BigAl Posted October 19, 2016 Share Posted October 19, 2016 Right, Buc's disco thread set me thinking about 70's music. Since we've had an influx of auld bastards onto DT recently there must be a fair few out there who lived through that decade, so come on and share music that was miles away from your norm back then but represented a guilty pleasure. I'd like to set the ball rolling with this absolute belter from The Kursaal Flyers. I can still smell the cheese forty odd years on Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted October 19, 2016 Author Share Posted October 19, 2016 Another one. Incredibly this song was banned on Radio 1 back in the day. Apparently references to getting a handjob weren't allowed. Amazing considering what their DJs were apparently up to at the time https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UL73xn52At4 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ten Caat Posted October 21, 2016 Share Posted October 21, 2016 https://youtu.be/a5NzNvipssc?list=RDa5NzNvipssc This was in the charts when i started high school. Nick Garvey has to be one of Britain's most underrated songwriters ever. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted October 21, 2016 Author Share Posted October 21, 2016 https://youtu.be/a5NzNvipssc?list=RDa5NzNvipssc This was in the charts when i started high school. Nick Garvey has to be one of Britain's most underrated songwriters ever. Co writer Andy McMaster was Scottish. Great band The Motors. Apart from Forget About You and the obvious Airport, my favourite track was this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HrbAGIAZ6bY Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madbadteacher Posted October 21, 2016 Share Posted October 21, 2016 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elgindon Posted October 21, 2016 Share Posted October 21, 2016 I Effing loved that song,(still do) ^^^^ But,by guilty pleasures I look at it as songs you were embarassed to like.As more a heavy rock man back in the day,c/w the long hair,and the Rush/Led Zep sew on badges on the back of the Levi jacket, a few songs slipped thru the net and..er Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elgindon Posted October 21, 2016 Share Posted October 21, 2016 A non embarassing, lesser known song by the Knack - Good girls dont...great riff Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted October 21, 2016 Author Share Posted October 21, 2016 I Effing loved that song,still do ^^^^ But,by guilty pleasures I look at it as songs you were embarassed to like.As more a heavy rock man back in the day,c/w the long hair,and the Rush/Led Zep sew on badges on the back of the Levi jacket, a few songs slipped thru the net and..er You're right ED it was supposed to be about songs you were embarassed to like.As but the thread kind of went off at a tangent Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stupie82 Posted October 21, 2016 Share Posted October 21, 2016 "https://www.youtube.com/embed/UPrixYOTNHw" "https://www.youtube.com/embed/Z6qnRS36EgE" Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted October 21, 2016 Author Share Posted October 21, 2016 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oNl6WlcDpjc Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ten Caat Posted October 22, 2016 Share Posted October 22, 2016 Another guilty pleasure. Could never ever ever have admitted it in the 70s. It would have killed my old man for one... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madbadteacher Posted October 22, 2016 Share Posted October 22, 2016 MY SQ ref was more that my Mother liked the original Hank Williams? country version then I played her this! Iwas/am still a huge SQ fan (but not the awful cover-band era shyte) For a real GP.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elgindon Posted October 22, 2016 Share Posted October 22, 2016 Ok then,Dont mind admitting this one https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mkBS4zUjJZo Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
donsdaft Posted October 24, 2016 Share Posted October 24, 2016 I went to buy this single at the newly opened Asda at dyce. When I got there I saw that they had a greatest hits album for 99p that had the track on it so I bought that instead. All of the other tracks were pish of course. The slagging I took over the years for having that album in my record collection was incredible. https://youtu.be/qGEubdH8m0s Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
EdmontonDandy Posted October 24, 2016 Share Posted October 24, 2016 How about this, loved it for the guitar solo: https://youtu.be/DJ4QoCskBN4 Also this, took a bit of a slagging at the time for liking "artsy crap" Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
EdmontonDandy Posted October 24, 2016 Share Posted October 24, 2016 Good thread this....some pretty dodgy jumpers in this clip: https://youtu.be/FR9x1EkXGx8 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elgindon Posted October 24, 2016 Share Posted October 24, 2016 Great song that, Maid in Heaven. Re the Bay city rollers,first single I ever bought was Bye Bye baby ,but have no recollection of the other BCR single further up. Another Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
EdmontonDandy Posted October 24, 2016 Share Posted October 24, 2016 OK canna help masel now.... And the ultimate one for me.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elgindon Posted October 26, 2016 Share Posted October 26, 2016 Jackson Broon - Stay Steeleye span - All around my hat Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted November 1, 2016 Author Share Posted November 1, 2016 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ten Caat Posted November 1, 2016 Share Posted November 1, 2016 One baguette short of a picnic Belgian, King of the Divan, take it away Monsieur Plastic Bertrand https://youtu.be/v98HEQvtpgo Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted November 1, 2016 Author Share Posted November 1, 2016 One baguette short of a picnic Belgian, King of the Divan, take it away Monsieur Plastic Bertrand https://youtu.be/v98HEQvtpgo Loved that song, still do. Completely bonkers Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madbadteacher Posted November 2, 2016 Share Posted November 2, 2016 Was a great song for pogo-ing to. Did he nae pogo on the TOTP stage? And I'll this gem Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madbadteacher Posted November 2, 2016 Share Posted November 2, 2016 And this one... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gervaise_Brookhampster Posted November 10, 2016 Share Posted November 10, 2016 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LTKORcr1jhY Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...