Saturday 23rd November 2024 - kick-off 3pm

Scottish Premiership - St Mirren v Aberdeen

11 minutes ago, BigAl said:

Wonder if we might be due a payment from Bristol City as a result of an add on for McCrorie getting a full international cap 😉

That did cross my mind when started. 

1 hour ago, OrlandoDon said:

Ben Doak out, Conway in. Really shows our lack of talent. Would have taken the red head from Ross county, big physical loon who is scoring goals!!

He might still get a shout, as Dykes still hasn't been replaced. I like the idea of bringing guys like Conway into the squad, but it's a huge blow not to have Doak, who does offer something different. I think Doak would have been akin to Gilmour in the last tournament, with Conway being more like Nisbet. 

I don't think Clarke will do anything further unfortunately. He'll just stick with Jack and send one of the goalies home. Real shame, as I think it's a very limited squad with a real lack of diversity. James Forrest certainly the answer to anything.

14 minutes ago, RicoS321 said:

He might still get a shout, as Dykes still hasn't been replaced. I like the idea of bringing guys like Conway into the squad, but it's a huge blow not to have Doak, who does offer something different. I think Doak would have been akin to Gilmour in the last tournament, with Conway being more like Nisbet. 

I don't think Clarke will do anything further unfortunately. He'll just stick with Jack and send one of the goalies home. Real shame, as I think it's a very limited squad with a real lack of diversity. James Forrest certainly the answer to anything.

Yeah. I honestly think both of the boys over here, Gauld and Morgan, could have added to the squad. It’s sad to say, we’re a depressing group now, minimal creativity and flair. Said it before, I’d be inclined to play mctominnay up top, he was a forward, and play mcginn mcgregor and gilmour in the middle. Not sure we can play Adam’s up top too or add Christie. Probably it will be Adams, not sure Clarke wants the levein 4-6-0, though we’d be a 3-7-0 or 5-5-0. A little lightweight too unfortunately but we’re so limited now. We’re married to the 3/5 at the back I think and I don’t think we have the type of players for it now.

1 hour ago, wee toon red said:

Lewis Morgan called up. You'd have to think he'll be in the final 26 otherwise dragging him over for a friendly tomorrow night and then sending him straight home would be insane.

Would be quite amusing, but you're right. 

I think Clarke clearly recognises there's something missing from his squad, which is why Doak was included originally. With him out, we need a different option from the bench that will break the sideways, slow passing, shite and be direct. I don't think he'll start against Germany, where we need the solidity of a four man midfield, but he'll be needed in the other two games, I'm certain. Clarke clearly reads this forum.

17 minutes ago, RicoS321 said:

Would be quite amusing, but you're right. 

I think Clarke clearly recognises there's something missing from his squad, which is why Doak was included originally. With him out, we need a different option from the bench that will break the sideways, slow passing, shite and be direct. I don't think he'll start against Germany, where we need the solidity of a four man midfield, but he'll be needed in the other two games, I'm certain. Clarke clearly reads this forum.

Yeah, Clarke and I talked about Morgan, and I even offered to help arrange the flight. He also said Kelly and cooper will head home or be ball boys.

1 hour ago, OrlandoDon said:

He also said Kelly and cooper will head home or be ball boys.

Apparently he's agreed to let them tell their wives that they are totally still in the squad so that they can go out on the lash with Porteous for a couple of weeks. 

So it’s Gordon and Souttar who will miss out, a little surprised at that. No clue if Gordon is a shadow of his former self but surely his experience helps and can’t see Kelly playing unless the other two get injured.

is there any real difference between Souttar, Hanley, and cooper? Guess the latter two are experienced premiership players and Souttar plays for a relatively new team to Scottish football. Plus the hun seems to be injured regularly…?

8 hours ago, OrlandoDon said:

So it’s Gordon and Souttar who will miss out, a little surprised at that. No clue if Gordon is a shadow of his former self but surely his experience helps and can’t see Kelly playing unless the other two get injured.

is there any real difference between Souttar, Hanley, and cooper? Guess the latter two are experienced premiership players and Souttar plays for a relatively new team to Scottish football. Plus the hun seems to be injured regularly…?

Aye, I'd like to have seen Gordon be given a chance. To be honest, I'd have no problem with him being number one at Pittodrie. I quite like Kelly as a goalie, but Motherwell fans don't seem to rate him at all (that dislike coincides with him being made captain, which Lewis never recovered from here). I'm not sure he's got much of a future for Scotland, but I guess he's young enough to be around for the next Euros. 

I'm surprised by Souttar and assume it must be a fitness thing. Although he was pap against the Netherlands (on his wrong side, in fairness), he's only 27 and will surely be around for the qualifiers, whereas Cooper and Hanley will probably retire. Of course, it could be because he's a Hun, which would make sense. With Jack a free agent, the squad is now Hun free. 

With Kelly allegedly signing for Huns the tinfoil hat wearing nut in me thinks his inclusion is to keep a Hun in the squad. Souttar’s form this season has been a bit iffy and as Rico says his performance in the Holland friendly wasn’t good which combined have probably gone against him. I probably would have taken him over Hanley though. 

Hoping to see Morgan and Conway get game time at Hampden tonight. 

Posted (edited)

I'm a little surprised by all that has gone in the last few days.  It actually makes it look like Clarke is very unprepared.  We have lost 3 first team players if you like, in Hickey, Patterson and Dykes and now it seems like anyone with a Scottish passport could get the call.  He's known for weeks that it was likely neither Hickey nor Patterson would make it yet our replacement only makes his debut a couple of weeks before the tournament which is a bit mad. 

The right back slot, assuming we go with three centre halves, is arguably the easiest position to play on the pitch.  Craig Burley played most of his international career there for Craig Brown and did a pretty good job.  We could easily stick someone athletic in there and get away with it.  I would be tempted to try McTominay at right wing back and Christie/Armstrong could replace him in midfield.

The forward thing is a bit weird too.  Dykes and Adams have always been our first choice forwards and Shankland has come on to a game this season.  Not sure why we are ripping up the game plan a week away from the finals by calling up players that have been nowhere near the team in Doak, Morgan and Conway.  If you want someone direct and with an eye for goal rather than a number 9 as such, then Forrest is the obvious solution.

Edited by wokinginashearerwonderland
2 hours ago, wokinginashearerwonderland said:

I'm a little surprised by all that has gone in the last few days.  It actually makes it look like Clarke is very unprepared.  We have lost 3 first team players if you like, in Hickey, Patterson and Dykes and now it seems like anyone with a Scottish passport could get the call.  He's known for weeks that it was likely neither Hickey nor Patterson would make it yet our replacement only makes his debut a couple of weeks before the tournament which is a bit mad. 

The right back slot, assuming we go with three centre halves, is arguably the easiest position to play on the pitch.  Craig Burley played most of his international career there for Craig Brown and did a pretty good job.  We could easily stick someone athletic in there and get away with it.  I would be tempted to try McTominay at right wing back and Christie/Armstrong could replace him in midfield.

The forward thing is a bit weird too.  Dykes and Adams have always been our first choice forwards and Shankland has come on to a game this season.  Not sure why we are ripping up the game plan a week away from the finals by calling up players that have been nowhere near the team in Doak, Morgan and Conway.  If you want someone direct and with an eye for goal rather than a number 9 as such, then Forrest is the obvious solution.

Paterson only got injured recently, and McRorie coming in makes complete sense. That's what would have happened if there were injuries in qualifying, as McRorie and Ralston are the natural challengers for that role. The McTominay shout is fairly terrible. You're not just playing a guy out of position, you're negating all the positives you get from playing him in his actual position. Right wing back isn't a difficult position, technically, but it requires total discipline, which certainly isn't McTominay's strong point. However, it's a 26 man squad, so if he wants to give that a try, there's nothing stopping him. 

Bringing Conway in doesn't rip up a game plan, but Dykes getting injured does. Again, Conway is just the next logical choice for that position, so if we lose one or both of Adams and Shankland then we have backup. The guys making up the numbers for that fourth (including Dykes) forward role will come and go as form dictates (Nisbet at the last Euros for example), so it's not surprising we're looking at an uncapped player. It is good that he's making the step up through the ranks though, a bit of natural evolution. 

As for Doak, I suspect he's been wanting to take him to a squad for some time now, but for injury. We're lacking in directness, and Forrest hasn't been that guy for some time (unless given 300 acres of space playing for the Tims), as was evidenced in the Gibraltar game. I have no doubt Clarke has been searching for someone that can offer something different for some time, hence all the rumours about random Englishmen, hence why he was keen to get Doak involved. Morgan is just a free hit in a large squad that is lacking in his role. It's not his first cap, he'll play if he's good enough. 

Overall, I don't expect our first eleven to change much. For Germany, I think he'll go:

--------------- Gunn

-------Porteous, Hendry, Tierney 

McRorie, MacGregor, Gilmour, Robertson 

------- McTominay, McGinn 

--------------- Adams

Not a brilliant half. We've moved the ball about quite nicely at times, even quick at times, but just not doing it in the final third. Shankland being served poorly, not much he can do if we don't get balls into the box. Ralston probably a little disappointing. Hanley looks unfit, which is very worrying. Clarke likes him, and he's fantastic when he's fit, but I've lost count over the years of the number of times I've made the point that Hanley always makes a mistake when he's not match sharp. I hope he either gets fit or gets dropped.

Not a terrible result, when you make heaps of changes in a friendly you can expect shakiness to occur. That has been a huge part in a lot of our recent games.

Never a pen either. 

Great to see Shankland score, and a lovely finish. Morgan looked good when he came on, and Conway wasn't pish, unlucky not to score.

Think Shankland needed that goal to lift his confidence. Was noticeable that all of the outfield players went to celebrate with him. Think McCrorie has to start in front of Ralston. Agree with Rico that Morgan looked good when he came on and think Conway looked like he might be decent option from the bench.