rocket_scientist Posted June 2, 2020 Report Posted June 2, 2020 Hearts getting relegated, the third biggest-supported club is bad for Scottish football. I severely doubt that they would've been relegated anyway if the SPFL hadn't made the insane decision to terminate early, unlike UEFA and the EPL. League reconstruction was always on the cards. Change is required. It's not working. It will work even less if Hearts aren't contributing to the top flight. Once the new set-up is agreed, relegation and promotion will be agreed and that's that. This happened once before of course, when AFC were frighteningly close to the bone. Scepticism is good. Bribery is not. Philanthropy is great. In the real world, there is always give and take. I see nothing but positives from that article and I'm the king of cynics. Only a Scotsman can focus primarily on the negatives, in keeping with his true nature. I say this as a Scotsman living in NE Scotland, born in NE Scotland from ancestors going back at least 1,000 years who were also from the North East. We can moan not just for Scotland, but for the whole world and yet we can't see how this attitude holds the majority of us back. It is perhaps why some of our poppies grow the tallest. Quote
donsdaft Posted June 3, 2020 Report Posted June 3, 2020 The most major change of all came last time Celtic were at nine league titles in a row. The always claimed the reconstruction came to stop them making it ten. Quote
Jute Posted July 3, 2020 Report Posted July 3, 2020 Hearts and Thistle’s legal challenge thrown out but there is now an arbitration process. No idea what that means for if they are relegated yet. https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/53251721 Quote
tom_widdows Posted July 3, 2020 Report Posted July 3, 2020 Arbitrarion as I understand it means any document relating to the disagreement must be handed over by law. Hearts and Thistle are relegated however they will no doubt be compensated and the SPFL will need to fully explain what happened with Dundee etc and the other alleged claims they made about TV contracts etc Wonder how long Cockwomble will hold on to his main job and/or his new role at UEFA? Quote
Jute Posted January 15, 2021 Report Posted January 15, 2021 Looks like they might be in the shite again as they are talking about suspending the Championship. https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/55684189 Quote
tom_widdows Posted March 27, 2021 Report Posted March 27, 2021 (edited) 18months since the last post on this thread (Thought it was in the 'football' section. Perhaps it should be) Following on from their little trip to Brora they lost at home to Queen of the South and fans had a little protest outside the stadium. Edited March 27, 2021 by tom_widdows Quote
BigAl Posted March 27, 2021 Report Posted March 27, 2021 A serious question needs to be asked on this thread Given the farce of taking everyone to court last year how the fuck did this thread go eighteen months without a single person on here posting ? There seriously was just so much potential material Quote
tom_widdows Posted March 27, 2021 Report Posted March 27, 2021 I reckon it being in the 'AFC' board might have had an impact. I was looking for it during the week and eventually had to do a proper 'search' to release it from its storage spot next to the Ark of the Covenant Quote
OxfordDon Posted March 27, 2021 Report Posted March 27, 2021 9 minutes ago, tom_widdows said: I reckon it being in the 'AFC' board might have had an impact. I was looking for it during the week and eventually had to do a proper 'search' to release it from its storage spot next to the Ark of the Covenant Don't suppose you happened to see a box in there labelled "next goal"? Quote
tom_widdows Posted March 27, 2021 Report Posted March 27, 2021 'We have top men working on that right now' Quote
Jute Posted March 27, 2021 Report Posted March 27, 2021 Outside Budge’s house apparently. Last two from outside the stadium. Going to get promoted as Champions yet still not enough for them. Quote
tom_widdows Posted March 27, 2021 Report Posted March 27, 2021 Gotta love the fickle nature of football fans. Quote
HaarDon Posted March 28, 2021 Report Posted March 28, 2021 2 hours ago, Jute said: Can't they just call the RSPB and get it removed? 1 Quote
tlg1903 Posted March 28, 2021 Report Posted March 28, 2021 Jesus, talk about biting the hand that saved you. Budge doesn't deserve that however pish they have been. Great to see this thread back as it always make me smile. And keep it here for that matter, it's one of the quirks of the site and it has been for long enough to garner respect. 1 Quote
baggy89 Posted March 29, 2021 Report Posted March 29, 2021 What's the significance of the the way "OUt" has been printed? Quote
Jute Posted March 29, 2021 Report Posted March 29, 2021 On 27/03/2021 at 18:04, BigAl said: A serious question needs to be asked on this thread Given the farce of taking everyone to court last year how the fuck did this thread go eighteen months without a single person on here posting ? There seriously was just so much potential material There is another thread in the football chat section. Might be worth merging threads to keep it all together. Quote
OxfordDon Posted March 30, 2021 Report Posted March 30, 2021 23 hours ago, baggy89 said: What's the significance of the the way "OUt" has been printed? That proofreading is a skill yet to reach Gorgie 2 Quote
BigAl Posted June 29, 2023 Report Posted June 29, 2023 Well its been a while but time to resurrect it. Anyone with some free time and in need of a laugh head o'er to Jambos Kickback and in particular this thread which despite being about their Summer 2023 has pretty much been dedicated to discussing the merits of our signings https://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/199366-hearts-summer-transfer-thread/page/206/ Pages 206/207 through to around 217 What a shower of deluded fucks (with one or two notable exceptions) It appears as if we're currently living rent free in their heads. Devlin a better player than Clarkson Shinnie - shite Williams - shite Nicky Devlin - must be shite as part of a Livi team that couldn't make the top six. Cormack phoning every fan updating them on signings. Clarkson fee at least £1.5m Trust me, that's just a very small sample that goes on for page after page Go feast Excellent comedy value 1 1 Quote
manc_don Posted June 29, 2023 Report Posted June 29, 2023 I do love Devlin (Phoenix version), but he’s not the same player as Clarkson, not by any stretch. Nor the same caliber. I have missed this thread 1 Quote
Panda Posted June 29, 2023 Report Posted June 29, 2023 A few months ago they were talking on there about how Hearts had never been in better shape. Everything was amazing. They had a thread dedicated to discussing how to extend the stadium to 25,000, or even 30,000, due to the growth of the club since consecutive third place finishes would earn them so much coin that they would develop a gap that Aberdeen and Hibs would never be able to bridge. This is a club that have won three cups in 60 years. Every season they find the notion that Aberdeen could finish above them as laughable, despite the fact I think we've done it 10 times in the last 11 years. You'd think they'd have learned by now. 2 Quote
BigAl Posted June 29, 2023 Report Posted June 29, 2023 1 hour ago, manc_don said: I do love Devlin (Phoenix version), but he’s not the same player as Clarkson, not by any stretch. Nor the same caliber. I have missed this thread Aye thon Cammy Devlin is a right little shite on the park. Exactly the sort of player you love to have in your team and opposition fans never tire of booing. Agree, that him and Clarkson are different types of midfielders and on the evidence to date Clarkson is the one with skill 1 Quote
BigAl Posted June 29, 2023 Report Posted June 29, 2023 12 minutes ago, Panda said: A few months ago they were talking on there about how Hearts had never been in better shape. Everything was amazing. They had a thread dedicated to discussing how to extend the stadium to 25,000, or even 30,000, due to the growth of the club since consecutive third place finishes would earn them so much coin that they would develop a gap that Aberdeen and Hibs would never be able to bridge. This is a club that have won three cups in 60 years. Every season they find the notion that Aberdeen could finish above them as laughable, despite the fact I think we've done it 10 times in the last 11 years. You'd think they'd have learned by now. Completely deluded bunch Quote
OxfordDon Posted June 29, 2023 Report Posted June 29, 2023 8 hours ago, BigAl said: Anyone with some free time and in need of a laugh head o'er to Jambos Kickback and in particular this thread which despite being about their Summer 2023 has pretty much been dedicated to discussing the merits of our signings I mean, I suppose they need to talk about something. 1 Quote
Jute Posted July 3, 2023 Report Posted July 3, 2023 Ginnelly signs for Swansea City. https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/66067678 1 Quote
Jute Posted July 11, 2023 Report Posted July 11, 2023 Hearts confirm they will continue with 650 away allocation. No problem with this as they are putting own fans first but going to make getting a ticket fun. Wonder if Burrows will follow through on his idea of giving them a similar allocation at Pittodrie. 1 Quote