Wednesday 30th October 2024 - kick-off 8pm

Scottish Premiership: Aberdeen v Rangers

Next manager

RicoS321

21 hours ago, Jute said:

Officially announced.

Don’t know much about him but did think a CEO to get between Colgate and the football operation was the right move. 

Now for a Sporting director to select manager. 

I wonder if this appointment pushes Stephen Robinson up the list on the next manager front? 🤔

Looking increasing likely Robson will get the next three games:-

Celtic away

Livingston home

Dundee United away

The Livi & United games especially are huge - a defeat in either would be really damaging. A minimum of four points is a must, ideally six, and any more than that from the three games would definitely cement Robson until summer. 

After those three there's a two-week break due to the Scottish Cup, we play Hearts at home on the 18th, then there's another two week international break. So for Robson or any new manager coming in they'd have loads of time on the training ground, pick up the customary three points at home to Hearts, some more time to work at Cormack Park before launching into a big April and May.

Have some concerns over Robson maybe being inexperienced, but quite happy to see what him & Agnew can do until summer if they can show something in these next three games, and the management "team" at least look more experienced than Glass/Russell, and arguably more than Goodwin/Sharp.

On 11/02/2023 at 12:29, Panda said:

Have some concerns over Robson maybe being inexperienced, but quite happy to see what him & Agnew can do until summer 

Of course there are many varying reasons and factors here, but in an ideal world, I'd like to see an experienced ( ish ) Manager coming in and keeping Robson and Agnew as the main 2 Coaches / Assistant. Finances, potential new Manager wanting own staff, Robson may not want the job ( maybe wants to cut teeth elsewhere ) and Agnew may only be here temporarily. But for me, this would be the perfect scenario, I was warming to the idea of Wilder, with Robson and Agnew beside him, but paper talk suggests he's not interested. 

My next preference would be Jacob Friis, got his UEFA Pro Licence in 2015, managed a 42% Win ratio as caretaker Manager of AaB before becoming head coach at Viborg, where he's currently sitting with a 55% Win ratio.  Been involved in Coaching/Management since around 2005 so he's not exactly inexperienced. He's a Danish Coach, doing well thus far on his own and with the addition of Robson and Agnew as part of his staff, I think we'd be on to something. Most likely pipe dreams, but again, for me, it can't be the Lambert's, Lennon's etc... we need to think outside of the box, just my opinion. 

1 hour ago, DixieNormous said:

My next preference would be Jacob Friis, got his UEFA Pro Licence in 2015, managed a 42% Win ratio as caretaker Manager of AaB before becoming head coach at Viborg, where he's currently sitting with a 55% Win ratio.  Been involved in Coaching/Management since around 2005 so he's not exactly inexperienced. He's a Danish Coach, doing well thus far on his own

Which game were you most impressed with his tactical changes?

1 hour ago, Jute said:

You don’t know how upset I was once I realised that was fake. 

Probably about as much as I was when I saw the spelling error.

Did think it was strange to put out a tweet saying we had been granted permission to talk him 

2 minutes ago, BigAl said:

Ruud Brood (who the fuck he ?) appeared in latest odds @ 4/1

Dutch coach, 60 years of age

Doesn't appear to have done anything out with Holland

Filipe Martins is doing a sterling job with Casa Pia in the Portuguese league. Despite being minnows they are sixth in the table - just two points off a European place.

I reckon if I were to message the bookies, ask for odds on him, place a bet on him, message a few pals and say I've heard whispers we've spoken to him and they should stick a cheeky fiver on him, then I could get him in the running for the Aberdeen job by this time tomorrow.

2 hours ago, Panda said:

Filipe Martins is doing a sterling job with Casa Pia in the Portuguese league. Despite being minnows they are sixth in the table - just two points off a European place.

I reckon if I were to message the bookies, ask for odds on him, place a bet on him, message a few pals and say I've heard whispers we've spoken to him and they should stick a cheeky fiver on him, then I could get him in the running for the Aberdeen job by this time tomorrow.

435F4996-790D-40DC-9F63-E68F9D6C38AA.thumb.jpeg.9e1cb01a370fc50deff8b90867c8aaeb.jpeg

It be took me less than two hours to make Felipe Martins the fifth favourite for the job...

24 minutes ago, Jute said:

Pretty much spot on other than the clock is ticking line. We need to take as much time as is needed to get this right. If we get this wrong this time it is going to take many years to sort. 

Maybe, maybe not. I'm beginning to think that there is no such thing as choosing the right manager at our level, it's all down to luck and perseverance. There's definitely such a thing as choosing the wrong manager, and I think that's what happened with Goodwin, McGhee and Alex Miller. Other than Miller, those were largely bad luck. I'd say that we're already looking at three windows to fix the current issues, regardless of the manager. If we keep things ticking over, we'll continue to pick up a certain percentage of decent players and we won't necessarily require big changes when the manager after the next manager comes in. 

Clubs like ours go through periods of underperforming, it's totally natural. It'll come good when it comes good.

7 hours ago, RicoS321 said:

Maybe, maybe not. I'm beginning to think that there is no such thing as choosing the right manager at our level, it's all down to luck and perseverance.

To me this is just a function of chairmen generally having no idea how to judge managers. Most of them use a trial and error approach and are led by results alone. If a monkey throwing darts at a club calendar was getting results then he'd probably be viewed as a genius regardless of his methods.

Despite that, I think it is possible to judge a manager properly. It's not an exact science but there are certain traits most good managers tend to have - e.g. they often talk in specifics (player X needs to do this) whereas bad managers are overly general (battle, don't switch off, etc. - meaningless phrases that convey no actual information). You would also likely be better served looking at their track record of decision-making (i.e. did individual decisions in previous jobs make logical sense) rather than overall results, which can be skewed in the short-term by things that had nothing to do with the manager.

Obviously it's a lot harder than this in practice, but considering most clubs are still using the throwing spaghetti at a wall approach to hiring a manager, I'm not sure we'd have to be that smart to do better.

3 minutes ago, sancho_panza said:

To me this is just a function of chairmen generally having no idea how to judge managers. Most of them use a trial and error approach and are led by results alone. If a monkey throwing darts at a club calendar was getting results then he'd probably be viewed as a genius regardless of his methods.

Despite that, I think it is possible to judge a manager properly. It's not an exact science but there are certain traits most good managers tend to have - e.g. they often talk in specifics (player X needs to do this) whereas bad managers are overly general (battle, don't switch off, etc. - meaningless phrases that convey no actual information). You would also likely be better served looking at their track record of decision-making (i.e. did individual decisions in previous jobs make logical sense) rather than overall results, which can be skewed in the short-term by things that had nothing to do with the manager.

Obviously it's a lot harder than this in practice, but considering most clubs are still using the throwing spaghetti at a wall approach to hiring a manager, I'm not sure we'd have to be that smart to do better.

But how do you do that in practice? It's not like signing a player, where you can collect data and scout them. You'd likely be limited to doing the type of work required in your own league, a limited pool of managers. It's very difficult to eliminate previous good fortune from a manager's record, leaving just good management. Especially in the market we're in where proven managers are probably too expensive. It basically all comes down to the interview, and whilst you're right about identifying a manager by how they talk (thon Darvel walloper with his clichéd pish can go and fuck himself), I'm not sure how applicable that would be in an interview situation. In essence, fitba management is no different to office work, in that someone can give a great interview but be fucking honking when they start. I have little doubt that Goodwin would have given a very good interview.

2 hours ago, BigAl said:

Come on Cormack and get your finger out.

Motherwell stealing a march on us and have allegedly made a move for John Hughes

Thank fuck! Id rather have Lennon/Lambert than that tool. And I DO NOT EVER WANT Lennon or Lambert. Hughes hates Aberdeen. He hated us when he was at Falkirk, he hated us when he was at Caley, hated us when he was at Jobs, at Ross County ... there's no love lost between both sides, and there's no way he will rescue Motherwell this season