Slim Posted June 23, 2021 Share Posted June 23, 2021 On the other hand, that means we are now looking to sign a defender that our management team considers not to be as good as Clark Robertson. Failing that, whoever they find sleeping on a bench outside of Atlanta United's reserve team stadium. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jute Posted June 23, 2021 Share Posted June 23, 2021 Not sure if this had been posted but Ethan Ross confirmed as moving on. https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp/sport/football/aberdeen-fc/3256294/ethan-ross-decides-not-to-return-to-aberdeen/?fbclid=IwAR00rKvaZSwt-qPc5c1lEb19wBCy3-BPUEPDnLs_HbIJsb1URuGYz41adXg Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted June 23, 2021 Share Posted June 23, 2021 3 hours ago, Jute said: Not sure if this had been posted but Ethan Ross confirmed as moving on. https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp/sport/football/aberdeen-fc/3256294/ethan-ross-decides-not-to-return-to-aberdeen/?fbclid=IwAR00rKvaZSwt-qPc5c1lEb19wBCy3-BPUEPDnLs_HbIJsb1URuGYz41adXg That's pish, think he'll turn into a very good player. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jute Posted June 23, 2021 Share Posted June 23, 2021 12 minutes ago, RicoS321 said: That's pish, think he'll turn into a very good player. I liked look of him but his game time was going to be limited with us having so many midfield players. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
OxfordDon Posted June 23, 2021 Share Posted June 23, 2021 8 hours ago, Slim said: On the other hand, that means we are now looking to sign a defender that our management team considers not to be as good as Clark Robertson. Failing that, whoever they find sleeping on a bench outside of Atlanta United's reserve team stadium. Presumably not someone sleeping on a bench inside the stadium, we've already tried him. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jute Posted June 24, 2021 Share Posted June 24, 2021 Mark Gallagher out on loan to Forfar. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RedStarTorphins Posted June 24, 2021 Share Posted June 24, 2021 4 minutes ago, Jute said: Mark Gallagher out on loan to Forfar. I’d imagine there will be a few sent out. Barron, Virtanen and probably one or two others. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
KennyFuckinPowers Posted June 26, 2021 Share Posted June 26, 2021 Apparently Ramirez has been granted his Work Permit and will sign this coming week. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jute Posted June 28, 2021 Share Posted June 28, 2021 Ramirez signs. https://www.afc.co.uk/2021/06/28/us-international-striker-joins-the-dons/ Guys record over last few years is pretty poor. Really surprised he got a work permit. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HaarDon Posted June 28, 2021 Share Posted June 28, 2021 Ramirez deal done. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HaarDon Posted June 28, 2021 Share Posted June 28, 2021 Oops sorry Jute. Bit pished Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted June 28, 2021 Share Posted June 28, 2021 4 minutes ago, Jute said: Ramirez signs. https://www.afc.co.uk/2021/06/28/us-international-striker-joins-the-dons/ Guys record over last few years is pretty poor. Really surprised he got a work permit. The article says: "subject to securing a visa". Maybe it's easier to get a visa as a footballer with a fixed contract? No idea. They're obviously either fairly confident it'll be fine, or they're using it as a bit of good news to sell season tickets. Either way, should be an interesting one, welcome aboard CR9. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panda Posted June 28, 2021 Share Posted June 28, 2021 15 minutes ago, Jute said: Ramirez signs. https://www.afc.co.uk/2021/06/28/us-international-striker-joins-the-dons/ Guys record over last few years is pretty poor. Really surprised he got a work permit. You know what they say about statistics.... Was watching a couple of YouTube videos of him, appears to be good in the air - a lot of goals from headers. Also bit of pace about him, although some of the defending against him was woeful. He even has his own chant which is quite catchy. Basically the "Vamos mi Sevilla" chant, but changed to:- Vamos Christian Vamos Christian Vamos Christian Vamos Christian Ramirez Cant find a video of the actual chant or where I even heard it (may have actually been an Aberdeen fan suggesting it when he was first linked weeks ago) but here's the Sevilla version. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted June 28, 2021 Share Posted June 28, 2021 What does vamos mean, and why couldn't we use the English equivalent? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tlg1903 Posted June 28, 2021 Share Posted June 28, 2021 If he's any good the songs will write themselves Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HaarDon Posted June 28, 2021 Share Posted June 28, 2021 Whenever I hear Ramirez I think of Highlander. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chris Frae Killie Posted June 28, 2021 Share Posted June 28, 2021 I am delighted with this signing. He ticks all the boxes for me. You don't get called up to play for the US if you are pish and he was called up less than 2 years ago. I'm looking forward to seeing how he gets on. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted June 28, 2021 Share Posted June 28, 2021 1 hour ago, RicoS321 said: What does vamos mean, and why couldn't we use the English equivalent? Not sure Go Christian really works Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wokinginashearerwonderland Posted June 28, 2021 Share Posted June 28, 2021 47 minutes ago, Chris Frae Killie said: I am delighted with this signing. He ticks all the boxes for me. You don't get called up to play for the US if you are pish and he was called up less than 2 years ago. I'm looking forward to seeing how he gets on. I am totally the opposite and really unenthused by the last few people in the door. Jenks, Gurr, Ramirez just look like a continuation of the crap we signed on loan in January. Was really pleased to get Brown and Gallagher but these other guys?? Looking at his stats on Wikipedia, looks like Ramirez has done very little since 2017. 14 goals in the last four seasons - Darren Mackie would be disappointed with that Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SeeBass Posted June 28, 2021 Share Posted June 28, 2021 Feels like we're turning into the football equivalent of the Harlem Globetrotters!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elgindon Posted June 28, 2021 Share Posted June 28, 2021 (edited) 59 minutes ago, wokinginashearerwonderland said: I am totally the opposite and really unenthused by the last few people in the door. Jenks, Gurr, Ramirez just look like a continuation of the crap we signed on loan in January. Was really pleased to get Brown and Gallagher but these other guys?? Looking at his stats on Wikipedia, looks like Ramirez has done very little since 2017. 14 goals in the last four seasons - Darren Mackie would be disappointed with that Ach lets see what he does at least.Its been a mixed bag of signings right enough.In Glass's own words,man management is his strong point,he may think he can get something out of each of them. Cant imagine Cormack settling for mediocrity if thats how some of them pan out.Still hoping for a tasty signing or 2 yet though Edit - Just earned a "posting machine badge". Am a bit overwhelmed to be honest..... Edited June 28, 2021 by Elgindon Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wee toon red Posted June 28, 2021 Share Posted June 28, 2021 With a centre back, centre mid and centre forward now signed, that’s the spine of the team in place so I don’t expect too many more signings. maybe another centre back and a wide player and that’ll be that, especially given there are a lot of noises about youth being given a chance this season. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RedStarTorphins Posted June 28, 2021 Share Posted June 28, 2021 1 hour ago, wee toon red said: With a centre back, centre mid and centre forward now signed, that’s the spine of the team in place so I don’t expect too many more signings. maybe another centre back and a wide player and that’ll be that, especially given there are a lot of noises about youth being given a chance this season. Need a winger, a centre half & a 3rd striker too, surely? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tlg1903 Posted June 28, 2021 Share Posted June 28, 2021 I think a lot will depend on what happens with ferguson Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wee toon red Posted June 29, 2021 Share Posted June 29, 2021 9 hours ago, RedStarTorphins said: Need a winger, a centre half & a 3rd striker too, surely? At a guess McGinn will be viewed as a striker this year if we're playing a 4-3-3, so that's Ramirez, Jet, McGinn and Ruth. We unquestionably need a centre back and a winger and I'd also argue a left back but I suppose Consi and Hayes can cover there. I'd be surprised to see much activity beyond that unless a couple of players are sold, with Ferguson being the prime candidate for that and likely needing replaced if/when he goes. Lewis, Woods Ramsay, Gurr McRorie, Devlin, Gallagher, Considine, ONE TO COME IN MacKenzie, Hayes Brown, Ferguson, Jenks, Campbell, McGeouch, Ojo Kennedy, Hedges, McLennan, ONE TO COME IN Ramirez, JET, McGinn, Ruth That's a 25 man squad, with other youngsters like Ngwenya, Duncan and Virtanen on the fringes. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...