BobbyBiscuit Posted March 12, 2008 Report Posted March 12, 2008 There are reports on Radio Scotland that Gretna could be out of business by tomorrow lunchtime. Apparently it'll cost them £30k to play us on Saturday - wages, transport, accomodation - and they simply can't raise that in time. Sorry if this has been posted elsewhere. Take it we'll just get the points? Quote
SWA Posted March 12, 2008 Report Posted March 12, 2008 There are reports on Radio Scotland that Gretna could be out of business by tomorrow lunchtime. Apparently it'll cost them £30k to play us on Saturday - wages, transport, accomodation - and they simply can't raise that in time. Sorry if this has been posted elsewhere. Take it we'll just get the points? The hail situation is a fucking farce that's bin on the cards for a while. Ah think the game will still go ahead but we'll be playing a depleted team o youngsters and loan players Quote
mizer Posted March 12, 2008 Report Posted March 12, 2008 Glad I didn't book my train up for the game on hearing that, unlike the others Quote
Kowalski Posted March 12, 2008 Report Posted March 12, 2008 we'll be playing a depleted team o youngsters and loan players That our team or Gretna's? Quote
SWA Posted March 12, 2008 Report Posted March 12, 2008 That our team or Gretna's? Baith probably Quote
CtS Posted March 12, 2008 Report Posted March 12, 2008 Aberdeen v Gretna - OFF? Will they award us a three nil victory? If so we should let young MaGuire claim a hatrick to get his stats up a wee bit. Quote
TheChimp Posted March 12, 2008 Report Posted March 12, 2008 I'll go to Gretna and play on Saturday for free. I'll even get up there on a megabus. I'll chip in with an og too. Quote
Dr. Mambo Posted March 12, 2008 Report Posted March 12, 2008 Just shows what a disgrace it is having a diddy team like gretna in the premier league in the first place. No ground of their own and no support should never have been allowed. Quote
Cowie Posted March 12, 2008 Report Posted March 12, 2008 on BBC now aswell: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/g/gretna/7291519.stm Notice that the table hasn't been updated yet & gretna are still on 16 points. Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted March 12, 2008 Report Posted March 12, 2008 on BBC now aswell: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/g/gretna/7291519.stm Notice that the table hasn't been updated yet & gretna are still on 16 points. Anyone actually know what happens if they can't show they can fulfil their fixtures? Seems like a foregone conclusion that they won't. Quote
bilbobaggins Posted March 12, 2008 Report Posted March 12, 2008 I guess our club and fans will be out of pocket from this. I guess it highlights the dangers of having a single benefactor for the club. Let's hope Wiggy doesn't fall into one of his pockets and drowns anytime soon. Quote
Jute Posted March 12, 2008 Report Posted March 12, 2008 Glad I didn't book my train up for the game on hearing that, unlike the others Its just the administrator trying to scare the league into giving them more cash.....................I hope if not looks like 4 extra at the Cove v Wick game. Quote
mizer Posted March 12, 2008 Report Posted March 12, 2008 Club still planning game to go ahead http://www.afc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/News/clubNewsDetail/0,,10284~1263686,00.html Aberdeen Football Club is preparing as normal for this weekend's Clydesdale Bank Scottish Premier League fixture against Gretna at Pittodrie, despite the uncertainty surrounding the visitors' future. Dons Managing Director Duncan Fraser revealed he had been in close dialogue with the SPL throughout this afternoon (Wednesday) but, that as things stand, there was no indication one way or the other as to whether Gretna will be able to fulfil the fixture. "I have been speaking regularly with Ian Blair at Hampden and he, in turn, has been in contact with the administrator and we are hopeful that the situation will be resolved tomorrow. It is obviously out of Aberdeen's hands and whether we play at the weekend will be down to the administrator and Gretna's owner and, while nobody takes any pleasure at their predicament, it is in everyone's interest for a swift outcome one way or the other. "However, we naturally want to play and we are hopeful that Gretna will be here on Saturday as planned. If they are not then there are obviously ramifications, not just for Aberdeen, but for every club in the SPL." Quote
Kowalski Posted March 12, 2008 Report Posted March 12, 2008 I think they are talking about removing everybody's points gained against Gretna, rather than awarding us 3 points, if Gretna can't fulfill their fixtures. Either way, what a total shambles. Quote
SWA Posted March 12, 2008 Report Posted March 12, 2008 I think they are talking about removing everybody's points gained against Gretna, rather than awarding us 3 points, if Gretna can't fulfill their fixtures. Nae much else they can dee min? Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted March 12, 2008 Author Report Posted March 12, 2008 There's only a few games til the split, should they not just give those teams due to play Gretna three points?* *obviously, had we played them 3 times already, I wouldn't be saying this. Quote
Ajja Posted March 12, 2008 Report Posted March 12, 2008 More annoying is that UTD got tossed by them twice and so would benefit more from the removal of results. Quote
phil-stellaartois-mcguire Posted March 12, 2008 Report Posted March 12, 2008 I think they are talking about removing everybody's points gained against Gretna, rather than awarding us 3 points, if Gretna can't fulfill their fixtures. Either way, what a total shambles. what about the teams that were beaten by or drew with Gretna? do they get points added? Quote
capitalsharpie Posted March 12, 2008 Report Posted March 12, 2008 Thats a good arguement PS, it would be much simpler to award us the points. Surely. Quote
Ajja Posted March 12, 2008 Report Posted March 12, 2008 From what I can see the teams above us in the league would lose the following: Motherwell - 3 wins 9 points UTD - 1 win 3 points Hibs - 3 wins 9 points Falkirk - 2 wins 6 points Hearts - 1 win, 2 draws 5 points We have 1 win, 1 draw 4 points. Although I think the SPL will bail them out to avoid a points readjustment this scenario wouldn't be a disaster for us. Maybe Motherwell and Hibs will lend them the money Gaining 5 points on Motherwell and Hibs would be nice, although dropping one behind UTD not so good. Mid table would be: 3 Dundee Utd 42 4 Motherwell 37 5 Hibernian 32 6 Falkirk 31 7 Hearts 31 8 Aberdeen 30 Quote
capitalsharpie Posted March 12, 2008 Report Posted March 12, 2008 WARNING WARNING WARNING! STAT ATTACK STAT ATTACK STAT ATTACK Quote
Ajja Posted March 12, 2008 Report Posted March 12, 2008 WARNING WARNING WARNING! STAT ATTACK STAT ATTACK STAT ATTACK Quote
capitalsharpie Posted March 12, 2008 Report Posted March 12, 2008 Even celtic reducing ticket prices for uninteresting game?. Now, I wonder if that would work with anybody else? Quote