DantheDon Posted May 14, 2021 Share Posted May 14, 2021 Wouldn't be a great signing. At 30 years of age he doesn't have much room for improvement and he hasn't been all that great over the course of his career. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HaarDon Posted May 14, 2021 Share Posted May 14, 2021 Im going to go against the grain here and think JET could be a decent signing tbh. He's obviously shown he's got skill and composure and with Glass and Russell, he must just be a good signing and has aerial threat. I also dont believe for a minute he's our no.1 striker target so what's not to like? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slim Posted May 14, 2021 Share Posted May 14, 2021 I don’t think he’d be a good fit for us but if he’s free and wages are not too high, good option to throw on from the bench to give opposition defenders something different to contend with. Too often we're in a position where our game plan is not really working and you look to our bench and see the same usual faces that are not going to change anything. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted May 14, 2021 Share Posted May 14, 2021 34 minutes ago, Slim said: I don’t think he’d be a good fit for us but if he’s free and wages are not too high, good option to throw on from the bench to give opposition defenders something different to contend with. Too often we're in a position where our game plan is not really working and you look to our bench and see the same usual faces that are not going to change anything. Agree with this. We haven't had anything from the bench that caused confusion and made life difficult for defenders since magennis. That said, I don't think jet really bothered anyone with hold up play, it was more when he got turned and facing the goal when he caused problems. He barely won a header against Considine but he was half decent when shifted onto McKenzie. I'd like to see us do better. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chris Frae Killie Posted May 14, 2021 Share Posted May 14, 2021 Marley Watkins has been released by Bristol. Worth bringing back? I dont think we've played any decent attacking football since he left! Won't score us many goals but helps us build attacks. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slim Posted May 14, 2021 Share Posted May 14, 2021 If McGinn is leaving, Watkins would be an adequate replacement. Not as a “No. 9” though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted May 14, 2021 Share Posted May 14, 2021 Can't say the standard of player we're being linked with is filling me with any great enthusiam for next season. To be honest, it seems to be pretty much the same bog standard of players that McInnes pursued latterly Don't think it is going to get any better than Brown & Gallacher to be honest Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tup1 Posted May 14, 2021 Share Posted May 14, 2021 He was the best player on the pitch when we played Livvy recently so there's that. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted May 14, 2021 Share Posted May 14, 2021 1 hour ago, tup1 said: He was the best player on the pitch when we played Livvy recently so there's that. Fuck me, if that's your criteria for signing players nothing has changed since the Curtis Main show in the cup semi a few years back at Hampden. With the greatest of respect, I'll pass on that being our criteria for signings Oh and he wasn't even their best player, never mind the best on the pitch 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tom_widdows Posted May 14, 2021 Share Posted May 14, 2021 The spectre of Nick Blackman looms large Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RedStarTorphins Posted May 14, 2021 Share Posted May 14, 2021 2 hours ago, tup1 said: He was the best player on the pitch when we played Livvy recently so there's that. Curtis Main was the best player on the pitch against once. That’s not scouting, it’s lazy Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HaarDon Posted May 14, 2021 Share Posted May 14, 2021 (edited) We havnt even finished this season yet and Glass is bringing in quality with back ups I believe. He's pouncing on a decent player here in JET (if true) and has a very good defender and midfielder already. More quality will come I've no doubt. I much prefer his recruitment strategy than waiting the last minute for mediocrity like D.M. did. Edited May 14, 2021 by HaarDon Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted May 14, 2021 Share Posted May 14, 2021 1 hour ago, HaarDon said: We havnt even finished this season yet and Glass is bringing in quality with back ups I believe. He's pouncing on a decent player here in JET (if true) and has a very good defender and midfielder already. More quality will come I've no doubt. I much prefer his recruitment strategy than waiting the last minute for mediocrity like D.M. did. Main, Taylor and Wilson were all signed early in their windows, as were Gleeson, Forrester, Tansey and Ojo. McInnes regularly signed players early in the window giving himself plenty of time to recruit further when he realised his signings were absolute horseshite. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RedStarTorphins Posted May 14, 2021 Share Posted May 14, 2021 2 hours ago, HaarDon said: We havnt even finished this season yet and Glass is bringing in quality with back ups I believe. He's pouncing on a decent player here in JET (if true) and has a very good defender and midfielder already. More quality will come I've no doubt. I much prefer his recruitment strategy than waiting the last minute for mediocrity like D.M. did. You can’t get any more mediocre than Clark fucking Robertson Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RedStarTorphins Posted May 14, 2021 Share Posted May 14, 2021 5 hours ago, BigAl said: Fuck me, if that's your criteria for signing players nothing has changed since the Curtis Main show in the cup semi a few years back at Hampden. With the greatest of respect, I'll pass on that being our criteria for signings Oh and he wasn't even their best player, never mind the best on the pitch Their best player that day was Chidi Nwakali Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HaarDon Posted May 15, 2021 Share Posted May 15, 2021 58 minutes ago, RedStarTorphins said: You can’t get any more mediocre than Clark fucking Robertson Arent a few clubs looking at him? Could be shite. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HaarDon Posted May 15, 2021 Share Posted May 15, 2021 2 hours ago, RicoS321 said: Main, Taylor and Wilson were all signed early in their windows, as were Gleeson, Forrester, Tansey and Ojo. McInnes regularly signed players early in the window giving himself plenty of time to recruit further when he realised his signings were absolute horseshite. Aye pish ones. Glass has signed 3 very good players (if the JET rumours are true) before the season has ended. I should have written decent players not fringe pish. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted May 15, 2021 Share Posted May 15, 2021 5 hours ago, HaarDon said: Aye pish ones. Glass has signed 3 very good players (if the JET rumours are true) before the season has ended. I should have written decent players not fringe pish. I think Brown will be the next Hartley, good for a couple of months then a wee injury sees him unable to recover. I didn't see anything about him in our last encounter that suggests he could do a job for us, but hopefully as a coach he'll give us something. Jet is a player who converts his chances against us. Gallagher has had a poor season but otherwise should be a good signing. If McInnes had been making these signings we'd be questioning them (correctly). Like all the signings in our catchment they'll be borderline hit or miss. Much of it is down to luck. Jet would be an error probably. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HaarDon Posted May 15, 2021 Share Posted May 15, 2021 I think Brown wont set the heather alight but his massive experience will benefit us hugely- way more than Hartley could have. I also feel in terms of his own style or play, will just pick up a wage and take it easy in midfield and just do the basics (but very well). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted May 15, 2021 Share Posted May 15, 2021 10 minutes ago, HaarDon said: I also feel in terms of his own style or play, will just pick up a wage and take it easy in midfield and just do the basics (but very well). But Brown has never been that type of player, he's nae exactly pirlo. He needs to be at people and in their faces and he's noticeably not been doing that this season which detracts from his game. We don't need another midfielder that can pass the ball ten yards sideways. I don't believe his discipline will hold up in the face of his waning legs either. Hopefully he'll prove me completely wrong. Either way, I don't think it tells us much about Glass' ability to recruit or show a progression in that area from McInnes. An area where we were extremely lacking. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HaarDon Posted May 15, 2021 Share Posted May 15, 2021 1 hour ago, RicoS321 said: But Brown has never been that type of player, he's nae exactly pirlo. He needs to be at people and in their faces and he's noticeably not been doing that this season which detracts from his game. We don't need another midfielder that can pass the ball ten yards sideways. I don't believe his discipline will hold up in the face of his waning legs either. Hopefully he'll prove me completely wrong. Either way, I don't think it tells us much about Glass' ability to recruit or show a progression in that area from McInnes. An area where we were extremely lacking. Aye that was my point. I still think he will be a very good addition to the squad and an important player for a season or two. If that's the start of our rebuild I'll take it. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dons8321 Posted May 15, 2021 Share Posted May 15, 2021 On 01/05/2021 at 17:14, RicoS321 said: For the masochists among you - http://www.hesgoal.com/news/79918/Rangers_vs_Aberdeen.html Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ayrshire_don74 Posted May 15, 2021 Share Posted May 15, 2021 clark robertson .. deary me an insipid shitebag Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RedStarTorphins Posted May 15, 2021 Share Posted May 15, 2021 Martindale quoted as saying he expects Jay Emmanuel Thomas to sign for us next week. I think Cormack & Glass need to re-define their definition of “quality signings”. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted May 15, 2021 Share Posted May 15, 2021 1 hour ago, RedStarTorphins said: Martindale quoted as saying he expects Jay Emmanuel Thomas to sign for us. For the love of fuck...... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...