Elgindon Posted January 9, 2022 Author Share Posted January 9, 2022 (edited) Fine day at Forvie am,Hill of Fare pm via Raemoir http://www.walkscotland.com/walk153.htm Edited January 9, 2022 by Elgindon 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elgindon Posted March 6, 2022 Author Share Posted March 6, 2022 Great coastal walk today from Downies to Newtonhill.Possible to walk all the way to Stonehaven butt theres a few obstacles if you take the wrong turn. This guy gives a good description of how to do it. https://britishcoast.wordpress.com/2020/03/11/281-aberdeen-to-stonehaven/ Downies Newtonhill beach 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted March 6, 2022 Share Posted March 6, 2022 Have to watch the locals there though. There's a nice beach at old portlethen too, all on the same route. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elgindon Posted March 7, 2022 Author Share Posted March 7, 2022 (edited) Aye,meant to start there but got off a bit late.Will head fae Downies next time,up the way to Findon as far as you can til the Quarries get in the way. Best time of the year to be doing it too ,since you can wander thru stubble and livestock-less fields if the cliff tops are a bit wet/windy. Intending doing most of the N/E coast(done about 1/3) starting fae Johnshaven round to about Findhorn Edited March 7, 2022 by Elgindon Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted March 7, 2022 Share Posted March 7, 2022 1 hour ago, Elgindon said: Aye,meant to start there but got off a bit late.Will head fae Downies next time,up the way to Findon as far as you can til the Quarries get in the way. Best time of the year to be doing it too ,since you can wander thru stubble and livestock-less fields if the cliff tops are a bit wet/windy. Intending doing most of the N/E coast(done about 1/3) starting fae Johnshaven round to about Findhorn The beasts are oot at the moment, but more behind the village rather than in front, so the cliff tops should be free. Haven't followed it right to Findon, I've generally just cycled the back roads in that direction. Will have to give it a try sometime. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elgindon Posted April 11, 2022 Author Share Posted April 11, 2022 Nothing to add to the fitba thread.Done a few more sections of the coastal route.Newtonhill to Muchalls was a bit dour.Muchalls to Stoney was brilliant.Lots of twists,turns and surprises on the way. Also did a section from Catterline to Crawton.Involved a lot of walking on the edge of newly seeded fields.Its possible to walk the outside of the field fences but its a bit rough,pathless and often exposed.Good walk though.Saw a pod of Pilot whales Muchalls beach near the railway bridge Waterfall at crawton 4 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
scotfree Posted April 16, 2022 Share Posted April 16, 2022 @Elgindon Do you have a list of mountains that you want to get done this summer? Or do you just go with the flow? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elgindon Posted April 16, 2022 Author Share Posted April 16, 2022 (edited) 8 hours ago, scotfree said: @Elgindon Do you have a list of mountains that you want to get done this summer? Or do you just go with the flow? Havent been on the Munros for about a year due to a health issue.Hope to be back on them in the next year All the ones left to do are on the West coast.We go with the flow,ie follow the weather Edited April 16, 2022 by Elgindon Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elgindon Posted April 24, 2022 Author Share Posted April 24, 2022 (edited) Did a wee bit in the middle of the Muchalls to Stoney section that was left to do before the fitba yesterday.Should have carried on walking..... Near Blackhills farm Skatie shore below.Noticed this beach last time when I was walking along the cliff top,so had a wander yesterday am. Muchalls to Stoney about 4hrs..ish.Or,to break up the walk,theres a bus stop/layby beside Blackhills farm from where you can do a loop to Muchalls or Stoney.If starting from Muchalls,park in the spaces at the bottom(South) end of Marine tce.Walk down the track to under the railway bridge and aim for the coast where youll find the paths. Starting fae Stoney,park at the layby as youre coming down the hill off the slip road fae the North,just before the beach caravan park.Theres a path starts at the top end of the layby Edited April 24, 2022 by Elgindon 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elgindon Posted June 5, 2022 Author Share Posted June 5, 2022 (edited) Too hot for hills this w/e so we were up at Banff to do the Alvah bridge loop.Never heard of it,but quite an impressive house and gorge. Only thing was,you were nowhere near the river for the vast majority of the walk(all in appx 2.5 hrs).Mountain bike may have been a better option,on fairly flat good tracks most of the way https://www.walkhighlands.co.uk/aberdeenshire/bridge-of-alvah.shtml Edited June 5, 2022 by Elgindon 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elgindon Posted June 30, 2022 Author Share Posted June 30, 2022 (edited) On 16/04/2022 at 01:49, scotfree said: @Elgindon Do you have a list of mountains that you want to get done this summer? Or do you just go with the flow? Not quite up to Munros height this last weekend but visited a fine wee place with good views by going up only a few hundred metres.Any guesses furryboots.first visit for me? Edited June 30, 2022 by Elgindon Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
scotfree Posted July 1, 2022 Share Posted July 1, 2022 7 hours ago, Elgindon said: Not quite up to Munros height this last weekend but visited a fine wee place with good views by going up only a few hundred metres.Any guesses furryboots.first visit for me? Isle of Rum from the Isle of Eigg? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jute Posted July 1, 2022 Share Posted July 1, 2022 4 hours ago, scotfree said: Isle of Rum from the Isle of Eigg? My guess also. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
scotfree Posted July 1, 2022 Share Posted July 1, 2022 An Sgurr on Eigg would be my guess as where the photo was taken. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elgindon Posted July 24, 2022 Author Share Posted July 24, 2022 On 01/07/2022 at 07:30, scotfree said: An Sgurr on Eigg would be my guess as where the photo was taken. Off grid a couple of weeks. Pic was taken a couple of miles further North on the island(5miles x 3miles) at the top of this waterfall,behind Laig bay,following pic Going back for another visit,hoping to do An Sgurr next time. Good thing about Eigg is there are no car ferries,so you have to walk or cycle everywhere.Most tourists wander round close to the harbour,or climb An Sgurr,then catch the ferry back a few hours later,so if youve a tent plenty spaces to yourselves. https://arisaig.co.uk/sheerwater-timetable/ https://www.calmac.co.uk/summer-timetable/Mallaig-eigg-muck-rum-canna Hired an ebike when there - http://www.eiggadventures.co.uk/ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elgindon Posted September 26, 2022 Author Share Posted September 26, 2022 Coupla days walking on the West coast again.Loch Morar - good path all the way from Bracara,on the North side of the Loch, to Tarbet on Loch Nevis(5.5 miles).Another path from Bracara to Stoul also on Loch Nevis. Boat from nearby Mallaig to Tarbet https://westernislescruises.co.uk/knoydart-ferry-timetable/ 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elgindon Posted January 8, 2023 Author Share Posted January 8, 2023 Decent weather window over New Year on Lismore.Mentioned before,fine wee place for walking/cycling,history.Only 150 residents.Nae pub but summer cafe sells drink Looking East to the mainland over Loch Linnhe Walk thru rock on Appin circuit 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
scotfree Posted January 9, 2023 Share Posted January 9, 2023 I always look forward to seeing photos of your jaunts. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
scotfree Posted January 9, 2023 Share Posted January 9, 2023 Anyone climbed Slioch? It's a cracking looking climb and one that I regret not getting up. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elgindon Posted January 9, 2023 Author Share Posted January 9, 2023 (edited) Aye was up about 5 years ago on a sweaty summer day.Bit of a trek in,but cracking views Sisters loon leading the way,Slioch on the right On the way up Summit views Edited January 9, 2023 by Elgindon 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
scotfree Posted January 23, 2023 Share Posted January 23, 2023 Cracking photos, mate. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted February 18, 2023 Share Posted February 18, 2023 Excuse the thumb on the second, but finally managed to get out on the board today after the weeks’ crazy weather and events. You can see the top of the South Island in the background. Proper nice still day with very little swell gotta take them when they come in Wellington. Not much to see in the water today, though I did see a massive jelly fish. Was enough to put me off from falling in. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elgindon Posted February 19, 2023 Author Share Posted February 19, 2023 Stood on the other side of the water(Marlborough sounds) looking towards Wellington a few years ago.The water in between looks horrific. Wouldn't be swimming or sailing in a hurry Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted February 19, 2023 Share Posted February 19, 2023 6 hours ago, Elgindon said: Stood on the other side of the water(Marlborough sounds) looking towards Wellington a few years ago.The water in between looks horrific. Wouldn't be swimming or sailing in a hurry Cook strait in something special, but water where we is, is fine. Apart from the rip, but you learn about that quickly. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elgindon Posted March 4, 2023 Author Share Posted March 4, 2023 Glen Esk - New playground for the next while.Myriad of paths and tracks for walking and cycling,fine views,very few folk around except if you head to the obvious spots(Loch Lee,Tarfside). Downside was finding a number of snares at the edges of some tracks.Assumed these were illegal,but apparently not if premission granted,though the estate I was on(Millden) has previous for dog fighting and raptor capture/poisoning https://raptorpersecutionuk.org/2022/05/06/millen-estate-angus-glens-gamekeeper-convicted-for-animal-cruelty-in-relation-to-badger-baiting/ Pics from last nights evening stroll 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...