Stewart Posted October 23, 2017 Share Posted October 23, 2017 http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/41727937 Another match to be played at Murrayfield. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyrant Posted October 24, 2017 Share Posted October 24, 2017 Hopefully the SRU will be able to use the cash to sign some decent players for the Autumn tests. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rocket_scientist Posted October 24, 2017 Share Posted October 24, 2017 Hopefully rugby will die. A “sport” invented by a posh kid who couldn’t play fitba, a “sport” which developed into the maximum for physical contact, designed to satiate the confusions arising in pubescent boys stuck in an all male environment, “looked after” by “masters” and paedophiles. The formation of the scrum was the giveaway. Who other than a disturbed individual could come up with that? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
donsdaft Posted October 24, 2017 Share Posted October 24, 2017 Well Celtic.......ah, I see what you mean. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyrant Posted October 24, 2017 Share Posted October 24, 2017 Hopefully rugby will die. A “sport” invented by a posh kid who couldn’t play fitba, a “sport” which developed into the maximum for physical contact, designed to satiate the confusions arising in pubescent boys stuck in an all male environment, “looked after” by “masters” and paedophiles. The formation of the scrum was the giveaway. Who other than a disturbed individual could come up with that? Celtic. I'm no rugby fan. But at the same time I've got nothing against it. I think cricket and netball are shite. But as a fan of other sports how can you not appreciate that other people may enjoy the tactical and physical element of rugby? Or the.. ball going in the net in netball? As a gentleman who must be in his mid 50s are you nae a bit old for hoping for anything you don't like to "die" when it has absolutely no effect on your day to day life? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ten Caat Posted October 24, 2017 Share Posted October 24, 2017 Loved rugby at school, played for the school team at stand off if the football team weren't playing that day. The bit about paedophiles is just laughable and borderline libellous. In a world of snowflakery where elf n safety takes precedence over everything and football has become virtually a non contact sport, rugby is perhaps the one sport that is actually (at professional level) the one sport that has evolved into being even more physical than it was 20-30 years back. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rocket_scientist Posted October 24, 2017 Share Posted October 24, 2017 As a gentleman who must be in his mid 50s are you nae a bit old for hoping for anything you don't like to "die" when it has absolutely no effect on your day to day life? Christ min don't take it literally and don't take me seriously. I don't. Loved rugby at school, played for the school team at stand off if the football team weren't playing that day. I loved playing rugby at school too and was a stand off too. Did it in first and second year (as well as football) but when we had a choice when I was 13, I chose football instead of it. What I didn't love was the manner in which we were given no choice about it though when we were about 14/15. Some dickhead teacher who had been a sub at Murrayfield or something - maybe he played for Scotland once, Iain/Ian Spence - came to our school and banned fitba, the first thing he did! Neale Cooper was at my school and the year below me but unlike the rest of us (who played football together outside school), I don't think he played rugby every Saturday morning whilst the rest of us did. Got some stories from the old rugby matches The bit about paedophiles is just laughable and borderline libellous. No, not libellous because it wasn't directed at anyone. You can't libel a "sport". I thought you might have seen and understood the nuance. It was a rant against the public school system (that gave us egg-chasing) and spawned the old perverts who run the country, Ted Heath and Nigel Lawson and Cyril Smith all having been outed recently. It's also a rant against the beardy weirdo cunts who are enthused by the game, their fucking antics at uni, the way they conducted themselves in the Kirkgate Bar, their preposterously pretentious sing-alongs, sticking their dicks into each others pints and finding that hilarious and the "atmosphere" they generate, all thinking that they're Erchie. It's tribalism for the posh and the farmers and something that cunts who were shit at football can do so as the boy says, it doesn't affect my life and they can crack on. But they're mostly wankers, as indeed he said about golf clubs and tennis being snooty, another generalism that hits the spot actually. In a world of snowflakery where elf n safety takes precedence over everything and football has become virtually a non contact sport, rugby is perhaps the one sport that is actually (at professional level) the one sport that has evolved into being even more physical than it was 20-30 years back. Yes it has become more physical and as a consequence we're seeing more stuff on the news about paralysed people etc. There was probably always unfortunate neck breaks and all that and yes, it could be the elf and safety culture thats putting more of the wheelchair rugby victims in the spotlight. This is an interesting debate. Malcom Gladwell highlighted the head injuries and dementia etc. arising from American Football and even here, in fitba, there was some recent stuff about headers being damaging for your health. For me, you know what you're signing up for when playing any sport. A squash ball could make you go blind in one eye. You can die going for a jog - although most joggers dying might make the world a less boring place may be an argument there - so there will always be risks in anything. I'm all for letting people know the risks and sharing the data. I just don't like rugby and the people who celebrate it. Sir Clive Woodward? Billy Beaumont? Every other guffy rugger bugger? The Hastings brothers? Just wankers, the lot of them. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tlg1903 Posted August 31, 2019 Share Posted August 31, 2019 Joint bottom of the league so this thread is defo due a resurrection Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted August 31, 2019 Share Posted August 31, 2019 Joint bottom of the league so this thread is defo due a resurrection Spot On TLG Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ten Caat Posted August 31, 2019 Share Posted August 31, 2019 Aye JK is a fucking hoot tonight, everyone demanding Levein essentially sacks himself. Did any of you see their new Japanese loan signing? Fuck me, he looks about 14. Celtic Boys Club coaches will be queuing up...... However at least they c@nts don't hide after a shitty result. Went for a gloat on Hivs.net and as per usual they've fired it onto lockdown. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
A llad insane Posted August 31, 2019 Share Posted August 31, 2019 Where do i sign up ? jambos Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted September 14, 2019 Share Posted September 14, 2019 Word has it there is a protest before their game Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheDeeDon Posted September 14, 2019 Share Posted September 14, 2019 Word has it there is a protest before their game There was certainly protests after the game wanting Levein and the Board sacked. I don't think the HIVs are any better either, they are getting very vitriolic towards Heckinbottom by all accounts, next weeks Edinburgh derby could be interesting. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jute Posted September 15, 2019 Share Posted September 15, 2019 There was certainly protests after the game wanting Levein and the Board sacked. I don't think the HIVs are any better either, they are getting very vitriolic towards Heckinbottom by all accounts, next weeks Edinburgh derby could be interesting. Already being branded the P45 derby. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ayrshire_don74 Posted September 16, 2019 Share Posted September 16, 2019 from october last year hearts would be bottom of table.. they are losing a lot of money also have a huge bloated squad and their wages are pretty close to ours.. its delicious Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ten Caat Posted September 16, 2019 Share Posted September 16, 2019 It's admittedly funny, as is the similar situation across the city at Hibs. But right now our form is barely any better. The fans in Edinburgh want the managers of both teams replaced. Law of averages says that if they do, they must hit upon a competent manager(s) sooner or later and in those circumstances could easily overhaul us unless we sort our shit out. What may scupper that is (especially in the Hibs situation)….they have managers on biggish money and on longish contracts, similar to the situation with McInnes. We won't be firing him any time soon because of that unless we find ourselves in relegation trouble in late Feb/early March of any season he's contracted for. I suspect that Hearts will follow that philosophy. Hibs might not even be able to act at all if it were to happen to them Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ten Caat Posted March 20, 2020 Share Posted March 20, 2020 2 days on from Hearts asking all full time playing and non-playing staff to take a 50% pay cut, still no concrete word on whether anyone has accepted or not. Only one that looks confirmed as rejecting is Dikamona who supposedly wants the pay-off and termination of contract option. The news today that the government will subsidise up to 80% of an employee's wage up to a maximum of £2500/month really won't make a helluva lot of difference to the likes of Naismith and Boyle, even if they were to accept the pay cut. Ironically, however, it will make a helluva difference to their biggest saleable asset in Aaron Hickey, who's one of the lowest paid first team members.....when Levein was still in charge he tried to tie him down to a new improved contract but the loon refused to sign it....likely due to the reported Man City interest. I hope we are keeping a close eye on the situation. Souttar did his achilles a few weeks back and wasn't expected back till the new season. I know we have a full complement of central defenders at present but I honestly don't see Devlin tolerating being 4th choice into whatever transpires beyond the summer. Events have obviously now taken over and Souttar is unlikely to miss too much of whatever the SPFL decide to make of this/next season. As a Scotland international, he is likely to be one of their higher earners. I certainly couldn't envisage him wanting to hang around if Hearts go down to the Championship in whatever fashion. He's a Dons fan and we could certainly afford to a least match what he gets now should he decide to reject the pay cut and take the pay-off. I don't see anyone else up here affording him outwith the arse cheeks (and I really don't think either would be interested in him anyway) and Hibs who again I don't think would want him (for entirely different reasons to the cheeks). I suppose a promoted Yinited could stretch to it in a similar way they've splashed out on Shankland but I suspect he'd choose us over returning there. Of course any English Championship club could match/beat us though. Anyway.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rocket_scientist Posted March 20, 2020 Share Posted March 20, 2020 Instead of speculating, shouldn't you be acting on the call for the national interest? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ten Caat Posted March 21, 2020 Share Posted March 21, 2020 Instead of speculating, shouldn't you be acting on the call for the national interest? I absolutely will do when the letter drops through my letterbox Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted March 21, 2020 Share Posted March 21, 2020 I absolutely will do when the letter drops through my letterbox Is that how it works, genuinely? They send a letter? Do you have to do a test to ensure you're fit or whatever? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rocket_scientist Posted March 21, 2020 Share Posted March 21, 2020 Is that how it works, genuinely? They send a letter? Do you have to do a test to ensure you're fit or whatever? No they haven't tested. The front line NHS staff, doctors as well as nurses may be spreaders. Many retired staff have volunteered already without waiting to be asked. Given the immediate need, not to mention the retraining and training required for working with oxygen and ventilators, the sooner we get all hands on deck the better and it still won't be enough. It will at least save some lives. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted March 21, 2020 Share Posted March 21, 2020 No they haven't tested. The front line NHS staff, doctors as well as nurses may be spreaders. I meant competency testing rather than virus testing. Just the basics like, so that errors can be avoided, new procedures understood and so on. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ten Caat Posted March 21, 2020 Share Posted March 21, 2020 My understanding is that (the intention is to have) those retired less than a year will receive a bit of training specifically to do with Covid 19 and be deployed to acute wards. Those retired between 1 and 3 years will be deployed to less acute areas....care of the elderly/community hospitals etc. I would fall into this group As it stands I don't think theyre looking to have those retired longer than 3 years return at present. England and Wales certainly have sent out their letters asking nurses and doctors to stand by but I don't think the govt has yet passed the legislation to allow unregistered nurses to re-register......and also provide indemnity insurance. Of course some who have very recently retired may still have a valid registration (the remaining period of their last official registration prior to retiring). I cant really see any great obstacle to them returning immediately should they wish to. In all cases reregistering will be free of charge supposedly. EDIT....I just checked the NMC website. They have sent out emails yesterday to all nurses who have retired/left the nursing register within the last 3 years. I found mine in my spam folder. So I have now added my name to list willing to return. It confirms that the legislation allowing us to do so has not yet gone through and also confirms theyre not looking for nurses who have been gone longer than 3 years for now. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted March 21, 2020 Share Posted March 21, 2020 Good stuff min. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rocket_scientist Posted June 2, 2020 Share Posted June 2, 2020 Highlighting a "conflict of interest" is so Scottish. Not bad, two negatives to express a positive. The barriers to understanding philanthropy include mistakenly thinking that they don't have anything to give themselves, a failure of empathy and compassion and an extremely limited imagination. It's ignorant to label the man a saviour. Donating because he can is wonderful. It's how the money is spent that matters. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...