Fog fog fog.. fuck me a ship higher than us..land. We had come in the other way, I about shit mysel. Quote
Three Crazz Posted October 19, 2016 Report Posted October 19, 2016 It's edges do it for me. Heights are not really a problem if I have something to hold on to but even seeing someone else near an edge ( at height) then I am about spewing Edges at height. Want to jump fall or throw myself off Vertigo I'm told Quote
PompeyDon Posted October 19, 2016 Report Posted October 19, 2016 Loose. As long as they're attached to something I can handle it. Loose ones give me the willies. Quote
RicoS321 Posted October 20, 2016 Report Posted October 20, 2016 Loose. As long as they're attached to something I can handle it. Loose ones give me the willies. Aye, it's superfluous ones for me. Freaky cunts of things. Birds and kids clothes are full of them, it makes me sick. Dolls though, that's the one. Horrendous things. Quote
Stupie82 Posted October 20, 2016 Author Report Posted October 20, 2016 Aye, it's superfluous ones for me. Freaky cunts of things. Birds and kids clothes are full of them, it makes me sick. Dolls though, that's the one. Horrendous things. I'm nae a big fan of dolls either, although the worst ones for me are those life like baby ones.... whats that all about. Dont like clowns much either, toy or human. Quote
RicoS321 Posted October 20, 2016 Report Posted October 20, 2016 I'm nae a big fan of dolls either, although the worst ones for me are those life like baby ones.... whats that all about. Designed by sick fucks. Quote
manc_don Posted October 20, 2016 Report Posted October 20, 2016 Pigeons, I fucking hate them. I know it's generally down to us that they've spread as much as they have but they're always up to no good and flying at me. Cunts. It's like they know. Other one is probably being confined in a tight space, even though I don't necessarily mind being in them. The thought of it frightens me. Quote
donsdaft Posted October 20, 2016 Report Posted October 20, 2016 I like to know where my way out is, particularly in shops. ( in fact my phobia is probably just shops) This has it's advantages. Mrs Donsdaft will never ever try to persuade me to go to Ikea again. Quote
MálagaSheep Posted October 20, 2016 Report Posted October 20, 2016 Snakes! Even writing that put a shiver up my spine! Quote
Madbadteacher Posted October 20, 2016 Report Posted October 20, 2016 Heights, especially edges, but strangely I'm ok with heights over water Quote
Desert Don Posted October 20, 2016 Report Posted October 20, 2016 More an irrational hate than fear - Fekin Cats!!!! Sleekit wee bastards that are possessed by some evil spirit!!! I dinna like them Quote
manc_don Posted October 20, 2016 Report Posted October 20, 2016 More an irrational hate than fear - Fekin Cats!!!! Sleekit wee bastards that are possessed by some evil spirit!!! I dinna like them I'm with you on that one, them and pigeons. Cunts. Quote