Ten Caat Posted July 27, 2017 Share Posted July 27, 2017 That's a quite shocking piece of Journalism if we're being honest. Aberdeen Star? SPFL Star? A club spokesman said " The club have to stand by their player " I smell shite. It happened. I'm very local... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted July 28, 2017 Author Share Posted July 28, 2017 It happened. I'm very local... You were the lady!?! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tlg1903 Posted July 28, 2017 Share Posted July 28, 2017 So is the move for moult dead do we think? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted July 29, 2017 Share Posted July 29, 2017 So is the move for moult dead do we think? Definitely not dead Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jute Posted July 29, 2017 Share Posted July 29, 2017 Definitely not dead Saw suggested elsewhere that Motherwell are looking for a similar fee to the one they got for Johnson last year which was £650k. Cannot see us paying that much so they would need to drop that for a deal to be done. Depends on if they are prepared to let him leave for nothing.We may need to hold on to closer until the end of the window to see if they will reduce what they are looking for. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MDred Posted July 29, 2017 Share Posted July 29, 2017 https://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=3&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwiblsiq7qnVAhUEL8AKHeCXBLwQFgg1MAI&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.dailyrecord.co.uk%2Fnews%2Fscottish-news%2Fdons-star-kicked-pub-because-9384983&usg=AFQjCNGTGUvmEQAR9parr0c6yIq23935Zg Aye I saw that, sounds like shite to me, question is WYOWYN? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted July 31, 2017 Author Share Posted July 31, 2017 Celtic are considering bringing Shaun Maloney back to the club as a coach. (Scottish Daily Mail) Given the silence over his signing, I'd say that this would appear like a distinct possibility Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gosgka Posted July 31, 2017 Share Posted July 31, 2017 Aye I saw that, sounds like shite to me, question is WYOWYN? Christ the beer down there must be strong, how pissed would you have to be to try and chat that up Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted July 31, 2017 Share Posted July 31, 2017 Given the silence over his signing, I'd say that this would appear like a distinct possibility Was excited about prospect of signing him when the news first broke, not so much now however as it has dragged and dragged. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madbadteacher Posted July 31, 2017 Share Posted July 31, 2017 Hmmmmm Celtic are considering bringing Shaun Maloney back to the club as a coach. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ThePiper Posted August 1, 2017 Share Posted August 1, 2017 I see their wanker supreme shoutin aboot it in The Hun. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted August 1, 2017 Author Share Posted August 1, 2017 Just as well we didn't sign Boyce, he's crocked for most of the season! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted August 2, 2017 Share Posted August 2, 2017 Maloney retires from playing. Next......... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
LA-Don Posted August 2, 2017 Share Posted August 2, 2017 I actually thought we signed GMS instead of Maloney. Is there a quote from DM saying he'll pursue someone else with Maloney no longer an option?? We've got Stewart, GMS, Wright and Christie all very capable of the wide role, plus Stewart, Christie and McLean can all play behind the forward. I dont think we need another creative mid or wide player, I see that hurting Wrights development. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted August 2, 2017 Author Share Posted August 2, 2017 Nah I think we were waiting to see about maloney, but I'm not fussed in the slightest. As you say, it would hurt wrights development and he'd like be injured most of the time. Use the dosh to get moult in Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
KennyFuckinPowers Posted August 2, 2017 Share Posted August 2, 2017 Would have struggled to see where Maloney would have fitted in to be honest, but only because of the additions ( GMS, Stewart & Christie ) plus Wright already being here. As someone alluded too above, we should concentrate our efforts on Moult and look to move on Stockley or Storey, if not both now. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ten Caat Posted August 4, 2017 Share Posted August 4, 2017 Had time overnight to reflect on that performance last night. I think it's patently obvious that even teams from 2000 miles away can see Consi's lack of pace at left back is an easy option to exploit. It's something we have got away with for a couple of years at SPFL level ( except against the Dhims) but I now think its time the problem was addressed properly. Shinnie was supposed to be that solution but is now obvious McInnes sees him pretty much exclusively as a midfielder. Now I'm hoping we get Moult in by early next week ( along with either Storey or Stockley out) but once that one is over the line surely to God we must be looking at getting a proper left back in place. Hopefully young Harvie will develop into a first team player in the next 12-24 months till then there has to be a relatively cheap option somewhere in the lower leagues in Britain that would do a job for us. It would also have the benefit of us then being able to shift Consi into central defence to replace Reynolds who just isnt physical enough to play there these days and whose main attribute which offset that lack of physicality ( his pace) has sadly disappeared.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CtS Posted August 4, 2017 Share Posted August 4, 2017 Possible short term solution, straight swap, Considine for Reynolds. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted August 4, 2017 Share Posted August 4, 2017 I don't agree that Reynolds has lost his pace, I'd say that's nonsense (these things will be tested and worked on in training every day and McInnes would base his thinking on this data Reynolds is only 30, ye dinna lose huge amounts of pace at that age). He's still one of the fastest central defenders in the league. Also, I don't remember Considine being "exploited" once last night because of lack of pace. His positioning and strength make up for it. I think both are more than adequate for our purposes in the SPFL. Agreed about Harvie, but I think it's important that guys like that are the first backup in order to get them opportunities. If we're still in Europe, I'd agree with you, but we're nae, so I don't see the point in clogging up our first team squad with more players at this stage unless we look to offload Reynolds. Striker is far more important, because our first team options are simply inadequate. However, if we were unwilling to up our bid to sign Moult prior being knocked out of Europe, then I struggle to see the validity in upping it now. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slim Posted August 4, 2017 Share Posted August 4, 2017 I think Rooney's good enough to score enough goals to get us to 2nd/3rd in the league. If Motherwell are wanting £500k for Moult, I don't think he adds £500k worth of value to our team between now and when we can get him on a free. We do need Rooney to stay fit though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gosgka Posted August 9, 2017 Share Posted August 9, 2017 wonder how much Niall McGinn is enjoying Korea, as he opens his windows to see rockets flying past and a strange green glow in the North, suddenly Northfield doesn't look that bad Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stewart Posted August 10, 2017 Share Posted August 10, 2017 Maloney retires from playing. Next......... Finally confirmed as joining Celtic. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted August 10, 2017 Share Posted August 10, 2017 May back on the cairds according to rumours. 300K. Not convinced, would rather have Moult, but can't complain. If he regains any of his saints form that'd be exactly what we're looking for. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
LA-Don Posted August 10, 2017 Share Posted August 10, 2017 Wow, Stevie May on a 4 year deal. Didn't see that coming! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elgindon Posted August 10, 2017 Share Posted August 10, 2017 Yep,just posted on the other thread.Kept that one quiet.Welcome aboard Stevie.If we can recapture that form... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...