manc_don Posted June 15, 2018 Share Posted June 15, 2018 That was a proper game. Two teams playing great football and some brilliant goals. Delight to watch. Best international game I’ve seen in years, let alone World Cup Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tlg1903 Posted June 15, 2018 Share Posted June 15, 2018 Reminds you why you love football. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rocket_scientist Posted June 15, 2018 Share Posted June 15, 2018 The beautiful game. The first in this WC. Hope it's not the last. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest kiriakovisthenewstrachan Posted June 16, 2018 Share Posted June 16, 2018 The ref should have blown for full time after 85 minutes. I had Spain to win 3-2 in the predictor Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
donsdaft Posted June 16, 2018 Share Posted June 16, 2018 Let the whining begin. The poor wee angels canna sleep in these light nights. The Tunisians of course, will be far more used to it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rocket_scientist Posted June 16, 2018 Share Posted June 16, 2018 There are too many females in the crowd at these games. This is the Men's World Cup. Girls didn't play fitba until very recently. And they're shit at it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SeeBass Posted June 16, 2018 Share Posted June 16, 2018 I had £75 (8/5) on Ronaldo to Score Anytime and also got the benefit of that VAR decision in France vs Australia game as had £10 Griezmann First Goal (3/1). Not going daft on the World Cup betting after today's games are over might just leave with a tidy profit from first weekend's action. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted June 16, 2018 Share Posted June 16, 2018 Whilst women might be shite at playing the game, that lass Alex Scott totally pissed over Drogba & Neville with her insightful punditry during the France v Australia game. Also don't get me started on that fucking half wit Lawrenson. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SeeBass Posted June 16, 2018 Share Posted June 16, 2018 Big Al, what was the line Lawrenson came up with about the French player and his broken shoelaces?!?! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tom_widdows Posted June 16, 2018 Share Posted June 16, 2018 suffering from a dislocated showlace' or something along those lines French players acting was pathetic as was the referee. Had that ref been in charge of last nights game then Spain's first goal would have been disallowed. Had high hopes for the refereeing when I heard Collina was now in charge of it but instead its more of the same. The game has gone full circle from essentially being allowed to break players legs to being hauled up for having bad breath. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
OxfordDon Posted June 16, 2018 Share Posted June 16, 2018 Lawrenson has a serious fear of technology, or change, or both, judging by today's Fra/Aus commentary. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lencarl Posted June 16, 2018 Share Posted June 16, 2018 After watching the Iceland v Argentina match I shall be supporting Iceland as my team for as long as they are competing in the World Cup. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tlg1903 Posted June 16, 2018 Share Posted June 16, 2018 I'm supporting Portugal. My mum spends a lot of time out there and the locals are genuinely really nice to her. They she feels so comfortable out there takes a lot of pressure of me since she was widowed. And they play in red. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ten Caat Posted June 16, 2018 Share Posted June 16, 2018 aye Iceland get my vote too even despite what Arnason said..... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
baggy89 Posted June 17, 2018 Share Posted June 17, 2018 Am I missing something? Why does Linneker keep saying Germany won the 1998 World Cup. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dons8321 Posted June 17, 2018 Share Posted June 17, 2018 Am I missing something? Why does Linneker keep saying Germany won the 1998 World Cup. Because the English hate France? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted June 17, 2018 Share Posted June 17, 2018 Some goal by coutinho. Enjoying Neymar getting mugged by brhrami, hopefully someone does the prick some damage Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BobbyBiscuit Posted June 17, 2018 Share Posted June 17, 2018 Whilst women might be shite at playing the game, that lass Alex Scott totally pissed over Drogba & Neville with her insightful punditry during the France v Australia game. Also don't get me started on that fucking half wit Lawrenson. Alex Scott is good. "Half wit" for Lawrenson is too kind to the monotonous cunt. Why could he not work out that it was a penalty because after the defender had played the ball, Griezman had played it and there was then contact - different phase of play. The boy has the easiest/cushiest/nicest job in the world - watch live football in different places across the world, in the biggest sporting events in the world and he's still a miserable prick who gives off the impression that he hates the game even more than he hates his sorry self. The prick also seems to forget that he played for Ireland, not England. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted June 17, 2018 Share Posted June 17, 2018 Neymar. Total waste of air and space. Brazil would have been better starting firmino, team player and not actually a fanny. The Swiss played well, this World Cup is ruining prediction scores left right and centre, all started off with the Russian result Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madbadteacher Posted June 17, 2018 Share Posted June 17, 2018 I thought Brazil looked pedestrian, Neymar JR was fannying about too much and Switzerland deserved a draw Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted June 18, 2018 Share Posted June 18, 2018 Alex Scott is good. "Half wit" for Lawrenson is too kind to the monotonous cunt. Why could he not work out that it was a penalty because after the defender had played the ball, Griezman had played it and there was then contact - different phase of play. The boy has the easiest/cushiest/nicest job in the world - watch live football in different places across the world, in the biggest sporting events in the world and he's still a miserable prick who gives off the impression that he hates the game even more than he hates his sorry self. The prick also seems to forget that he played for Ireland, not England. Aye, that's it in a nutshell. His pretendy "in my day" shtick is tiresome. He' just really shite at his job. The jingoism is alive and well at this world cup still though. I naively assumed they'd tone it down a bit, but not the case. The pathetic anti-German stance on display is galling. The build up to England's game 4 days in advance, pathetic. Just once, it would be great to see a neutral, well-presented world cup that gives us real insight into the teams and celebrates the tournament. Everything through the Enlish lens is fucking tedious. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lencarl Posted June 18, 2018 Share Posted June 18, 2018 Watching the Brazil game and listening to the commentary from these two idiots and their love fest for Brazil was cringeworthy. No respect for Switzerland at all until they scored and shut these two up. Well done Switzerland And WTF is this with the lady pundit on the panel in the studio. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
baggy89 Posted June 18, 2018 Share Posted June 18, 2018 I thought Brazil looked pedestrian, Neymar JR was fannying about too much and Switzerland deserved a draw I'd have been hauling him off. He may be very talented and comfortable taking people on and beating them but to do it over and over losing the ball and/or being fouled stopped his team developing any kind of rhythm. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ten Caat Posted June 18, 2018 Share Posted June 18, 2018 Although hoping for Tunisia to get a result against Guffland I am a realist and expect them to lose. Guffland I would then expect to end up facing Colombia in the round of 16, again I think they will get through this. Depending on results it was then supposed to be Brazil or Germany in the quarters. Haven't looked at the tables or done the maths but with both of them getting piss poor results in the opening games I really hope we don't find that half of the draw suddenly opening up and giving the Guffies a relatively easy march to the semi's. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted June 18, 2018 Share Posted June 18, 2018 How did Belgium look? I know it was Panama they were playing, but the smaller sides are proving their worth again. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...