TheChimp Posted March 20, 2008 Report Posted March 20, 2008 Aye, I'm bored. Using this http://www.gmap-pedometer.com/ and determining the distance between my hoose and the ground we played at, I was able to figure out that I've travelled 4844 miles to watch the Dons this season. So who else is going to waste the afternoon before a long weekend doing the same? Quote
dave_min Posted March 20, 2008 Report Posted March 20, 2008 Aye, I'm bored. Using this http://www.gmap-pedometer.com/ and determining the distance between my hoose and the ground we played at, I was able to figure out that I've travelled 4844 miles to watch the Dons this season. So who else is going to waste the afternoon before a long weekend doing the same? haha! I started doing this after reading that anti-aberdeen thread on Pie & Bovril, as someone's signature said they'd travelled 15,000 miles following St. Johnstone, i'm 99% sure you're link is gonna make this easier! Quote
glasgow sheep Posted March 20, 2008 Report Posted March 20, 2008 By my calculations I have travelled 3120 miles just to watch games at pittodrie this season Now where can I work out how much I have helped bump up global temps because of afc Quote
glasgow sheep Posted March 20, 2008 Report Posted March 20, 2008 actually it must be more than that as that shitty website has just drawn a straight line between my flat and pittodrie Quote
dave_min Posted March 20, 2008 Report Posted March 20, 2008 I'm almost twice the fan Chimp is with 7545.31 miles clocked up! They laughed when I flew back from Madrid via Frankfurt, but who'd laughing now, eh?? Quote
Penfold Posted March 20, 2008 Report Posted March 20, 2008 http://www.theaa.com/travelwatch/planner_main.jsp might be better for finding the distance for domestic matches. I'm away to count up now... Quote
TheChimp Posted March 20, 2008 Author Report Posted March 20, 2008 I started doing this after reading that anti-aberdeen thread on Pie & Bovril, as someone's signature said they'd travelled 15,000 miles following St. Johnstone, i'm 99% sure you're link is gonna make this easier! Incidentally, that's where the idea came from. actually it must be more than that as that shitty website has just drawn a straight line between my flat and pittodrie I did just use 'as the crow flies' distances. Couldn't be arsed with actual road/rail distances. Quote
sheep_shagger Posted March 20, 2008 Report Posted March 20, 2008 Would have to remember which games i was at first!! All i know is that its not as many as it should have been. Quote
Penfold Posted March 20, 2008 Report Posted March 20, 2008 That took far too long. Domestic distances are from the AA route planner and European ones from the site The Chimp linked. Away games from when staying in Aberdeen = 1647.8 miles (there and back) Away games from when staying in Dundee = 880.8 miles (there and back) Home games from when staying in Dundee = 1356 miles (there and back) European games: Aberdeen - Amsterdam - Kiev - Dnipro = 3570.95 Dundee - Glasgow - Brussels - Madrid = 2759.43 Aberdeen - London - Munich = 1942.62 = 8273 miles (there and back) which is a total of about 12,158 miles Quote
glasgow sheep Posted March 20, 2008 Report Posted March 20, 2008 That took far too long. Domestic distances are from the AA route planner and European ones from the site The Chimp linked. Away games from when staying in Aberdeen = 1647.8 miles (there and back) Away games from when staying in Dundee = 880.8 miles (there and back) Home games from when staying in Dundee = 1356 miles (there and back) European games: Aberdeen - Amsterdam - Kiev - Dnipro = 3570.95 Dundee - Glasgow - Brussels - Madrid = 2759.43 Aberdeen - London - Munich = 1942.62 = 8273 miles (there and back) which is about a total of about 12,158 miles part time supporter Quote
Penfold Posted March 20, 2008 Report Posted March 20, 2008 I've missed more games this season than I did in the last 3 put together I think. Quote
Guest BTR Posted March 20, 2008 Report Posted March 20, 2008 10,311 miles and I've only been to Pittodrie 8 times this season. Quote
Kowalski Posted March 20, 2008 Report Posted March 20, 2008 All home games, plus trips to Edinburgh, Cove, Munich and Madrid only came to 4638 miles as the crow flies. Quote
bilbobaggins Posted March 20, 2008 Report Posted March 20, 2008 I've been at one game this season. Since I was staying at my mum's at the time my total is about 9.5 miles. Quote
Penfold Posted March 20, 2008 Report Posted March 20, 2008 All home games, plus trips to Edinburgh, Cove, Munich and Madrid only came to 4638 miles as the crow flies. Both ways? Using the site in the first post Dundee - Edinburgh is only 30 odd miles, but on the aa route planner site it's just over 60. That's why I used it instead for the domestic ones. Quote
Kowalski Posted March 20, 2008 Report Posted March 20, 2008 Both ways? Aye. I'm also only less than a mile from Pittodrie. Quote
bilbobaggins Posted March 20, 2008 Report Posted March 20, 2008 You may all have travelled further than me but I'm more knowledgable, ambitious and better informed. Quote
stonefish100 Posted March 20, 2008 Report Posted March 20, 2008 I have been the furthest cos I am a TOP RED!! Havent missed a game since I was born......was conceived in Gothenburg the night of the CWC victory....have a lif-size mural of Willie Miller tattooed on my back ina. Beat that!!! Quote
Penfold Posted March 20, 2008 Report Posted March 20, 2008 I have been the furthest cos I am a TOP RED!! Havent missed a game since I was born......was conceived in Gothenburg the night of the CWC victory....have a lif-size mural of Willie Miller tattooed on my back ina. Beat that!!! Do you wave flags and bang a drum at matches? If not then you've got a bit to go to be the top red. Quote
Dandy_Don Posted March 20, 2008 Report Posted March 20, 2008 I have been the furthest cos I am a TOP RED!! Havent missed a game since I was born......was conceived in Gothenburg the night of the CWC victory....have a lif-size mural of Willie Miller tattooed on my back ina. Beat that!!! This is you...!?!?!? Quote
Harcus Posted March 20, 2008 Report Posted March 20, 2008 You may all have travelled further than me but I'm more knowledgable, ambitious and better informed. I'm the MOST ambitious. Sack JC now. Quote
Drewsome Posted March 20, 2008 Report Posted March 20, 2008 From Toronto for 1 game 10000 miles + round trip Quote
mizer Posted March 20, 2008 Report Posted March 20, 2008 I used google maps to do mine, and was quite conservative (I never included the trip to the pet shop in Dortmund). Domestic games: 2,038 Madrid: 2,266 Munich: 1,715 = 6019 I estimate a normal trip to Pittodrie is 274miles return, not been up that often outwith the UEFA games this season. Quote
Mackie's ace! Posted March 20, 2008 Report Posted March 20, 2008 When I could get that site to work it said that Inverness to Aberdeen was 80 miles, hmm. Roughly: Domestic trips: 3770 miles (incl preseason trip to Buckie!). Madrid: 2968 miles. Total: 6738 miles. Not bad considering I've not actually been to many games this season with uni. Quote