Slim Posted February 4 Share Posted February 4 The football equivalent of voting for Trump because he was funny in the primaries debates. 4 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
redordead Posted February 4 Share Posted February 4 I couldn't care less if he had a season ticket at tannadice if he does a good job. I do agree that he's a bit of a dinosaur but he shouldn't make mistakes over and over like baz. If we want to change things, we need a foreign coach with a style of play who doesn't expect to finish behind the OF and wants to disrupt the status quo. If you keep playing Scottish style football with our budget, you're always going to lose to teams playing that way with a bigger budget. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted February 4 Share Posted February 4 Warnock is in the city Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted February 4 Share Posted February 4 7 minutes ago, BigAl said: Warnock is in the city Told you he was spotted at the airport. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
OrlandoDon Posted February 4 Share Posted February 4 1 hour ago, Panda said: Again, what is a safe hire? What is "steadying the ship"? You say Robson needed his hand held and was inexperienced, but actually his interim spell was a success. So why is Warnock as interim so crucial? Well done on missing my point. I couldn't give a fuck if he goes to bed wearing Rangers pyjamas. Someone - was either you or another poster - said that he would "stick it" to the Old Firm. What is that exactly? And what makes you think he's the man to stick it to them? It's a risky and bizarre appointment, and is a cop out from the club because the only way they need four months to find a new manager, less than a year after they were supposed to begin a new manager search, would be if they were totally clueless. Hiring Warnock is them throwing a bone to distract the dog. Already explained. It’s a safer hire than Leven (who would also buy us time as an intern) or some new up and comer for example. As long as it’s clear from the start it’s intern and short term. Guy is a short term fix, loaded with experience, not much he hasn’t seen in the game. I think that’s pretty obvious that he’s safer than leven or the likes. I’d take this over Lennon, lambert, Ross, or all the crap floating around. There’s very few immmediate and available hires that I find appealing to take us forward long term. i didn’t say hiring warnock was crucial, where did that come from? I said his hire made sense. Given the last three managers have been a bit of a mess, plus the transfer front has brought in some real stinkers, and our current squad is so imbalanced, a football ‘audit’ makes sense. Take a step back, it appears the manager isn’t the only problem. I think what cormack is doing is smart. hiring a new guy right away means it’s just the manager that’s the problem. I think it’s bigger than that, and a new manager immediately masks over the bigger issues. Who in the club is owning the last 3 failed managers and an absolute mess of a current squad? steadying the ship - Robson was all over the place, again due to lack of experience and never having managed. This guy has tons of experience. Doesn’t buy success but you’d like to think he has a keener eye to play players and the team correctly, and he’s been in this type of situation before. stick it to the old firm - no clue who said that or why any of our coaches would be considered the guy to do that?? Some see it as risky, all appointments come with risk. But experience has value. What’s occurring is not a cop out but cormack taking a deeper look to see if there bigger issues to fix. taking us backwards - if he gets us relegated I’ll agree, but for the most part we’ve been horrible to watch all year and results have been shit. We’re on pace for bottom 6 and no Europe next year. How much more backwards can we get? Our squad is piss too, as is , for the most part, our formation and style of play. The only way to take us backwards is relegation. If he stays with us beyond the summer and becomes a long term appointment then I have concerns. before yesterday we were 5 points ahead of 11th and the relegation playoff, drawing and struggling with with two teams around us. You trusted robson to turn us around? A guy who has never been responsible for a club in his life, and never faced a relegation battle perhaps? Nothing he was showing suggested he could turn it around. As for the comment regarding injuries etc, do you have any rationale or evidence to suggest the guy does not know how to coach/train with modern ‘safe’ methods?? What robson did to shinnie for example and how he expected him to play every game and the demands of his role could be seen as prehistoric and putting his health at risk! Your comment is just random and clutching at straws. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
OrlandoDon Posted February 4 Share Posted February 4 3 hours ago, Slim said: The football equivalent of voting for Trump because he was funny in the primaries debates. And if we are third or fourth at the end of the season it doesn’t matter. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted February 4 Share Posted February 4 2 hours ago, Kowalski said: Told you he was spotted at the airport. Where and when did you tell me. Must have missed it mate Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted February 4 Author Share Posted February 4 1 hour ago, OrlandoDon said: Already explained. It’s a safer hire than Leven (who would also buy us time as an intern) or some new up and comer for example. As long as it’s clear from the start it’s intern and short term. Guy is a short term fix, loaded with experience, not much he hasn’t seen in the game. I think that’s pretty obvious that he’s safer than leven or the likes. I’d take this over Lennon, lambert, Ross, or all the crap floating around. There’s very few immmediate and available hires that I find appealing to take us forward long term. i didn’t say hiring warnock was crucial, where did that come from? I said his hire made sense. Given the last three managers have been a bit of a mess, plus the transfer front has brought in some real stinkers, and our current squad is so imbalanced, a football ‘audit’ makes sense. Take a step back, it appears the manager isn’t the only problem. I think what cormack is doing is smart. hiring a new guy right away means it’s just the manager that’s the problem. I think it’s bigger than that, and a new manager immediately masks over the bigger issues. Who in the club is owning the last 3 failed managers and an absolute mess of a current squad? steadying the ship - Robson was all over the place, again due to lack of experience and never having managed. This guy has tons of experience. Doesn’t buy success but you’d like to think he has a keener eye to play players and the team correctly, and he’s been in this type of situation before. stick it to the old firm - no clue who said that or why any of our coaches would be considered the guy to do that?? Some see it as risky, all appointments come with risk. But experience has value. What’s occurring is not a cop out but cormack taking a deeper look to see if there bigger issues to fix. taking us backwards - if he gets us relegated I’ll agree, but for the most part we’ve been horrible to watch all year and results have been shit. We’re on pace for bottom 6 and no Europe next year. How much more backwards can we get? Our squad is piss too, as is , for the most part, our formation and style of play. The only way to take us backwards is relegation. If he stays with us beyond the summer and becomes a long term appointment then I have concerns. before yesterday we were 5 points ahead of 11th and the relegation playoff, drawing and struggling with with two teams around us. You trusted robson to turn us around? A guy who has never been responsible for a club in his life, and never faced a relegation battle perhaps? Nothing he was showing suggested he could turn it around. As for the comment regarding injuries etc, do you have any rationale or evidence to suggest the guy does not know how to coach/train with modern ‘safe’ methods?? What robson did to shinnie for example and how he expected him to play every game and the demands of his role could be seen as prehistoric and putting his health at risk! Your comment is just random and clutching at straws. I think a lot of what you say is reasonable. I just don't see him as a safe manager because he's experienced. If we signed John Hughes or Mark McGhee, none of us would be describing it as safe. That's what Warnock is - the English version. However, he doesn't have the experience of football in this country, which immediately works against him as an interim manager, because of the time constraints. He's less safe than John Hughes. Robson was a tactical fud, but he generally had players playing for him and there seemed to be a togetherness and no lack of effort. We could see on Saturday that the players were working hard and were playing for each other. I think there's a large risk that an arsehole could undermine that. Maybe Warnock has aged well and is no longer a screaming bellend, I don't know. We have guys like Miovski who are in form and need continuity, which I'm sure Leven could have provided for a bit, while we did a proper search. Warnock could really upset a fine balance, with a swearing bull in a China shop approach where it's not needed or wanted. The players could down tools (like butcher at Hibs). For me, I don't see the safety that you point to. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panda Posted February 4 Share Posted February 4 3 hours ago, OrlandoDon said: Already explained. It’s a safer hire than Leven (who would also buy us time as an intern) or some new up and comer for example. As long as it’s clear from the start it’s intern and short term. Guy is a short term fix, loaded with experience, not much he hasn’t seen in the game. I think that’s pretty obvious that he’s safer than leven or the likes. I’d take this over Lennon, lambert, Ross, or all the crap floating around. There’s very few immmediate and available hires that I find appealing to take us forward long term. i didn’t say hiring warnock was crucial, where did that come from? I said his hire made sense. Given the last three managers have been a bit of a mess, plus the transfer front has brought in some real stinkers, and our current squad is so imbalanced, a football ‘audit’ makes sense. Take a step back, it appears the manager isn’t the only problem. I think what cormack is doing is smart. hiring a new guy right away means it’s just the manager that’s the problem. I think it’s bigger than that, and a new manager immediately masks over the bigger issues. Who in the club is owning the last 3 failed managers and an absolute mess of a current squad? steadying the ship - Robson was all over the place, again due to lack of experience and never having managed. This guy has tons of experience. Doesn’t buy success but you’d like to think he has a keener eye to play players and the team correctly, and he’s been in this type of situation before. stick it to the old firm - no clue who said that or why any of our coaches would be considered the guy to do that?? Some see it as risky, all appointments come with risk. But experience has value. What’s occurring is not a cop out but cormack taking a deeper look to see if there bigger issues to fix. taking us backwards - if he gets us relegated I’ll agree, but for the most part we’ve been horrible to watch all year and results have been shit. We’re on pace for bottom 6 and no Europe next year. How much more backwards can we get? Our squad is piss too, as is , for the most part, our formation and style of play. The only way to take us backwards is relegation. If he stays with us beyond the summer and becomes a long term appointment then I have concerns. before yesterday we were 5 points ahead of 11th and the relegation playoff, drawing and struggling with with two teams around us. You trusted robson to turn us around? A guy who has never been responsible for a club in his life, and never faced a relegation battle perhaps? Nothing he was showing suggested he could turn it around. As for the comment regarding injuries etc, do you have any rationale or evidence to suggest the guy does not know how to coach/train with modern ‘safe’ methods?? What robson did to shinnie for example and how he expected him to play every game and the demands of his role could be seen as prehistoric and putting his health at risk! Your comment is just random and clutching at straws. Fair play for answering all the points. I still don't agree it'a a safe appointment, I think it's a risk, even short term. And I'd rather we had our new manager in earlier. I was up for giving Robson a chance because he had been coaching for years, knew the club, and had watched closely all the mistakes the previous three managers had made. So I would say that did suggest he could turn it around, and short term he did. In hindsight, he should have been assistant to another manager. You're saying Cormack is taking a deeper look at the issues - that remains to be seen. As for the training/injures comment, that wasn't me, was Kowalski I think. Listen, he's got the job now. If it works out well and Aberdeen appoint a cracking manager for next season, then I've got it wrong. Hey, I got Goodwin and, eventually, Robson wrong. Good luck to the mad bastard. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
OrlandoDon Posted February 4 Share Posted February 4 (edited) Clarity!!! Safer higher, not safe. Not who I’d want but I get it and it makes sense to me. Much better this way than repeat the Robson process with leven, much better than bringing in Lennon, lambert, or Ross. There are no standout candidates, much like when we hired Robson. Perhaps we should have done this last year and had a warnock type mentor and prepare Robson? We need a review of football operations as the last three years have not gone as wanted. I personally would hold Gunn equally responsible for the shape of the team and squad. Ive been with an organization who have done something very similar, hire an old head to oversee while an assessment is done. Perhaps in the summer we’re hiring Neil along with a new director of football? Hiring a new permanent manager now is just papering over cracks. Edited February 4 by OrlandoDon Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted February 5 Author Share Posted February 5 9 hours ago, OrlandoDon said: Clarity!!! Safer higher, not safe. Not who I’d want but I get it and it makes sense to me. Much better this way than repeat the Robson process with leven, much better than bringing in Lennon, lambert, or Ross. There are no standout candidates, much like when we hired Robson. Perhaps we should have done this last year and had a warnock type mentor and prepare Robson? We need a review of football operations as the last three years have not gone as wanted. I personally would hold Gunn equally responsible for the shape of the team and squad. Ive been with an organization who have done something very similar, hire an old head to oversee while an assessment is done. Perhaps in the summer we’re hiring Neil along with a new director of football? Hiring a new permanent manager now is just papering over cracks. I've been involved with many of these types of things, and almost always they have failed spectacularly when large consultancies have come in. More often than not, they have a template that they follow (there needs to be, as often they employ graduates with zero practical experience), which generally means implementing expensive systems that they have experience with, regardless of fitness for purpose or existing system compatibility. They skew advice towards areas that they can embed personnel or provide continued consultancy in the longer term. It's usually a bit like weight watchers, where 80% of the customers return (because they've failed). I have no experience of football consultancies, but Dave strikes me as exactly the type of director I used to work with, who'd basically go for the most well known consultancy company (McKinsey, Cap Gemini, one of the big four auditors for comparison in the business/finance world), and they'd offer a fantastic display of professionalism before sending out the cream of the shite to blue sky the fuck out of our out of the boxing. Perhaps there isn't such a thing in fitba, but it would surprise me. There's bound to be a company out there with a list of clients that'd make Dave's legs quiver. I don't know if the Warnock appointment is better or worse than the consultancy thing, it's quite the combination. The most frustrating thing is that I've been defending the club's "strategy" for years now, thinking that they had a fairly clear approach but were just failing because they were getting the wrong people in at the wrong time, and that would be obvious to Cormack and something he'd be comfortable working on. Turns out that we really haven't had a clue these past few years and, worryingly, we don't have the people in house that are capable of understanding and correcting the issues. Aberdeen isn't a massive organisation, I find it bizarre that between our CEO (I like Burrows, and am not sure he can be held responsible for the footballing side), football director, previously successful chairman and our link with another actual football team that nobody can provide any clarity on the way forward and we have to resort to consultants. Are these guys suddenly going to get it in a few months time once the review is over? I don't think so. Are we going to get a review which says that one of these guys wasn't doing their job properly, or that they might need replaced? I wouldn't think so (biting the hand that feeds you is very much frowned upon at consultancy HQ). It reeks of cluelessness and not taking responsibility. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
redordead Posted February 5 Share Posted February 5 Well, the circus has arrived. Should generate a lot of publicity and maybe interest b in the permanent role. Agree with everything Rico said about consultants. Just go to successful clubs like Brighton for example and ask them how they go about recruiting and finding good managers. They can't just be getting lucky. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tlg1903 Posted February 5 Share Posted February 5 Done deal. What an absolute embarrassment. Fuck you Cormack Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted February 5 Author Share Posted February 5 Fuck sake, just watched his first interview, found myself involuntarily smiling. Does he not know that I'm trying my best to dislike him? 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tlg1903 Posted February 5 Share Posted February 5 20 minutes ago, RicoS321 said: Fuck sake, just watched his first interview, found myself involuntarily smiling. Does he not know that I'm trying my best to dislike him? Really? What bit made you smile? I found both the interview and pre match presser fairly nauseating 2bh. He so fucking basic bitch in his answers. He's got a place in dunnoon don't ha know Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted February 5 Share Posted February 5 I enjoyed his first press conference, candid and honest with a bit of humour. It’s an intriguing appointment and he’s getting my full support. Curious that Kenny Miller seems to have a lot to say about it! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted February 5 Author Share Posted February 5 1 hour ago, tlg1903 said: Really? What bit made you smile? I found both the interview and pre match presser fairly nauseating 2bh. He so fucking basic bitch in his answers. He's got a place in dunnoon don't ha know All of it. I find it difficult not to smile when someone else is happy. He was clearly happy. Also, it's very clear that he's not done any homework on the Dons, but he didn't pretend otherwise. Basic is fine when you have nothing to say, much better than I'd hoped. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
OrlandoDon Posted February 5 Share Posted February 5 33 minutes ago, Kowalski said: I enjoyed his first press conference, candid and honest with a bit of humour. It’s an intriguing appointment and he’s getting my full support. Curious that Kenny Miller seems to have a lot to say about it! He’s a what you see is what you get guy. Doubt any of us thought of him when Robson got sacked but it is what it is. Too many coaches/managers try to sound smarter than they are, this guy seems pretty genuine and excited for the job. Don’ think he’ll get us relegated plus I think he draws attention to us, and I think may help with recruitment, both players and a new manager. Time will tell! 4 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted February 5 Share Posted February 5 3 minutes ago, OrlandoDon said: I think he draws attention to us, and I think may help with recruitment, both players and a new manager. Time will tell! Very much agree with this part O.D 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panda Posted February 5 Share Posted February 5 1 hour ago, RicoS321 said: Fuck sake, just watched his first interview, found myself involuntarily smiling. Does he not know that I'm trying my best to dislike him? "I applied for the Hearts job, and they gave it to some bloke from bloody Latvia or something, so that was an insult". Found that pretty cringey to be honest. Maybe cos it was actually Lithuania and I used to live with a Lithuanian, and I reckon they can manage a football team just as well as the English. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elgindon Posted February 5 Share Posted February 5 (edited) 29 minutes ago, Panda said: "I applied for the Hearts job, and they gave it to some bloke from bloody Latvia or something, so that was an insult". Found that pretty cringey to be honest. Maybe cos it was actually Lithuania and I used to live with a Lithuanian, and I reckon they can manage a football team just as well as the English. Nae sure if youre being tongue in cheek,but pretty sure he was. Much as I wanted Barry to succeed,listening to that Warnock interview was a breath of fresh air in comparison.Confident,no waffle,and a bit of fun,....why not just roll with it while it lasts.... Edited February 5 by Elgindon Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tlg1903 Posted February 5 Share Posted February 5 53 minutes ago, RicoS321 said: All of it. I find it difficult not to smile when someone else is happy. He was clearly happy. Also, it's very clear that he's not done any homework on the Dons, but he didn't pretend otherwise. Basic is fine when you have nothing to say, much better than I'd hoped. To each their own but from my pov it was about as bad as I thought it was going to be. The bit that fucked me off the most was the here to have a bit of fun chat. Tremendous, we are now light entertainment for a geriatric fucking hun sycophant (morton fan my arse). Warnock out. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted February 5 Share Posted February 5 52 minutes ago, tlg1903 said: fucking hun sycophant (morton fan my arse). Warnock out. Thank fuck the internet wasn’t around when we were sniffing around St Mirren’s manager as a replacement for Billy McNeil. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tlg1903 Posted February 5 Share Posted February 5 2 minutes ago, Kowalski said: Thank fuck the internet wasn’t around when we were sniffing around St Mirren’s manager as a replacement for Billy McNeil. Oh aye, fergie, driven out of rangers because he had the audacity to marry a Catholic, was still brown nosing them at every opportunity wasn't he...... It really is a complete mystery why he turned them down twice when in charge of Aberdeen Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted February 5 Author Share Posted February 5 2 hours ago, tlg1903 said: To each their own but from my pov it was about as bad as I thought it was going to be. The bit that fucked me off the most was the here to have a bit of fun chat. Tremendous, we are now light entertainment for a geriatric fucking hun sycophant (morton fan my arse). Warnock out. I don't mind that, I think football should be fun. As should all employment. They're not our servants. To me, it seemed like he was suggesting that he'd make it enjoyable for the players and fans, rather than himself. However, as @OrlandoDon suggests, he came across as very genuine, which I liked. It's refreshing to see a football manager that isn't bothered by the abstract bullshittery of professionalism. Not giving a fuck is a very healthy place to be in my opinion. You can be very honest, and still work hard because you're doing something you choose to. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...