manc_don Posted March 19, 2018 Share Posted March 19, 2018 FFS fuck sake. Just realised it's international football week. How long does this farce go on for? Is it only the one week? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest kiriakovisthenewstrachan Posted March 20, 2018 Share Posted March 20, 2018 Only one week but kinda feels like two because the next proper game is St Johnstone on 31 March Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted March 22, 2018 Share Posted March 22, 2018 Mulgrew to captain side. Any dlight enthusiasm i might have recaptured has just gonr in a flash Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jute Posted March 22, 2018 Share Posted March 22, 2018 Mulgrew to captain side. Any dlight enthusiasm i might have recaptured has just gonr in a flash Most experienced player in the squad so suppose it makes sense. Going to head along tomorrow but sure what to expect. We were decent under McLeish the first time around so hoping he can get same type of results again. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ten Caat Posted March 22, 2018 Share Posted March 22, 2018 Was debated last night on clyde1 phone in. Feeling is Mulgrew captain just for these 2 games and McLeish will appoint a permanent captain in August prior to the qualification campaign. Guess it makes sense with all the new members in squad. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
donsdaft Posted March 22, 2018 Share Posted March 22, 2018 Well if Mulgrew is captain then I hope they get gubbed. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wee toon red Posted March 22, 2018 Share Posted March 22, 2018 Tierney will be captain when he's back in the squad so anyone else is just a temporary measure. Also, and I hope no-one takes this the wrong way, if your enthusiasm is affected overly much by whoever is named captain for a couple of friendlies then you probably weren't too bothered about the team anyway. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rocket_scientist Posted March 23, 2018 Share Posted March 23, 2018 Talking of apathy towards our national team, tonight might have been the first game where, armed with the ability to watch it on telly, I chose not to bother. But it probably won't be. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lencarl Posted March 23, 2018 Share Posted March 23, 2018 Talking of apathy towards our national team, tonight might have been the first game where, armed with the ability to watch it on telly, I chose not to bother. But it probably won't be. I will be watching the match tonight but the difference now is I don't really care about the result. Back in the day always looked forward to Scotland games and hated when they lost. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rocket_scientist Posted March 23, 2018 Share Posted March 23, 2018 We say that we don't care about the result but we will no doubt be bouncing around the room on the occasion of the Scotland goals. It's a defence mechanism, this pretence apathy. We are forcing it upon ourselves due to the frequency with which we have had misery imposed upon us. The SFA are still wankers and most Scots fans are scum. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted March 23, 2018 Share Posted March 23, 2018 Aye, that's about the gist of it. I'm looking forward to it, I liked the way we played under McLeish previously, and I like the look of the squad. Also, I was nearly greeting as a youngster when those Costa Rican fucks beat us in the 90 world cup, so I hope McLeish fucking destroys them as revenge. From memory, if they'd brought Eoin Jess to that world cup we'd have tanked the West Germans in the final. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rocket_scientist Posted March 23, 2018 Share Posted March 23, 2018 From memory, if they'd brought Eoin Jess to that world cup we'd have tanked the West Germans in the final. That's a new angle, the remembering of a hypothesis. This makes my soul sing. And it also makes me sad. Agree that the McLeish factor is the most interesting aspect of tonight and a crutch for renewed optimism. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted March 23, 2018 Share Posted March 23, 2018 Good to see McKenna getting a start tonight. Only Scotland player playing in Scotland (in the starting XI) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lencarl Posted March 23, 2018 Share Posted March 23, 2018 Not a good start to the new Scotland era with two ex Rangers players as pundits on Sky. Are there no other available ex players capable to chat on Sky. On saying that nothing to do with the match Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rocket_scientist Posted March 23, 2018 Share Posted March 23, 2018 Probably the worst 12 minutes of international football ever played. Inspiring start. Not. Costa Rica are shite too. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rocket_scientist Posted March 23, 2018 Share Posted March 23, 2018 I suppose the goal in the 13th minute going through our captain's legs might be a sign. Same old. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rocket_scientist Posted March 23, 2018 Share Posted March 23, 2018 I've never seen a worse 30 minutes in international football. I don't watch Faroe Islands v. Latvia right enough. But fuck me this is poor. On the positive side, it's impossible to be any worse. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted March 23, 2018 Share Posted March 23, 2018 Awe inspiring stuff. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted March 23, 2018 Share Posted March 23, 2018 The boy McBurnie just looks like exactly what he is..... a fucking massive Hun Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rocket_scientist Posted March 23, 2018 Share Posted March 23, 2018 Done something I've never done before. I stopped watching after 37 minutes. Can't even remember what happened in that minute but enough is enough. In over 50 years of watching Scotland, this is the first time I've given up on telly games. Gave up on live games after the Dam Arena. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted March 23, 2018 Share Posted March 23, 2018 I would say déjà vu, but that would be harsh on Costa Rica who are a vastly better team than they were twenty eight years ago Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lencarl Posted March 23, 2018 Share Posted March 23, 2018 Every cloud....At least watching this rubbish from Scotland saves watching Sport Relief 2018. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
donsdaft Posted March 23, 2018 Share Posted March 23, 2018 Aye but you're missing the important point. When did specsavers start sponsoring International managers. Jesus Christ McLeish, if you must wear shite at least make sure it fits you. I'm only watching because of McKenna, he's doing all right. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
donsdaft Posted March 23, 2018 Share Posted March 23, 2018 That arsehole Peter Grant looks like he fancies McLeish Who's the number 7? He's pish Ah McTominay, he's English isn't he? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted March 23, 2018 Share Posted March 23, 2018 That arsehole Peter Grant looks like he fancies McLeish Constantly whispering sweet nothings in his ear Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...