Kowalski Posted April 2, 2008 Report Posted April 2, 2008 Dons linked with Caley midfielder Published: 02/04/2008 ABERDEEN have been linked with midfielder Ian Black, who is poised to quit Inverness Caley Thistle. Black is on his way out at Inverness after a bust-up with manager Craig Brewster. That has sparked speculation the Dons and Hibs could move for the 23-year-old in the summer. Dons boss Jimmy Calderwood is refusing to comment on links with any players until after next week’s Scottish Cup clash with Queen of the South, but he is an admirer of Black, who was axed from last weekend’s clash between the clubs. It’s understood Black told Brewster he no longer wants to play for him. The Inverness boss responded by banishing the midfielder to train with their youth players until he apologises. Brewster said: “Players cannot go about saying things like Ian Black said and expect to get away with it. “He knows what he has to do if he wants to get back into the squad.†Aberdeen, meanwhile, are willing to release reserve defender Dan Smith, who is on trial with Port Vale. Smith is expected to play for Port Vale reserves today. Quote
stonefish100 Posted April 2, 2008 Report Posted April 2, 2008 Black would be a good signing, young, hungry and likes a challenege. Think being a Hibbe and Edinburgh loon, he will probably end up a Hibs though. Dan Smith Quote
BigAl Posted April 2, 2008 Report Posted April 2, 2008 Take it this taken from EE. No real quote to confirm or deny from any party, and coming on the day Brewster goes public about Black's fall from favour at ICT. Is that shite I smell Quote
Kowalski Posted April 2, 2008 Author Report Posted April 2, 2008 Take it this taken from EE. No real quote to confirm or deny from any party I think you've answered your own question there! Quote
BigAl Posted April 2, 2008 Report Posted April 2, 2008 I think you've answered your own question there! Thought as much Quote
Mackie's ace! Posted April 2, 2008 Report Posted April 2, 2008 The EE must be slow on the uptake as Black has been training with the U19s since the Killie game from what I heard. Quote
Reekie_Red Posted April 3, 2008 Report Posted April 3, 2008 Though Wyness has seemingly rejected a contract with ICT, hence why he was left out of the squad last week. Perhaps Pittodrie-bound? Quote
BigAl Posted April 3, 2008 Report Posted April 3, 2008 Though Wyness has seemingly rejected a contract with ICT, hence why he was left out of the squad last week. Perhaps Pittodrie-bound? Oh fuck Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted April 3, 2008 Report Posted April 3, 2008 Though Wyness has seemingly rejected a contract with ICT, hence why he was left out of the squad last week. Perhaps Pittodrie-bound? Seems if a player rejects a contract at ICT or falls out of favour there they become an AFC signing target. Are they the new Dunfermline? Quote
Superstar Tradesman Posted April 3, 2008 Report Posted April 3, 2008 Seems to be plenty players who don't seem to settle under Brewster. Similar coaching styles to JC perhaps? Although he's not a drinker so maybe the opposite is true and we will see a few ICT players ending up on our books! Quote
Reekie_Red Posted April 3, 2008 Report Posted April 3, 2008 Not necessarily. I'm just going by what is doing the rounds on the rumour-mill at the moment. And currently, Wyness to Pittodrie is the latest one I've heard ... along with Lovell to Kilmarnock. Out of interest, I always thought Wyness was an up and coming striker. Didnae realise the focker was 31 years old!!! Shit! He's almost retired!!!!! Quote
Jute Posted April 3, 2008 Report Posted April 3, 2008 Would not mind Black at Aberdeen. Always looked a decent player against us. Quote
sheep_shagger Posted April 3, 2008 Report Posted April 3, 2008 Black - Yes Wyness - God no Too true. Would hate to see Wyness back here. Quote
Reekie_Red Posted April 3, 2008 Report Posted April 3, 2008 Nae saying I want him back here. Just I've heard that he WILL be back here. If a talent like Lovell cannae produce the goods for us, I cannae imagine an average striker like Wyness will do half as well. But we need a striker who can do the job. We need to spend BIG to get a decent man in. Cos let's face it, we've not really had a QUALITY striker since Dodds left for United. Sure, Stavrum scored a heap of goals for us. But most of them came off his arse, knee, shin, back of his head. Doddsy knew exactly where each and every strike was going. And he could create a top-notch goal all on his own. We need to think BIG for our next striker Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted April 3, 2008 Report Posted April 3, 2008 Doddsy knew exactly where each and every strike was going. Bit of a worry that! Quote
El Padre™ Posted April 3, 2008 Report Posted April 3, 2008 Nae saying I want him back here. Just I've heard that he WILL be back here. If a talent like Lovell cannae produce the goods for us, I cannae imagine an average striker like Wyness will do half as well. But we need a striker who can do the job. We need to spend BIG to get a decent man in. Cos let's face it, we've not really had a QUALITY striker since Dodds left for United. Sure, Stavrum scored a heap of goals for us. But most of them came off his arse, knee, shin, back of his head. Doddsy knew exactly where each and every strike was going. And he could create a top-notch goal all on his own. We need to think BIG for our next striker Alan Smith on loan? Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted April 3, 2008 Report Posted April 3, 2008 Nae saying I want him back here. Just I've heard that he WILL be back here. If a talent like Lovell cannae produce the goods for us, I cannae imagine an average striker like Wyness will do half as well. But we need a striker who can do the job. We need to spend BIG to get a decent man in. Cos let's face it, we've not really had a QUALITY striker since Dodds left for United. Sure, Stavrum scored a heap of goals for us. But most of them came off his arse, knee, shin, back of his head. Doddsy knew exactly where each and every strike was going. And he could create a top-notch goal all on his own. We need to think BIG for our next striker I'm presuming this is Davie Dodds you're talking about? He went to the huns from us, not United... Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted April 3, 2008 Report Posted April 3, 2008 Alan Smith on loan? Aye, he's getting pissed off doing commentating. Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted April 3, 2008 Report Posted April 3, 2008 Aye, he's getting pissed off doing commentating. not as much as i am listening to him! Quote
Harcus Posted April 3, 2008 Report Posted April 3, 2008 Nae saying I want him back here. Just I've heard that he WILL be back here. If a talent like Lovell cannae produce the goods for us, I cannae imagine an average striker like Wyness will do half as well. But we need a striker who can do the job. We need to spend BIG to get a decent man in. Cos let's face it, we've not really had a QUALITY striker since Dodds left for United. Sure, Stavrum scored a heap of goals for us. But most of them came off his arse, knee, shin, back of his head. Doddsy knew exactly where each and every strike was going. And he could create a top-notch goal all on his own. We need to think BIG for our next striker Mark Yardley? Quote
Superstar Tradesman Posted April 3, 2008 Report Posted April 3, 2008 Holy smokes! Who's that lard ass? Quote
El Padre™ Posted April 3, 2008 Report Posted April 3, 2008 Theres a striking similarity between Yardley and our very own Jimmy Calderwood! Quote
manc_don Posted April 3, 2008 Report Posted April 3, 2008 Theres a striking similarity between Yardley and our very own Jimmy Calderwood! must be the same weegie bloodline or something! Quote