MálagaSheep Posted December 13, 2017 Report Posted December 13, 2017 Hola Amigos Cana beat a bowl o hamemade soup, so ive been experimenting a bit with the soup pan lately Chorizo, Tomato and roasted peppers with croutons and zest orange Tom Kha Gai French onion Thai sweet potato, chicken and basil Sweet potato, carrot, coriander and orange Just a little winter warmer for you lads in the Sna Quote
RicoS321 Posted December 13, 2017 Report Posted December 13, 2017 They look pretty phenomenal. I'm a bit lazy with my soups, leaving them a bit lacklustre at times. Div you use actual stock? I find this makes a big difference, but I don't eat a lot of meat, so I never have bones often enough. I struggle to make a really good veg stock too. Quote
MálagaSheep Posted December 13, 2017 Author Report Posted December 13, 2017 They look pretty phenomenal. I'm a bit lazy with my soups, leaving them a bit lacklustre at times. Div you use actual stock? I find this makes a big difference, but I don't eat a lot of meat, so I never have bones often enough. I struggle to make a really good veg stock too. I sometimes make ma own stock, depending on what we had the night before. Most o the times i buy cartons o stock from the local supermarket, easy and no hassle and tastes as good Quote
donsdaft Posted December 13, 2017 Report Posted December 13, 2017 Hiya min, you turning into Pheonix? You'll be asking folk's horoscope next. Looks great but I dinna like soup. I'll send you over Mrs Donsdaft though, she could live on the stuff. Quote
MálagaSheep Posted December 13, 2017 Author Report Posted December 13, 2017 Hiya min, you turning into Pheonix? You'll be asking folk's horoscope next. Looks great but I dinna like soup. I'll send you over Mrs Donsdaft though, she could live on the stuff. Fit u mean u dina like soup? Quote
donsdaft Posted December 13, 2017 Report Posted December 13, 2017 Hot liquid I canna bring a spoon to my mouth without wanting to cowk. I find it difficult to taste a sauce I'm making, usually get the wife to do it. Cold fruit soup's fine. Quote
MálagaSheep Posted December 13, 2017 Author Report Posted December 13, 2017 Hot liquid I canna bring a spoon to my mouth without wanting to cowk. I find it difficult to taste a sauce I'm making, usually get the wife to do it. Cold fruit soup's fine. I do worry about you at times! Bye the way, did u go to an all boys private School? Quote
donsdaft Posted December 13, 2017 Report Posted December 13, 2017 I have no interest in boy's private's whatsoever. Quote
Elgindon Posted December 13, 2017 Report Posted December 13, 2017 Hola min,they look superb.Am always making soup,but they dinna look nothing like that, Usually just random veg chucked in with a bit of stock,crusty bit o bread and cheese. Doing a starter for a Xmas gathering.Will look into one of your recipes... Quote
Buc Posted December 13, 2017 Report Posted December 13, 2017 Could live on soup especially thick home made veg . The grub coffee shop on the spital does amazing veggie/vegan soups . Quote
donsdaft Posted December 13, 2017 Report Posted December 13, 2017 What do Vegan's taste like? I know I'm asking someone who should know ;) Quote
RicoS321 Posted December 14, 2017 Report Posted December 14, 2017 Made a soup the nicht because of this thread. Thai sweet potato and red lentil. I probably won't have any of it, it's for the wife's lunch the morn. Made a bit of effort on it this time, it looks fine. Didnae take photaes as it's in a tupperware. Quote
OxfordDon Posted December 18, 2017 Report Posted December 18, 2017 Hola min,they look superb.Am always making soup,but they dinna look nothing like that, Usually just random veg chucked in with a bit of stock,crusty bit o bread and cheese. Doing a starter for a Xmas gathering.Will look into one of your recipes... Cullen skink, always a winner Quote
Buc Posted December 18, 2017 Report Posted December 18, 2017 What do Vegan's taste like? Just love that soup from that coffee shop at the top of the spital . You should try some DD. I know I'm asking someone who should know ;) Quote
Slim Posted December 18, 2017 Report Posted December 18, 2017 I make a mean chicken & chorizo gumbo, and beef pho. Quote
MálagaSheep Posted December 24, 2017 Author Report Posted December 24, 2017 My Spicy Lentil soup. I wish we decided to stay at home for Xmas dinner this year, I would o started making broth now with a fine bit o boiling beef. Cana be arsed gan out for dinner tomorrow now Quote
rocket_scientist Posted December 29, 2018 Report Posted December 29, 2018 I woke up this morning and there was a very strong, almost overwhelming smell of soup. It wasn't an offensive odour, it was quite fine actually but given that there is a fair distance between the kitchen and our bedroom and no cooking facilities (that I'm aware of) either in or adjacent to where we sleep, I couldn't understand where it might be coming from. I checked with a touch test and the wife was sleeping so it must've been a daughter up unfeasibly early and unlikelyly cooking. The smell of the soup was changing, sometimes stronger, sometimes with strong spices, sometimes more traditional broth, sometimes classic lentil and ham and I had to double check that I was actually awake and not dreaming this weirdness. After 118.6 units of alcohol (my drink tracker App informs me) in 7 days before my first alcohol-free day yesterday since the 21st, I now conclude that the side effect of this sudden abstinence is that my nostrils decided to trip out. They've settled now and the smell of soup has gone but what a bizarre and interesting start to the day. Think I'll get blootered in the pub this afternoon to get things back to normal. Quote
Elgindon Posted January 6, 2019 Report Posted January 6, 2019 Since this thread is up,made a soup starter for Xmas day - Butternut squash,sweet potato and ginger soup 2 x medium Butternut squash,skinned and chopped 2 x large sweet potato,peeled and chopped 3 x red onion,peeled and chopped 1 peeled stem of ginger teaspoon of Turmeric teaspoon of Cumin 2 cubes of chicken stock in about a pint of hot water coconut milk Heat/fry the onions in the soup pan with butter til soft.Add the veg and chicken stock.Heat for around 30 mins til soft.Add Turmeric and Cumin,and blend.Taste,and add coconut milk and/or water according to how sweet you want it and for thickness of soup This was supposed to do 6 on Xmas day,but also did 11 on boxing day Quote
Goldie03 Posted January 8, 2019 Report Posted January 8, 2019 My 2 fav soups recently have been beetroot & carrot and parsnip & apple, both with fresh ginger .......yummy Quote
rocket_scientist Posted January 8, 2019 Report Posted January 8, 2019 Loving the love for ginger lads Fresh raw ginger a highlight for me in Japanese cuisine. Quote
wee toon red Posted January 8, 2019 Report Posted January 8, 2019 Since this thread is up,made a soup starter for Xmas day - Butternut squash,sweet potato and ginger soup 2 x medium Butternut squash,skinned and chopped 2 x large sweet potato,peeled and chopped 3 x red onion,peeled and chopped 1 peeled stem of ginger teaspoon of Turmeric teaspoon of Cumin 2 cubes of chicken stock in about a pint of hot water coconut milk Heat/fry the onions in the soup pan with butter til soft.Add the veg and chicken stock.Heat for around 30 mins til soft.Add Turmeric and Cumin,and blend.Taste,and add coconut milk and/or water according to how sweet you want it and for thickness of soup This was supposed to do 6 on Xmas day,but also did 11 on boxing day How big a pot did you need to make soup for that many folk?! Quote
rocket_scientist Posted January 8, 2019 Report Posted January 8, 2019 How big a cauldron did you need to make soup for that many folk?! Fixed it for ye Quote
Elgindon Posted January 8, 2019 Report Posted January 8, 2019 Might have been a better idea,but used 2 pots 21 siblings and offspring at the old dears birthday on the 2nd.No soup though Quote