Tyrant Posted July 2, 2018 Report Posted July 2, 2018 There are good players out there we are familiar with, whether they are outwith our reach ££ wise or not? Jones/Malumba(Killie), Cadden (M/Well), McGeough(Hibs). Thought this AberDNA cash was going straight to player pool fund ? No one said that. They worded it cleverly. Quote
A llad insane Posted July 2, 2018 Report Posted July 2, 2018 No one said that. They worded it cleverly. Dont have the DNA myself, but i thought afc said all monies were going directly to player fund ? Quote
rocket_scientist Posted July 2, 2018 Report Posted July 2, 2018 My postie has had a ST for years. Buys them for his kids too. He told me today that he doesn't have enough points to get a Burnley ticket and is getting sick fed up with the direction AFC are going. AberDNA has been a brazen attempt to screw the fans. Just like Arsenal and most of the EPL clubs, the chairmen don't give a fuck for anything other than making money. That's great if this all translates to success on the pitch in a shiny new stadium. It would be tragic and utterly predictable if in the process, the heart and soul of the club gets lost. Quote
cruickc2 Posted July 2, 2018 Report Posted July 2, 2018 If he is a season ticket holder like he say's then his seat is automatically reserved for him up to the 16th July then it will be released to general sale. Quote
RicoS321 Posted July 2, 2018 Report Posted July 2, 2018 If he is a season ticket holder like he say's then his seat is automatically reserved for him up to the 16th July then it will be released to general sale. Away game min. Quote
Jute Posted July 2, 2018 Report Posted July 2, 2018 Dont have the DNA myself, but i thought afc said all monies were going directly to player fund ? When you sign up you get an email that say funds are split as follows: FIRST TEAM Directly supporting the Football Management Team’s budget by investing in the recruitment, development and retention of top talent to allow us to continue to compete and win at the highest levels. YOUTH ACADEMY Enhancing the AFC Youth Academy’s ability to identify, recruit, develop and inspire local young talent by creating experiences which will prepare young players for first team football. CREATING A HIGH-PERFORMANCE ENVIRONMENT To create a best-in-class Football Medicine, Sports Science and Performance Analysis support structure for all professional and Youth Academy players, ensuring they are as well equipped as they can be. As you can see it is quite woolly and definitely not a guarantee that money is going to first team only. Edit: could even argue that last bit opens door for funds to be diverted to Kingsford. Quote
CtS Posted July 2, 2018 Report Posted July 2, 2018 My postie has had a ST for years. Buys them for his kids too. He told me today that he doesn't have enough points to get a Burnley ticket and is getting sick fed up with the direction AFC are going. AberDNA has been a brazen attempt to screw the fans. Just like Arsenal and most of the EPL clubs, the chairmen don't give a fuck for anything other than making money. That's great if this all translates to success on the pitch in a shiny new stadium. It would be tragic and utterly predictable if in the process, the heart and soul of the club gets lost. There seems to be a myth that dna members are hoovering up the Burnley away tickets, and in doing so ‘true’ fans are missing out.....can someone explain this to me? I’ve also had season tickets for years, and I’ve done the dna thing - still don’t even qualify for phase 3. Am I doing it wrong? Seems to me the most ‘loyal’ fans, who both invest in, AND travel to support the team are gonna get the tickets. I’ve got no problem with that. This is all just another excuse for moaning Aberdonian cunts to go nuts on social media. Quote
Jute Posted July 2, 2018 Report Posted July 2, 2018 There seems to be a myth that dna members are hoovering up the Burnley away tickets, and in doing so ‘true’ fans are missing out.....can someone explain this to me? I’ve also had season tickets for years, and I’ve done the dna thing - still don’t even qualify for phase 3. Am I doing it wrong? Seems to me the most ‘loyal’ fans, who both invest in, AND travel to support the team are gonna get the tickets. I’ve got no problem with that. This is all just another excuse for moaning Aberdonian cunts to go nuts on social media. Season ticket for 2 years plus premium DNA purchased before last Friday is 140 points at a minimum which would put you into phase 3. Quote
CtS Posted July 2, 2018 Report Posted July 2, 2018 Season ticket for 2 years plus premium DNA purchased before last Friday is 140 points at a minimum which would put you into phase 3. Thought phase 3 was 145....? Quote
CtS Posted July 2, 2018 Report Posted July 2, 2018 My mistake, 155 for phase 2, and 140 for 3. Even so, I’m not getting one - and that’s fine. Quote
rocket_scientist Posted July 2, 2018 Report Posted July 2, 2018 There seems to be a myth that dna members are hoovering up the Burnley away tickets, and in doing so ‘true’ fans are missing out.....can someone explain this to me? I’ve also had season tickets for years, and I’ve done the dna thing - still don’t even qualify for phase 3. Am I doing it wrong? Seems to me the most ‘loyal’ fans, who both invest in, AND travel to support the team are gonna get the tickets. I’ve got no problem with that. This is all just another excuse for moaning Aberdonian cunts to go nuts on social media. For a start, I object to the myth that Aberdeen men are moaning cunts. I can assure you that moaning and embracing negatives are a Scottish psyche problem and most definitely not a North East exclusive. Nobody has a problem with the most deserving fans getting the tickets when demand exceeds supply. How could they? The problem is the relationship between the club and its fans. When a couple of thousand of us invested in the original shares issue, we were told we were guaranteed tickets at times like these and they specifically said shareholders first, ST holders second. That didn't last 20 years but I personally didn't mind. My giving a fuck about watching journeymen professional footballers in a red shirt is on a deep waning trend and it doesn't bother me. But this DNA thing is another lie, another method by which our chairman is taking the piss out of the fans. I'm amazed that otherwise sensible folk have forked out for it. My bridges were burned a long time ago. Quote
CtS Posted July 2, 2018 Report Posted July 2, 2018 That’s a fair response, and I’m not inclined to argue with any of it - apart from the bit about moaning Aberdonian cunts Genuinely interested in the share thing though, so there are no benefits attached to those shares now? You have nothing to show for that investment? Quote
RicoS321 Posted July 3, 2018 Report Posted July 3, 2018 Genuinely interested in the share thing though, so there are no benefits attached to those shares now? You have nothing to show for that investment? Like owning shares in any other company, you have the redeemable value of the shares plus the opportunity to turn up at the AGM and voting rights. That anything more was ever promised was astonishingly stupid and short-sighted. Let alone that it would be promised in perpetuity. I understand any complaints though, entirely. Just to add, I'm over 165 loyalty points and I don't have DNA membership. It seems that DNA is worth significantly more than attending away matches though. It's problematic. Whether directly or indirectly, it'll be being used to fund Kingsford too. Quote
rocket_scientist Posted July 3, 2018 Report Posted July 3, 2018 I'm not aware of any complaints from shareholders. The last AGM I attended was 10 years ago and I only went to 2 or 3 after the original Capitol debacle. I knew at the time it was an emotional investment rather than a financial one and I had the money there at the time. I don't think any of us could have predicted how badly things could have gone for AFC in the last 20+ years, the standard and mismanagement of Scottish football also being a contributing factor. But the DNA thing is simply another vehicle to rob fans of their money, of exploiting their "loyalty" to the club. It's so see through it's disgusting. We can count the amount of times that demand has exceeded supply for tickets over the last 20 years on one hand. That's the real tragedy. The product is losing its appeal. The missing thousands are growing, and soon to include my postman and his kids (he's probably not even 40 yet). One of my best mates has had a ST for years and goes with three of his kids. He told me last week that he regrets renewing this year and only did so cos one of his daughters is mad keen. He's not renewing next year as the daughter will be old enough to go with her mates. Like any business, it's not healthy to lose customers. That it's been done by the greed of one man pursuing his single agenda is an affront to our history. Dick Donald would be turning in his grave. Di Stefano would have retracted his sentiments. The irony is that the plan was to modernise Pittodrie. That was doable in the late 80's. The main contractor hijacked that plan. He got his nose in the trough, got paid for his work and proposed relocation when the paint was barely dry. So what was the point of paying him and wasting all that money? He's been a crocodile. He's sat and waited and waited and waited. In the meantime he neglected the maintenance of our only worthwhile asset on the balance sheet. Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted July 3, 2018 Report Posted July 3, 2018 Just to add, I'm over 165 loyalty points and I don't have DNA membership. It seems that DNA is worth significantly more than attending away matches though. It's problematic. Whether directly or indirectly, it'll be being used to fund Kingsford too. Exactly. There will be fans out there who use their spare cash to go to the football, and won't be able to afford the DNA membership. They could potentially lose out on big game away tickets because they don't necessarily have the spare cash for DNA. It's only £12 or £18 or whatever for a lot of folk, but for some folk that will be an amount too far. Should they be penalised for that, in spite of their loyalty to the club? It's an utter shambles that AFC have mixed the two schemes together. The club know who the most loyal fans are, the ones who go home and away. Regardless of anything else, they are the ones who should be offered first refusal of match tickets. Quote
Tyrant Posted July 3, 2018 Report Posted July 3, 2018 Exactly. There will be fans out there who use their spare cash to go to the football, and won't be able to afford the DNA membership. They could potentially lose out on big game away tickets because they don't necessarily have the spare cash for DNA. It's only £12 or £18 or whatever for a lot of folk, but for some folk that will be an amount too far. Should they be penalised for that, in spite of their loyalty to the club? It's an utter shambles that AFC have mixed the two schemes together. The club know who the most loyal fans are, the ones who go home and away. Regardless of anything else, they are the ones who should be offered first refusal of match tickets.[b/] Aye. Like Rico? Rico seems to be living proof that true loyalty gets you to the front of the queue. Obviously travels to the vast majority of games if he has enough points despite nae being a DNAer. Like CTS I've no problem with this. No DNAers get or expect to automatically skip the queue. Folk that can't afford it are unfortunately at a disadvantage but whether we like it or not (and we don't, I know) the modern game isn't for the "working class" anymore. Having said that I would argue that "loyalty" points should be based on actual attendance. I've no problem with a chunk of points being awarded for being a season ticket holder or even a bigger chunk for Black & Gold/DNA however if your season ticket goes unused a point should drop off. 2 points per away ticket bought (max one per Dons ID obviously) and 2 points for domestic cup home games and 4 for Europa games home and away. This is the only way to properly separate the Dons loyal () from the fakers. Although this still favours the more well-off because if you're poor there's no danger you can afford all that fitba at modern fitba prices. Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted July 3, 2018 Report Posted July 3, 2018 As I said, the two schemes shouldn't have been mixed together. It's the only thing I think that's wrong with DNA. The fact the club are actively encouraging the move away from the "working class" is disgusting, however, whether that's just the way the modern game is or not. Quote
RicoS321 Posted July 3, 2018 Report Posted July 3, 2018 Aye. Like Rico? Rico seems to be living proof that true loyalty gets you to the front of the queue. Obviously travels to the vast majority of games if he has enough points despite nae being a DNAer. Like CTS I've no problem with this. No DNAers get or expect to automatically skip the queue. I've never been living proof of anything other than: being a cunt can sometimes be rewarding. And in this case I'm clearly a fraud too. Season tickets plus cup and euro games has got me where I am in points. With the purchase of the home Burnley leg I was able to break the 165 point barrier by a couple. Leaving aside my lack of attendance and refusal to sign up to DNA, wear or purchase any club memorabilia, I am pretty much the number one fan. Quote
SeeBass Posted July 3, 2018 Report Posted July 3, 2018 I'm sitting on 55 points from last two seasons and that's having to travel four hours on a train to attend each home game too. It would have been nice to go Turf Moor especially seeing as I have family in Manchester who would have put me up for nothing. Quote
A llad insane Posted July 3, 2018 Report Posted July 3, 2018 For a start, I object to the myth that Aberdeen men are moaning cunts. I can assure you that moaning and embracing negatives are a Scottish psyche problem and most definitely not a North East exclusive. Nobody has a problem with the most deserving fans getting the tickets when demand exceeds supply. How could they? The problem is the relationship between the club and its fans. When a couple of thousand of us invested in the original shares issue, we were told we were guaranteed tickets at times like these and they specifically said shareholders first, ST holders second. That didn't last 20 years but I personally didn't mind. My giving a fuck about watching journeymen professional footballers in a red shirt is on a deep waning trend and it doesn't bother me. But this DNA thing is another lie, another method by which our chairman is taking the piss out of the fans. I'm amazed that otherwise sensible folk have forked out for it. My bridges were burned a long time ago. I was one of the ones who invested in the original shares issue, which now means pretty much nothing regarding priority booking of tickets, fooked if i'm going to invest again, been 'done over' by the club, aint happening a 2nd time. Quote
Tyrant Posted July 4, 2018 Report Posted July 4, 2018 I'm sitting on 55 points from last two seasons and that's having to travel four hours on a train to attend each home game too. It would have been nice to go Turf Moor especially seeing as I have family in Manchester who would have put me up for nothing. The amount of posts you've made about your lack of enthusiasm for the tie should put you on zero points for this! Quote
tlg1903 Posted July 4, 2018 Report Posted July 4, 2018 http://www.donssupporterstogether.com/loyalty-points/ DST email to the club. Fairly well put I would say, it will be interesting to see how the club responds. Quote
rocket_scientist Posted July 4, 2018 Report Posted July 4, 2018 http://www.donssupporterstogether.com/loyalty-points/ DST email to the club. Fairly well put I would say, it will be interesting to see how the club responds. Excellent e-mail. Unfortunately there's no response to it. The club can't say anything because they fucked it up and needed to fuck it up to flog their AberDNA shite. Another example of their true agenda. Milne doesn't give a fuck about neither the football nor the fans. Quote
TheDeeDon Posted July 4, 2018 Report Posted July 4, 2018 Excellent e-mail. Unfortunately there's no response to it. The club can't say anything because they fucked it up and needed to fuck it up to flog their AberDNA shite. Another example of their true agenda. Milne doesn't give a fuck about neither the football nor the fans. It was a very well put email, but the bit in bold sums up the problem with our club at the moment. Quote
Tyrant Posted April 30, 2019 Report Posted April 30, 2019 What's the verdict from the fans then? Is AberDNA a success? Failure? Jury still out? All I know is that, for whatever the reasons may be, we've have the worst two transfer windows for years. I would've expected better without the added boost of the DNA cash. McInnes must take responsibility although I appreciate that players will dick clubs about something hellish and when you're in our position you maybe don't have the luxury of dishing out ultimatums here, there and everywhere (and burning bridges in the process) but we need to find some middle ground. As it stands I've cancelled my DNA subscription and am unlikely to renew my season ticket. Even if the club was being run superbly like a well oiled machine what's the point when the referees are so inept that they take the competition out the matches with their abject dos cuntery. Quote