mizer Posted March 10, 2008 Report Posted March 10, 2008 don't think Clangers will be getting much votes at the minute, but after yesterdays performance has converted peoples thoughts of getting in a new goalie have changed. Quote
manc_don Posted March 10, 2008 Report Posted March 10, 2008 I think it should be between a new goalie and Langfield as Soutar has already said he doesn't want to stay. Great performance by him but he wants offski. Quote
Jute Posted March 10, 2008 Report Posted March 10, 2008 I think it should be between a new goalie and Langfield as Soutar has already said he doesn't want to stay. Great performance by him but he wants offski. Would suggest the reason he wanted away is that manager was not picking him and had dropped him for a keeper who kept making numerous mistakes. Would think if has a run in the team then might change his mind about going. I would keep Souter and punt Langfield if a better repalcement can be found/afforded. Quote
BigAl Posted March 10, 2008 Report Posted March 10, 2008 One swallow disnae make a summer as they say Jury still out on this one for me, but credit where credit is due Soapy had a fecking great game yesterday Quote
manc_don Posted March 10, 2008 Report Posted March 10, 2008 One swallow disnae make a summer as they say Jury still out on this one for me, but credit where credit is due Soapy had a fecking great game yesterday I'd rather keep langfield than soapy as well. I'm still unconvinced by him. Don't get me wrong. He had a great game yesterday, but I concur with what you said. Quote
Guest Caroline B Posted March 10, 2008 Report Posted March 10, 2008 Neither of the current incumbents make me feel confident, despite a good display from soapy yesterday. Remember Langfield had a great game against Dnipro and subsequently had a few other decent matches too. Goalies are by the nature of their position, under the microscope more than outfield players, which is why we always have a debate about our own. I'd like to see a new keeper. It's up to Soapy and Clangers to prove us wrong Quote
capitalsharpie Posted March 10, 2008 Report Posted March 10, 2008 I was impressed by the way Langfield came back from being stuck on the bench to be much more assertive in and aound the six yard box. He also seemed to dictate and instruct the defence much better than Severin was dong. I always think that your keeper is only as good as the defence in front of him. If the defence put a keeper under constant pressure then eventually he will nake a mistake. We have had such an unsettled back line this year that I reckon you can only judge the true quality of these keepers when the defence as a unit begins to gel. I say wait until next season for the tango man to sort out the shambles of a defence (and fuck any rotational policy he may be scheming, it just dont work) and then see. Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted March 10, 2008 Report Posted March 10, 2008 When Langfield came back into the side there was a tangible improvement in the side. The midfield and defence are a total Jakki Brambles at times and as CS said, bound to put the keeper under intense pressure. Shipping as many goals as we have recently is bound also to badly affect the confidence of the keeper, who ever it is. I'd still give Langfield my vote but Soutar has done very little wrong and yesterday was absolutely outstanding. Quote
stonefish100 Posted March 10, 2008 Report Posted March 10, 2008 Neither are good enough, both have their good points but overall their bad points are too pronounced. Baith of them are shite when the ball is in the air, Soapy especially is glues to his line most of the time. I'd make getting a new goalie a top priority and have Langfield as number 2 next season. Just please God, nae Ryan fucking Esson Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted March 10, 2008 Report Posted March 10, 2008 Just please God, nae Ryan fucking Esson Indeed. Quote
bilbobaggins Posted March 10, 2008 Report Posted March 10, 2008 I thought Soutar should have had the ball or at least decapitated VOH for their goal. The ball was almost inside the six yard box. Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted March 10, 2008 Report Posted March 10, 2008 I thought Soutar should have had the ball or at least decapitated VOH for their goal. The ball was almost inside the six yard box. Aye, true, that's related to Soutar's seeming reluctance to come off his line. Quote
minijc Posted March 10, 2008 Report Posted March 10, 2008 One good game and he is now the best thing since sliced bread, oh dear aberdeen fans really are a fickle bunch. New keeper, wouldna mind an experienced one with that guy from the blootoon coming in aswell to learn the league and get a few games here and there. Quote
BigAl Posted March 10, 2008 Report Posted March 10, 2008 Just please God, nae Ryan fucking Esson Ouch ya fucker, had forgotten all about him Is he still training with us Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted March 10, 2008 Report Posted March 10, 2008 Ouch ya fucker, had forgotten all about him Is he still training with us The veritable "elephant in the room". Quote
BigAl Posted March 10, 2008 Report Posted March 10, 2008 The veritable "elephant in the room". Sure he's a good lad to have around the dressing room though Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted March 10, 2008 Report Posted March 10, 2008 Sure he's a good lad to have around the dressing room though That tea won't make itsel. Quote
BigAl Posted March 10, 2008 Report Posted March 10, 2008 That tea won't make itsel. Since as you're offering, black ,one sugar please Any chocie biscuits Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted March 10, 2008 Report Posted March 10, 2008 Since as you're offering, black ,one sugar please Any chocie biscuits Mizer had a couple of Bandits . . . . . Quote
BigAl Posted March 10, 2008 Report Posted March 10, 2008 Mizer had a couple of Bandits . . . . . Nae sure I want to hear about that Quote
bilbobaggins Posted March 10, 2008 Report Posted March 10, 2008 4 are more satisfying, apparently. Quote
Harcus Posted March 10, 2008 Report Posted March 10, 2008 I suppose it does fill a hole in the afternoon. Quote
OrlandoDon Posted March 10, 2008 Report Posted March 10, 2008 Paul Gallacher? I think his loan deal and contract at Norwich expires in the summer. Quote